We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OUTSTANDING” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bell Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Bell Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Brook
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“OUTSTANDING”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

We were searching for a wedding venue then we stumbled across the bell inn and I am so glad we found this place as soon as we visited the venue we knew this was the idea place to get married from its picturesque location to the nicely done out interior and rooms.
Mark and all his staff done a fantastic job on the day setting out all the tables and extras we had the venue looked amazing, throughout the build up Mark was very approachable and helpful.
The food was outstanding, the rooms were very comfortable.

We would like to thank Mark & all his staff for all there help in making our wedding day so special.
We will never forget it and will definitely be dining out & staying at the Bell Inn in the future.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark P, General Manager at The Bell Inn, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Paul S,
Thank you for writing a review about your recent Wedding at the Bell Inn, it was a fantastic day and great atmosphere, all the staff and myself enjoyed the day very much. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Best regards
Mark Pinn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    328
    203
    77
    26
    29
See reviews for
115
330
15
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

I have been going to The New Forest for many years staying in Fordingbridge, Godshill and Bramshaw, and have visited The Bell several times. It has always been a friendly, welcoming pub/ restaurant and my recent experience does nothing to change my long-formed opinion.

I recently visited the pub with my family in a group of 3 couples and 6 kids for lunch. We were asked whether we wanted to sit in the garden or inside which considering we were a group of 12 was great. Daniel looked after us fantastically and nothing seemed too much bother for him - pretty impressive considering we had 6 very tired and indecisive kids!

The kids menu was great, nice and easy and all came out quickly which kept them quiet whilst they weren't running around the garden. Meanwhile the 6 adults had x2 Roast Chicken and x4 Roast Beef (myself included). One of our party has worked in catering for many years and her overall impression of the food, particularly the dessert, was that it was "on a par with Mossiman's". A bit beyond me, but what I can say is that my roast beef was seriously good, plenty of it and cooked beautifully. If I had to pick up on anything it would be that I would have liked more gravy but this is splitting hairs as when I asked for some, Daniel was on it straight away. And all washed down with a couple of pints of Boondoggle!

The Bell seems to never stand still and I noticed they have redesigned the bar area and as well as I think "The Garden Room", both a great improvement on an already excellent pub/ restaurant and in keeping with it's constant refresh whilst remaining classy.

I am looking forward to returning and recommend that others do too, it is by far the best pub in the area in my opinion.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gibbers74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark P, General Manager at The Bell Inn, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear gibbers74,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent lunch at the Bell Inn, I am delighted you had a great family lunch and that Daniel was fantastic and looked after you all. I am glad you all enjoyed your lunch and found the food seriously good, and thank you for you comments on our recently redesigned Garden Room which looks superb now. We look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Many thanks
Mark Pinn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We went down to Hythe to buy a beautiful pup. We needed an overnight stay and just chose this by chance. What a lovely surprise!The location for walks -fabulous. If you enjoy golf look no further.
We had two single rooms and they were spacious with all the facilities at hand. The staff were welcoming and efficient and the environment relaxing . There ate lovely gardens to sit out on a summers evening with a pre-dinner drink. The evening meal was of a small portion size but the cooking and presentation could not be improved upon. The Rose' wine was outstanding!
The traditional, cooked breakfast was perfectly cooked and quite adequate. There was a vast array of breakfast items at the buffet table and also alternative cooked items could be ordered.
Value-wise we were delighted. It was a lovely break in our journey

Room Tip: There is a fan placed in the wardrobe, for really warm weather, which you may overlook
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaynor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark P, General Manager at The Bell Inn, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Gaynor B,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at the Bell Inn, I am delighted this was a lovely surprise and found the location fabulous with lovely gardens and the staff welcoming, we hope to see you again in the future.
Many thanks
Mark Pinn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Garmin took us the wrong way - stay on main road (B3078) as The Bell is at the junction with the B3079. Great room (number 17) and bathroom, beautifully - I suspect newly - decorated and furnished. Comfortable bed and everything spotlessly clean. It was stiflingly hot when we stayed and, although the sash window was open to its fullest extent (about 4") and the curtain had been thoughtfully drawn across, the room remained really hot - nothing the hotel could do about the heat, of course. After a short search, found the tea-making things in the wardrobe, which was a little strange! Wonderful to get fresh milk on request from Reception - beats that UHT stuff hands down. Only drawback of room is noise from the fairly busy road, hence I award only 4 not 5 stars; rooms at the back of the hotel are probably quieter. Reception staff friendly, helpful and professional. Restaurant staff pleasant, attentive and helpful, some younger staff members maybe still 'in training' when we visited (21 July 14) as drinks and food were brought to more than one table before finding the right one! - but this was hardly a problem, except to those looking for a chance to complain. Food was excellent, portions perhaps erring on the slightly small side. Wifi (free) worked in our room intermittently.

Room Tip: Back of hotel probably quieter than the front, which overlooks quite a busy B road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark P, General Manager at The Bell Inn, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Eileen R,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at the Bell Inn, I am sorry that you went the wrong way, we do try to say on our confirmation that you need to stay on the main road as all satnav systems take you the wrong way, I am delighted you found the food excellent and the staff pleasant, attentive and helpful, we hope to see you again in the future.
Best regards
Mark Pinn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Family celebratory lunch for five (scallops, 2 x cold meat platter, duck salad and soup plus teas and soft drinks: £64). Every dish was of excellent quality and exquisitely presented. Be warned, the portions are small. Very smart venue with attentive staff. Worth it for special occasions.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark P, General Manager at The Bell Inn, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Mark K,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent family celebration here at the Bell Inn, I am delighted the food was of excellent quality and the staff attentive, we look forward to seeing you again for another celebration.
Many thanks
Mark Pinn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

We booked this hotel a good 4 months in advance out of the sheer necessity of having to be within walking distance to a wedding at the Village Hall. We were pleasantly surprised at how attentive and amenable the staff are and the relaxing ambience of the hotel itself.

The room was comfortable and of a decent size. The en-suite bathroom was slightly dated but perfectly comfortable and well appointed with all the usual "freebie" toiletries. Where the Bell Inn really excells is the food. We had a two course meal on both the Friday Night and Saturday lunch. On both occasions the food was freshly cooked, promptly delivered and exquisitely presented in perfectly sized portions. The waiting staff were friendly, curteous and helpful.

Our only qualm is that, as non-meat eaters (fish is fine) there was little real choice. This is more than understandable as the locally sourced meat is probably both cost effective and full of flavour. However, apart from the odd salad, one pasta dish and the battered haddock, there is very little other choice.

Do not let this put you off however and, as we were leaving, my wife and I definitely agreed that a beautiful weekend away was exactl what was needed, helped in no small measure by the quality of this hotel. We would 100% stay again.

Room Tip: They are all good although we would reccommend being further from the Car Park and the coridoor near...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank youngmarried062014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark P, General Manager at The Bell Inn, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear youngmarried062014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your Beautiful Country Weekend to enjoy the wedding at the village hall, I am delighted you found the food excellent and the staff were attentive and amenable to make you stay relaxing. We hope to see you again in the future.
Best regards
Mark Pinn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
95 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

On the edge of the forest but not hidden away, this superb restaurant exceeds expectations. The menu is imaginative and original, but with a couple of favourites, plus a good children's menu too. The staff are very accommodating and friendly; the service we experienced was second to none. The 2 chaps who looked after us were charming. We recommend the Piggy Board, it was delicious. Wish we could bottle their magic and sell it, so many restaurants should take a leaf from their book. Thank you for being superb!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Tamsin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark P, General Manager at The Bell Inn, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Tamsin D,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your Outstanding Sunday Lunch, I am delighted you had a superb meal, I like the Piggy Board to, and I am glad you found the staff accommodating and friendly, we look forward to welcoming you back for more.
Many thanks
Mark Pinn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brook
4.0 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
6.9 mi away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
7.6 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Bartley Lodge Hotel
Bartley Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cadnam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
7.6 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
3.4 mi away
Woodlands Lodge Hotel
Woodlands Lodge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Woodlands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bell Inn

Property: The Bell Inn
Address: Roger Penny Way, Brook, New Forest SO43 7HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Brook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Brook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bell Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating from 1782, The Bell Inn combines period features with contemporary style. We're located in the heart of the New Forest National Park in the tranquil hamlet of Bramshaw, yet we are only one minute from the M27! We specialise in looking after small numbers of guests, whether a golf group, a few friends on a short break, or for a business meeting. Our reputation for quality cuisine and wines is growing all the time. Our chefs are dedicated to using locally sourced food and follow the principle of sourcing a significant amount of our produce from within the New Forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Bell Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bell Hotel New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing