We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (872)
Filter reviews
872 results
Traveller rating
459
259
87
34
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
459
259
87
34
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviews new forest golf course golf club lovely hotel evening meal high standard my partner bar area the pub toast full english across the road car park afternoon tea the ground floor golf break cream tea
Filter
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 872 reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2018 via mobile

Our afternoon tea was lovely and fresh. We choose our sandwiches fillings. Scones was lovely fresh & soft. Strawberry jam was delicious. But no one asked if our meal was ok. We had to ask for more plates, napkins and knives and jug of water. The lady's was very friendly, but the men behind the bar was very Moody and it seem a problem. Maybe some training on customer care is needed.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank Teresa1938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark P, General Manager at The Bell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2018

Thank you for reviewing your recent afternoon tea experience with us. I'm sorry your waiter/waitress didn't check back to see if everything is ok. This is very much part of their training so I will just remind the team to ensure they're doing this, as well as having a friendly, warm attitude. Thank you for making us aware.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018

Lovely, clean, bright single room. Bathroom/shower good.
Good service at reception and in the dining room.
Just as good as the last time I stayed exactly 10 years ago.
Will certainly return as soon as my travels permit.

Room Tip: Away from the road will be quieter.
Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
Thank SussexSmiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark P, General Manager at The Bell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2018

Thank you for your kind review. Wonderful to hear that you're still returning 10 years on. Hopefully we'll see you a little sooner, again ;-)

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2018

My wife and I stayed here for one night with our Border Collie and were well pleased. The accommodation was excellent and the food of a high standard. Our dog was made to feel welcome. Just across the road is a small area of woodland, excellent for running a dog in the morning.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Roger E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark P, General Manager at The Bell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2018

Thank you for your kind review. We hear it's difficult to find truly dog-friendly places to stay in the New Forest, so thank you for sharing your dog-friendly experience at our Inn.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2018

I visited the bell inn yesterday for afternoon tea , we got there very early , but they were more than happy to accommodate us . The sandwiches were lovely and plenty of them , as were the selection of cakes .Staff were lovely as well very friendly. we will be going back & we will take the dogs next time. Thank you all very much .

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Texida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark P, General Manager at The Bell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2018

Thanks for the review. Definitely bring the dogs next time! We'd love to meet them and hope you don't mind us giving them a few treats, while they sit with you as you eat in the bar. We may even make more fuss of them, than you. Only joking. :-)

Hoping to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2018 via mobile

A very nice place to have lunch. Lovely sourdough rolls, generously filled and served with chips and salad. The homemade soup looked delicious. Lovely decor, friendly staff, great garden, nothing to dislike

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank mamahen46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark P, General Manager at The Bell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2018

Thank you for your review! :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews