We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Costasur is a hidden gem” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Club Amigo Costasur

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Playa Ancon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Club Amigo Costasur
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Playa Ancon
Ontario
Level Contributor
124 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Costasur is a hidden gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

I'm not a high maintenance traveller - and for me a "hot destination" holiday means doing not much more than laying in the sun, swimming and relaxing. We stayed in a bungalow - only 50+ feet from the Caribbean Sea. Beautiful sunsets right outside our door.

I would normally never have found this resort if it hadn't been recommended by a client. I only search 4+ star resorts - this one is only 3 stars. But my client said it was a "hidden gem" - and she was right.

The food is typical - you don't go to Cuba for the food. The staff are very nice and attentive. The facilities clean.

I will definitely go back.

Room Tip: You can't beat the bungalows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jstead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    177
    153
    83
    54
See reviews for
108
250
50
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dowling, Ontario
Level Contributor
79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

Just returned from a one month holiday at Costasur, a basic 3 star all-inclusive hotel near Trinidad de Cuba. Enjoyed a lovely villa on the beach close to the beach bar. Food was typically Cuban fare, but it was the super staff that made you feel like part of the family that made all the difference. We have returned to this site 5 times and still look forward to many more.

Room Tip: Best location is a bungalow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diego118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
niagara falls
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013

Well,we just got back from Club Amigo Costasur .I will start with the happy things: Room 310 tropical section,very clean,nice balcony ocean view ,you can be naked there and still nobody sees you ,just Mathernature and your partner" Lol "',food in our eye was very disent, 24 hr bar ,witch some people misused , we all like it , but you have to know where the stop sign is.Tv worked,Ac was perfect ,so was the fridge,the maid did a perfect job every day.Water was perfect, 7 day sonshine , and snorkeling from the beach was got . Worrid things: they have a "garbage disposal "behind the massage salon They burn what they can,and if you trying to enjoy the beach, that smell not gonna help you.A lot a traffic ,tourists coming just to spend a night there ,kind af lot of hektik,the 24 hr bar serves caffee in a plastic cup,keep a eye on you burned fingers,.we ask for a wake up call ,guess what? when we walk down ! the front desk lady was sleeping in her office,and two security guys in the lobby, never worried if we gonna ketch our plain or not. PS whatch if you book with Can Jet they land in Santa Clara 3 hr bus ride ,Sunwing land in Cienfuegos 1,5 hr bus ride.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank potypoty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welland, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2013

My 23 year old daughter and I booked 5 nights all inclusive at this resort. We were a little nervous from the reviews but it turned out to be the best trip ever.
We flew into Cienfuegos airport and a coach bus took us to the resort. 1 1/2 hr ride. We arrived about 11:30pm and Jesus at the pool bar made us drinks and asked if we were hungry. The first morning we went to Trinidad 2 pesos by bus. We hired a bike taxi and he took us all over Trinidad to a pottery place, the steam engine and showed us the town. He bought us a sugar cane drink. We ate at a local restaurant, they had my daughter playing the maracas. Pizza was to die for. When we got back to the resort we had massages, very inexpensive $10 for half an hour $15 for a full hour. Leo at the beach bar kissed our hands and made us whatever drinks we wanted our entire stay. He was great. We booked a tour to the mountains to see a coffee plantation and hike to the waterfalls. I am not an active person and this was a great easy hike. You could swim at the falls. A man had a bar in the middle of the mountains selling refreshments and his donkey was parked nearby. We had a great lunch after the tour at a local restaurant. The coffee museum was really neat and the coffee was delicious. The tour guide took us back to Trinidad where he lived and took us through his home and introduced us to his family. Amazing experience. They were so welcoming. When they dropped us off at the resort we gave them lots of supplies we brought with us to give out which included clothes, shoes, toys, toiletries etc. We received a call to our room an hour later with everyone thanking us and the tour guide translating the conversation. He came to the hotel that evening with his wife (with the shirts we gave them) and enjoyed the entertainment. Day 3 we went by horse and buggy to Ancon beach, 4kms down the road. Very beautiful. We went for another massage and then joined the entertainment crew and partied in the disco cave till 3am. I strongly recommend the cave. The final day we went to the dolphin swim, super cheap $45 and an amazing experience. We then toured the town of Cienfuegos and Punta Guarda. Very beautiful. About an hour and a half from the resort. A must see. We booked a la cart to the Brisas their sister hotel. Super nice place. Checked out on day 5 at 3:30am and the bus took us to the airport. We had so much fun. Can't wait to do it again. We experienced so much more but this review is already very lengthy.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 143, it was quiet and nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Rose-Anne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tetbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2013

Poor quality hotel with very little effort made to attend to the guests. This was one of the worst we visited and it was a shame as it could have been so much better. Not one to return to I am afraid.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brock B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Playa Ancon hotels

London, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

This small resort is a 5 star in my books....for these reasons 1-the staff 2- the beach 3 - the snorkelling ect .ect. We are going back in 2 weeks for 2 weeks. We cant get enough of this resort.Some of the staff that are there to help make our stay delightful are : Carlos, Eryc, El Cobra, Leo and the beach bar, lazaro,Conrado at the grill

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MacAndyLebel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magnetawan, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2013

I stayed here with my two children aged 11 and 13. I was nervous to travel alone with two kids but it didn't take long for me to feel very comfortable here. We had a wonderful time and truly enjoyed our stay. The staff was very friendly, our room was great as we only slept in it. Our housekeeper surprised us everyday with our towel's, on our last day she made an elephant and swans. We found the food to be good, no complaints from us. The safe didn't work at first but they came and fixed it changing the batteries, the lock on the door was tricky but we got the hang of it, but honestly I never felt a need to lock the door, I felt safe and my children could roam the resort on their own. The nightly shows were great!!! The beach area was fantasitc, we went to the mountains for a day and in to Trinidad. We went off the resort one night for a great dinner. My kids have already been online looking to book our next vacation here. We met wonderful people who helped make for a great vacation. We will definately come back. We had a fantastic Cuban experience!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Denise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Ancon
4.5 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad
32.3 mi away
Hotel Rancho Luna
Hotel Rancho Luna
#6 of 6 in Cienfuegos
3.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
11.8 mi away
Hotel Los Helechos
Hotel Los Helechos
#7 of 11 in Trinidad
3.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Hotel La Ronda
Hotel La Ronda
#2 of 11 in Trinidad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
125.3 mi away
Starfish Cuatro Palmas
Starfish Cuatro Palmas
#9 of 63 in Varadero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,112 reviews
89.2 mi away
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
#1 of 14 in Cayo Santa Maria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Amigo Costasur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Amigo Costasur

Property: Club Amigo Costasur
Address: Playa Maria Aguilar, Playa Ancon, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Sancti Spiritus Province > Playa Ancon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Playa Ancon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 131
Also Known As:
Club Amigo Costasur Hotel Trinidad
Costasur Hotel Trinidad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing