We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Country Weekend”
Review of The Bell Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Bell Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Brook
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We booked this hotel a good 4 months in advance out of the sheer necessity of having to be within walking distance to a wedding at the Village Hall. We were pleasantly surprised at how attentive and amenable the staff are and the relaxing ambience of the hotel itself.

The room was comfortable and of a decent size. The en-suite bathroom was slightly dated but perfectly comfortable and well appointed with all the usual "freebie" toiletries. Where the Bell Inn really excells is the food. We had a two course meal on both the Friday Night and Saturday lunch. On both occasions the food was freshly cooked, promptly delivered and exquisitely presented in perfectly sized portions. The waiting staff were friendly, curteous and helpful.

Our only qualm is that, as non-meat eaters (fish is fine) there was little real choice. This is more than understandable as the locally sourced meat is probably both cost effective and full of flavour. However, apart from the odd salad, one pasta dish and the battered haddock, there is very little other choice.

Do not let this put you off however and, as we were leaving, my wife and I definitely agreed that a beautiful weekend away was exactl what was needed, helped in no small measure by the quality of this hotel. We would 100% stay again.

Room Tip: They are all good although we would reccommend being further from the Car Park and the coridoor near...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank youngmarried062014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark P, General Manager at The Bell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear youngmarried062014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your Beautiful Country Weekend to enjoy the wedding at the village hall, I am delighted you found the food excellent and the staff were attentive and amenable to make you stay relaxing. We hope to see you again in the future.
Best regards
Mark Pinn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (790)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

457 - 463 of 790 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

On the edge of the forest but not hidden away, this superb restaurant exceeds expectations. The menu is imaginative and original, but with a couple of favourites, plus a good children's menu too. The staff are very accommodating and friendly; the service we experienced was second to none. The 2 chaps who looked after us were charming. We recommend the Piggy Board, it was delicious. Wish we could bottle their magic and sell it, so many restaurants should take a leaf from their book. Thank you for being superb!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Tamsin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark P, General Manager at The Bell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Tamsin D,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your Outstanding Sunday Lunch, I am delighted you had a superb meal, I like the Piggy Board to, and I am glad you found the staff accommodating and friendly, we look forward to welcoming you back for more.
Many thanks
Mark Pinn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Having driven to Southampton for shopping on many many occasions & whizzed past the new forest onto the M27 eastbound, we found ourselves held up in slow moving traffic. Very hot & humid day, so thought..... Let's take a detour. Well, best choice of the year. Only wanted a cold beer ! Found ourselves outside The Bell Inn. Parked up & WOW !! Lovely setting. Very clean & fresh inside. Fantastic garden & restaurant area. Very friendly & professional staff.
The menu is very interesting & we were highly impressed with the presentation & quality of the food......so much so, that we decided to book a table for Sunday lunch.
Sunday lunch was absolutely mouthwatering ! Probably the best roast pork I have ever tasted.
We would like to thank all the the staff & especially Chef for a fantastic time.
We will return for a weekend break in the near future.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BangonNosher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark P, General Manager at The Bell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear BanonNosher,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent Detour to the Bell Inn, I am delighted that you found the food mouthwatering and the staff fantastic, we look forward to seeing you again on your way to the shops!!
Many thanks
Mark Pinn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

A short break in the New Forest and this hotel suited us well. We booked one of the two suites rooms which had a large bathroom and super king size bed, the room was clean, light, and fine for what we booked. We had a mixed experience with the restaurant. The first night, we both had truly excellent starters and main courses which would have got 5 star rating on this review. The 2nd night was 'average' for both of us for the both the starters and the main courses, which was more 3 star rating. Who knows? Maybe we just made the wrong choices on the menu.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whiteco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark P, General Manager at The Bell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear whiteco,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at the Bell Inn, I am delighted you had a good stay and the food was good, sorry about the inconsistency with your meals from the 1st night being 5 star to the 2nd night being average, we hope to see you again in the future.
Best regards
Mark Pinn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

The Bell was chosen by friends, who have stayed a number of times, to celebrate their silver wedding anniversary with us and two other couples. Lovely garden (if a bit noisy due to proximity to road), very pleasant public areas with comfy sofas dotted about. Our room on the ground floor at the back was fairly cool in spite of the hot weather, a fan was provided but we didn't need it. Dinner was very good, as was breakfast. Two small gripes - the hairdryer was pretty feeble, as was the extractor fan in the bathroom. We love the New Forest and would definitely consider staying at The Bell if needing overnight accommodation in the future. The wildflower area just inside the entrance is beautiful at the moment.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Lavinia4248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark P, General Manager at The Bell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Lavinia4248,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at the Bell Inn, I am delighted you found the Bell Inn very nice again and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Best regards
Mark Pinn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed for our 6th time and each time it gets better! Took 6 friends to celebrate a special event and The Bell came up trumps. Having stayed in hotels all over the world this is easily the best value for money and the friendliest. The food whilst simple is superbly cooked and presented. Good choices without being too complicated. On a scorching day we wanted avoid alcohol till later and the waitress produced fantastic fruit cocktails. Don't understand other guests complaints. We'll be back for our 7th visit sometime very soon

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark P, General Manager at The Bell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Chris G,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about another superb stay at the Bell Inn, I am delighted you and your 6 friends had a great time in celebrating your special event and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Many thanks again
Mark Pinn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Just had a fantastic stay at the Bell Hotel. Booked a deal with Amazon Local which offered amazing value for dinner, bed and breakfast. The evening meal was delicious and very stylish - don't be put off if you are vegetarian (like me) - there's not much choice but it's really different and tasty. Beautifully comfortable room and great breakfast. The bar is good too! Plenty of nice walks near the hotel and staff were very friendly. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jacqueline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark P, General Manager at The Bell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Jacqueline H,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at the Bell Inn, I am delighted you had a lovely time and found the food delicious and the staff friendly, we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Best regards
Mark Pinn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brook
4 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
3.4 mi away
Woodlands Lodge Hotel
Woodlands Lodge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Woodlands
631 reviews
7.6 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
774 reviews
12.2 mi away
The Master Builder's House Hotel
10.3 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Beaulieu
1,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bell Inn

Address: Roger Penny Way, Brook, New Forest SO43 7HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Brook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Brook
Price Range: £96 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bell Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Bell Inn, which has been part of my family since 1782. Inside we have made stylish updates to our historic New Forest hotel without spoiling any of its traditional and rustic charm. With open fireplaces, flagstone floors, elegant reception rooms and two superb 18-hole golf courses we are unlike other hotels in Hampshire. With nature’s larder on the doorstep our team of talented chefs create seasonal specials, mouth-watering menus, and have unique access to game from our family’s New Forest estate – a true ‘Estate to Plate’ dining experience. Whether staying in one of our 28 tasteful rooms, enjoying local ale whilst relaxing on comfortable sofas in our dog friendly bar, dining with us exploring the flavours of the New Forest or playing a round of golf on our New Forest Hotel's oldest course, we look forward to welcoming you to this timeless and magical place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your The Bell Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bell Hotel New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing