We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing special, but a nice stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Le Claire Riverfront - Davenport

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Le Claire Riverfront - Davenport
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Le Claire
Certificate of Excellence
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nothing special, but a nice stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

This is a nice Holiday Inn Express. Clean, comfortable, spacious room. My kids enjoyed the indoor pool. Very nice views of the river. Average free breakfast (my son LOVED the pancake machine!). Would definitely stay again if we're in Le Claire.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GottaGetOuttaHere08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Le Claire Riverfront - Davenport, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Hi GottaGetOuttaHere08,

Thanks for taking the time to write this nice review of our hotel. We are happy that your son enjoyed the pancake machine and we hope to see you again soon.

Barbara Epton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    70
    19
    9
    5
See reviews for
66
96
17
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

The first night we went to Le Claire, Iowa there was a big storm and the power in the town went out, so the local police and fire folks made us evacuate from the hotel at about 10:30 at night in the pitch black. It was an alarming and confusing experience, but the folks at the front desk were calm and organized and helped us get to a hotel in a nearby city. Since we were staying in Le Claire for three nights, we returned the next day and everything continued smoothly, as though nothing had ever happened. The room was clean and the breakfast was great. During our stay, we had paid extra for a room with a river view and a balcony, but there was noisy construction on the small service road between the hotel and the river, so we couldn't really enjoy the balcony at all, which was frustrating. However, when we checked out on the last day, Holiday Inn Express did not charge us for any of the nights we were there! We assumed that they wouldn't charge us for the first night because we had to leave and pay for a hotel in Davenport, but they also didn't charge us for the other two nights we stayed!! Wow!! What a pleasant surprise They said it was because of the inconvenience we had to go through to be evacuated. Well, they couldn't control the weather so it wasn't their fault, but what EXCELLENT customer service! I will recommend Holiday Inn Express hotels to anyone I speak with because I always get top notch service!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Le Claire Riverfront - Davenport, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Hi Nancy N,

Thank you for your very generous review! We appreciated your patience during a very trying time and we sincerely hope to see you again soon. Hopefully with no construction going on! :)

Warm Regards,
Barbara Epton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

We liked the area so much that we stopped again on our way home. Good hotel, good food and nice pool. Its nice to get a room overlooking the Mississippi, very peaceful. By far the big draw for us was the German restaurant a few doors down... Beer Stube! great place!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jennifer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Le Claire Riverfront - Davenport, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Hi jenniferalton1,

We appreciate your nice review of our hotel. Guest satisfaction has, and continues to be, a top priority for The Holiday Inn Express LeClaire. Thank you and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards,
Barbara Epton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

This hotel is clean and right in the Mississippi River has great restaurants with in walking distance.the room had a balcony over looking the river. It has a very friendly staff and is very close to downtown Le Claire

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rcolectble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Le Claire Riverfront - Davenport, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Hi rcolectble,

The feedback we receive from our guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas as well train and encourage our staff. We want to thank you for staying with us and for leaving such a nice review. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Barbara Epton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

On our entire road trip from the east coast to home in Minnesota, this was by far the best property we stayed at. Very clean and the most comfortable bed ever! Our room was a balcony with river view. Staff was outstanding. Pool area was clean and well maintained. Only complaint was the dripping air conditioner on our deck and the deck above us. Would be nice to have that drain away so the entire area was usable. We will stay here again when in the area.

Room Tip: Limited number of balcony/patio rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Le Claire Riverfront - Davenport, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thanks so much for staying with us and leaving this review Tim B! Our staff works hard to make our guests' stay as enjoyable as possible, so it's always nice to see kind words like yours. We hope to see you again soon!

Best Wishes,

Barbara Epton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sparks, Nevada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

The wife and I were on our way to parts west when we decided to stop for the night. We selected this hotel because it looked well kept and was on the banks of the river. The desk clerk was very friendly and shared some local places for dining, along with other local info.
I have found that if the desk staff is unfriendly / sour, the room will generally follow suit.
This experience proved my theory. The desk clerk was great and so was the room.
Our room faced the river, we had a great view but no balcony, which was fine as it was a bit cloudy. The room was clean, the bed comfortable. We especially liked the sitting area, as we had BBQ ribs from the night before and the couch and coffee table allowed us to eat our dinner in comfort.
Breakfast was good, a tick above average. One good thing was some of the hotel staff came thru and fixed some plates for themselves. In my book, this is a positive sign, the staff knows how the food is prepared & if they are willing to eat there, it is probably is done right.
This hotel was a high point of our trip. If your passing thru or your destination is LeClaire I would recommend this hotel with no reservations.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SimpleMan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Le Claire Riverfront - Davenport, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Hi SimpleMan S,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel! I am very happy that you were so pleased with your stay. It was a pleasure to have you with us. We hope to see you again on your next trip through our area!

Best Regards,

Barbara Epton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
173 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Was very nice, the staff at desk were friendly and helpful. Must have been a converted hotel, no automatic doors to enter, never new how handy they were until carrying luggage and have to open a door. Breakfast was the usual, could not find any ketchup to have with sausage , sometimes it can be nice to try something different.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikiej09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Le Claire Riverfront - Davenport, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Hello Mikiej09,

Thanks for taking the time to write this review -- we truly appreciate it. The good news is that we are getting automatic doors during our upcoming renovation! We are very excited about it.
We hope to see you again soon Mikiej09 ,

Warm Wishes,
Barbara Epton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Le Claire
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Le Claire/Quad Cities
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Riverview
8.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Davenport
Hampton Inn Davenport
#2 of 25 in Davenport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Davenport
9.6 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Moline
9.8 mi away
Radisson on John Deere Commons
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Le Claire Riverfront - Davenport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Le Claire Riverfront - Davenport

Property: Holiday Inn Express Le Claire Riverfront - Davenport
Address: 1201 Canal Shore Drive SW, Le Claire, IA 52753
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Le Claire
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Le Claire
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Le Claire Riverfront - Davenport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Riverfront LeClaire, is located just off I-80, on the banks of the Majestic Mississippi River. The hotel is conveniently located just minutes from downtown Davenport and Moline. LeClaire is home to Twilight Riverboat Cruises and the hotel is within minutes of boarding. We are also less than 15 miles from the Isle of Capri and Rythym City Casinos. The Holiday Inn Express Riverfront is a preferred lodging accomodation for Tyson Foods and Olympic Steel. Other nearby businesses that stay with us are John Deere, Exelon and Alcoa. So, whether it's business or pleasure that brings you to our area, Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express, LeClaire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, IHG, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Le Claire Riverfront - Davenport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Le Claire Riverfront - Davenport Hotel Le Claire
Holiday Inn Le Claire
Le Claire Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing