We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun, inexpensive, classy” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wide River Winery Tasting Room

Wide River Winery Tasting Room
Ranked #5 of 17 things to do in Le Claire
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visit the tasting room and courtyard in historic downtown Le Claire. Sample award winning, locally made wines and enjoy live music on Friday's 5-8pm (May-Sept)
Bolingbrook, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fun, inexpensive, classy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Four of us spent an early evening before dinner at the Wide River tasting room. We each bought a glass for the $6 price and got to sample five wines (although the rep actually let two of us try six! Thank you!). She made excellent suggestions and guided us to pick wines we would enjoy (dry vs. sweet, award winners). She also took our picture! We agreed on a red and bought a bottle to enjoy on their patio, where a terrific band was playing. It wasn't too loud for us to talk as we enjoyed the wine, before crossing the street for dinner. We also had a plate of veggies and crackers with dip, which was simple but quite wonderful - we couldn't stop exclaiming over the dips, actually! We'll be back.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank wanderer630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    17
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fun Day Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Had a fun day trip with my special guy and we visited the Wide River Winery tasting room in Le Claire. There were several other people already tasting when we arrived and for $6.00, I got a fantastic souvenir wine glass and the opportunity to taste about a dozen wines - including a wine slushy! They had both dry and sweet wines available. We even made a purchase to take home with us. The tasting room was very clean and neat with two bars. They even have musical entertainment some days - but not on the Thursday when we visited. We would love to visit again! I do believe you can wine taste for free - but you won't receive your own souvenir glass. Pita chips and chocolates are available free with your tasting.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Chinook11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Carlisle, Indiana
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wino's paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

It's small in the tasting area, the atmosphere is comfortable. Their wines are really flavorful...prices of wine are reasonable and you get a free wine glass with your tasting..best$6 I spent today

Helpful?
Thank lizbig83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salina, Kansas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful way to spend an hour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

My husband and I went in to the winery with little or no expectations of tasting any exceptionally wines. We were pleasely surprised to discover severely outstanding wines. We had a wonderful time and tasted some wonderful wines. We enjoyed the wines so much we purchased a case of dessert wine to give to our friends for Christmas.

Helpful?
Thank Ihatescreennames51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOBrienIA, Guest Relations Manager at Wide River Winery Tasting Room, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
We are so pleased that you enjoyed both the experience and the wine. Please come again the next time your travels bring you to IA.
Kind regards,
Martha O'Brien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davenport, Iowa
Level Contributor
169 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great Wines!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

My husband and I went and did the wine tasting. The wines were great and we ended up getting glasses of Pursuit of Happiness afterward. The tasting room is a cute little stop and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Definitely worth a stop in!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank katwater86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOBrienIA, Manager at Wide River Winery Tasting Room, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Thank you very much for the feedback - so happy that you and your husband enjoyed the wine and the experience. Pursuit of Happiness is our #1 selling wine! Please return for the summer music series out in the courtyard. Watch our website for dates and details. Warm regards, Martha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wide River Winery Tasting Room also viewed

 

Been to Wide River Winery Tasting Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing