We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely house in wonderful and peaceful location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of kapsali houses I

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Keratokampos, Crete

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
LVuEW
Bruchsal, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely house in wonderful and peaceful location”
Reviewed 28 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We (four adults and one 1-year old kid) stayed for a week at the end of September. We very much enjoid our stay. The house is very nice with two sleeping rooms (the baby bed we brought with us) and a bathroom upstairs and a large kitchen/living/dining area downstairs. The owner of the house (Manolis) gave us a very hearty welcome and already had supplied the house with a selection of food (including local oil, fruits, and wine). During our stay he added sef-baked cake, sweets, and more.
The house is located in rather quiet and untouristic area of crete in olive fields not far from the beach with a wonderful view on the ocean. We walked to the beach (about 15 min) carrying our little one in a baby carrier backpack (the landscape is not suited for strollers). MOst of the time, we had the whole (mixed sand and stone) beach for us - wonderful!
Only 5-10 min by car one finds nice little villages with taverns and some basic grocery shopping possibilities.
All in all we had a very pleasent vacation. Thanks a lot to Manolis for his hospitality!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Oct 2015
Thank you for lovely review! I am really glad you had a good time. You have been wonderful guests!
Best regards
Manolis
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coqdargen...
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed 31 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Nice house off the beaten track with a lovely sea view. Spent two weeks there and found it very relaxing, enjoying the local beach (about 10 mins walk) and tavernas in the village (about 5 mins drive). The owner was wonderful - real Greek hospitality!
I had a 4x4 and would probably recommend this because of the state of some of the smaller local roads.

Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jul 2016
Thank you for this wonderful review!
You have been a fantastic guest and I am really looking forward welcoming you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bobrat
London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A wonderful place”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Booked this house for a one-week family holiday in August. It nestles in an olive grove, between the mountains and the sea. Completely unspoilt and very peaceful, and at night we were even treated to the sight of the Perseid meteor shower.

Flight from UK to Heraklion arrived at around 22:00, so it was almost midnight by the time we arrived at the house. The shops were of course closed by then, but the thoughtful owner had put local fruit, milk, eggs, and drinks in the fridge, and there was bread, pasta, olive oil, honey, raki and wine on the table.

There are local supermarkets at Keratokompos and Arvi. The Arvi one at least was even open on Sunday, and there is a Lidl about 20 km away. Until we saw the signs above all toilets we forgot that Cretan plumbing cannot cope with paper being flushed down the toilet -- so we bought some nappy sacks and baby wipes.

Although we loved the getting-away-from-it-all location, we are too addicted to the internet to go without it – so took a (Vodafone) MiFi dongle, which worked well in the car, house, and even on the beaches.

Kapsali beach is a partly steep ten minute walk away, and we were often the only people there. Nearby Tsoutsouros with its stones is less secluded but better for snorkelling if the sand at Kapsali has been stirred up by the waves.

Emmanouil (the owner of Kapsali house) was always helpful. We had a puncture on the second day, and couldn’t work out how to get a new tyre locally. The petrol station owner in Arvi tried to repair the tyre, but there was too much damage to the sidewall. We texted Emmanouil for advice – and he promptly pulled some strings and fixed us up with a replacement.

Away from the tourist areas, the roads in Crete are often not billiard-table-smooth -- and a 4x4 would have been more suitable than the VW Golf that we hired. On our first attempt at getting to Zeus’s cave, the satnav suggested an impossible route for us.

In summary: Highly recommended place for a relaxing holiday. We and our teenage children loved it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, food, and people
Liked least: Some of the roads
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Aug 2014
Thank you very much for your review. I will be happy to welcome you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sightseer...
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2018 for a stay in July 2018
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alessandr...
Province of Piacenza, Italy
1 review
Reviewed 4 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: posto
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jul 2016
Thank you for your review!
Looking forward welcoming you again!
My best to all the family!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
big_a406
Berlin, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Gastfreundschaft der Vermieter (wirklich einmalig!) und der Ausblick
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jun 2015
Thank you for your review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing