We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst food ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kiani Beach Resort Family All Inclusive
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kalami
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 11 July 2014

The food was so bad we got sick from it. Absolutely not worth the money we spent. The location by the sea was ok but it was hard to appreciate when you were starving and sick due to the appalling all-inclusive food.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Smultr0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KalyvesBeach, General Manager at Kiani Beach Resort Family All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review of Kiani Beach Resort.

We are very sorry to hear that you were ill on your recent vacation. If you were to highlight this to us at the reception desk, or if we were to know that your illness was caused out of any fault of our own through our buffet we would have taken action in order to assist you.

In the period of your stay, no instance's of illness were mentioned or recorded as a result of our buffet selection. All produce used to create all our dishes are locally farmed and fresh, delivered daily to our kitchen chefs. Our chefs take great care in the preparations of all meals, and more importantly in the hygiene of the kitchen area which is cleaned more than once a day.


Kind Regards
The Team at Kiani Beach Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,246)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

512 - 518 of 1,246 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed here for a week in June and had a great time. Perfect for relaxing and chilling by the pool. The food was delicious and the staff were incredibly helpful and friendly. If you are looking for a couples only holiday this probably isn't the best hotel for you as it is a family hotel too.

Room Tip: definitely ask for a sea view room !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Loz1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KalyvesBeach, General Manager at Kiani Beach Resort Family All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you for your recent review of Kiani Beach Resort.

We particularly thank-you for your comments regarding our buffet. We are glad to hear that you relaxed!

Thanks to your feedback and the reviews of many others, we here at Kiani Beach Resort are able to constantly monitor our services in order to provide a quality holiday experience for our guests.We look forward to seeing you again and wish you well on your future travels!

Kind Regards
The Team at Kiani Beach Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed for 10 days in June with our 4 year old daughter. We had a mezzanine room which was clean and comfortable and had a great sea view. The food was lovely lots of salads, a good selection of hot and cold foods, plenty of choice, my daughter ate her own body weight of ice cream. The all inclusive drinks were not quite upto premium brands but were plentiful and they certainly dont scrimp on the measures. The play area was a huge success with my daughter who I barely saw the whole 10 days, she had a great time and the best thing about this resort is that you can see the whole outside area so I could sunbath and keep on eye on my daughter at the same time. The animation team were great with the kids, face painting etc, but they leave the adults alone if you dont want to zumba! Although this hotel is slightly isolated the bus stops at the end of the road to go to Chania which has great shops and a lovely harbour/resturants. This hotel is great value for money, it may not be 4/5 stars as in uk, but then your not paying uk 4/5 star prices Would definitely go back, thanks guys keep up the good work!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kasyums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KalyvesBeach, General Manager at Kiani Beach Resort Family All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Thank you for your recent review of Kiani Beach Resort.

We particularly thank-you for your comments regarding our facilities, outdoor area and buffet.

Thanks to your feedback and the reviews of many others, we here at Kiani Beach Resort are able to constantly monitor our services in order to provide a quality holiday experience for our guests.We look forward to seeing you again and wish you well on your future travels!

Kind Regards
The Team at Kiani Beach Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We had the most wonderful week. Great hotel size, beautiful location.
Especially thanks to Kim from the animation team for making it a holiday to remember for both kids and adults. He made every evening full of joy and laughter and this was surely the highlight of the day. Hope to come back again soon.

Room Tip: Ground floor allowed the kids to run straight to the playground.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KalyvesBeach, General Manager at Kiani Beach Resort Family All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for your recent review of Kiani Beach Resort.

We particularly thank-you for your comments regarding our location and size. Your kind words have been passed onto Kim.

Thanks to your feedback and the reviews of many others, we here at Kiani Beach Resort are able to constantly monitor our services and amenities in order to provide the best quality holiday experience for all our guests.

We look forward to seeing you again and wish you well on your future travels!

Kind Regards
The Team at Kiani Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Very satesfied with the hotel and stay. It was clean, nice staff, and lokated on the beach, with lots of sunbeds. No need to leave towels out in the night to get a bed....
The buffet was nice and waried, with a special childrenbuffet. Many activities for the childeren.
The only downside was the lockaton. You are sort of stuck at the resort, but they have thought of that, and have 4 bisyckles you can use in the daytime, free of charge!
This made our vacation moore interesting. A ride to the villages nearby is recomended.
Taxi to Chania town costs 25€.
The wi-fi worked ok.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank luzie12no
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KianiBeachResort, General Manager at Kiani Beach Resort Family All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear luzie12no

We would like to thank you for your recent review of Kiani Beach Resort.

Thank-you for you positive comments regarding our pool area, children's activities, and bicycles. We are very glad to hear you enjoyed these facilities!

We are however sad to hear you were not 100% happy with the our resorts location. Our location is clearly stated on our website. Our location which is right on the seafront and away from the hustle and bustle of downtown Chania is the reason many choose our establishment.

Your views and comments help us improve our services in order to ensure the best possible holiday experience for all guests. Our aim is to offer value for money services together with a sea-view experience for each guest that chooses Kiani Beach Resort.

We hope to see you again in the future and wish you well on your travels!

Kind Regards
The Team at Kiani Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We got a reasonable deal on this hotel with three nights full board for myself wife and 13 year old daughter at about €500. For what we got it was just about worth it, but we met many families who had paid much more and were disappointed. The real disappointment is that this is billed as a five star but it is only because of several quite cynical measures that it is rated this high. For example a lobby bar which was never open, a gym which was woefully under equipped, open only on request and closed when someone booked a massage.The pool was very small but well presented as were the beautifully maintained grounds. The room was clean but only a very thin partition across the room to separate the two sleeping areas. It was not a family room or suite as one would normally expect it. The beds were not brilliant but the camp bed was ridiculously uncomfortable with a paper thin mattress and wooden boards running through it. Even with two mattresses it was very uncomfortable. The food was average, a poor selection for children which was the same each day and the staff were very slow replenishing and food was often only luke warm, the menu was very un imaginative and 'samey' each day. Too few staff at the pool bar resulted in several longish waits for drinks! The staff were not particularly friendly and no waiter service at the tables. The entertainment was mediocre with the notable exception of the superb belly dancers, the best we have ever seen. The hotel is miles from anywhere but a trip into Channia is easy to arrange and well worth it. The reception staff were helpful, friendly and refreshingly honest about the hotel. For me, this hotel would do better to drop a couple of stars to avoid raising expectations, or up its game a bit.

Room Tip: Probably better to book two rooms rather than a family room if traveling with children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ukfamlivingincyprus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KianiBeachResort, General Manager at Kiani Beach Resort Family All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Guest

We would like to thank you for your recent review of Kiani Beach Resort.

Your views and comments help us improve our services in order to ensure the best possible holiday experience for all guests. Our aim is to offer value for money services together with a sea-view experience for each guest that chooses Kiani Beach Resort.

Thank-you for you positive comments regarding our reception staff and the dancers of our "Oriental Night".

We are very sorry to hear that we could not meet all your expectations on your recent visit to Chania. Our location, facilities, all-inclusive program, accommodations, and star rating are clearly listed on our website www.seacretehotels.com - accompanied with extensive galleries depicting our establishment and what we offer.

We sincerely hope that we will have a future opportunity perhaps on another visit to Chania to meet and exceed your expectations. We value your comments and have taken them into consideration discussing them with the team.

We wish you well on your future travels!
The Team at Kiani Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I have to admit - I've only stayed in high end all-inclusives. This is more of a mid-market property. That's fine - it delivers exactly as promised, but if you're expecting more then you should reset those expectations. For the price, this place is a great bargain - very high value for the money.

The good:
The food was above average - quite good, even. Kids happy, parents happy.

The pool is nice. Large enough for crowds of kids and parents.

Our room is large and perfect for a family of four.

The bad:
The wifi signal is so weak as to be unusable from our room and when you do connect (from public areas), it's pathetically slow. I know this is vacation time and I should stay off the internet, but it's not OK to advertise this and not deliver.

The checkin staff made no attempt to explain how to get my kids linked up with the "animation" (activities) program...So we're left kind of sitting back watching the other kids play with the staff members and I have to try and convince my (shy) little ones that's it's OK for us to go ask to join in.

I'm a little disappointed with the wine service - the all-inclusive price includes horrific white wine and barely tolerable red while they taunt me with an array of bottled wine that starts at 20E and goes up from there. The local beer is fine, though. I haven't tried the cocktails yet.

The neutral:
The beach is about six feet of rocky sand and a steep drop to deep water. Still fun to swim and the kids enjoy spotting fishes.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KianiBeachResort, General Manager at Kiani Beach Resort Family All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Dan K

We would like to thank you for your recent review of Kiani Beach Resort.

Thank-you for you positive comments regarding our buffet, accommodations and pool. We are glad to hear you enjoyed these facilities!

We are very sorry to hear that the wifi signal during your stay was not as fast as you would have needed. If you were to voice this concern and inform us of the problem at the reception desk we would have taken the necessary action into looking into the connection in your room in order to assist you. Our free wifi policy at Kiani Beach Resort is enjoyed by all our guests and on the very whole there are been very few problems over the years regarding such. Again we are very sorry to hear we were not aware of your problem.

We are equally very sorry to hear that you and your family were unsure as how to join the animations team. It is of high importance to us that all children and their families enjoy their time with us through the animations programs. We have updated our Chief Animator to ensure that all children have access to these activities.

Your views and comments help us improve our services in order to ensure the best possible holiday experience for all guests. Our aim is to offer value for money services together with a sea-view experience for each guest that chooses Kiani Beach Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalami
1.4 mi away
Kalyves Beach Hotel
Kalyves Beach Hotel
#3 of 6 in Kalyves
689 reviews
2.8 mi away
Niriides Hotel Apts Studios
1.3 mi away
Erodios Apartments
Erodios Apartments
#4 of 6 in Kalyves
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
56.2 mi away
Galaxy Hotel Iraklio
Galaxy Hotel Iraklio
#3 of 58 in Heraklion
1,762 reviews
5.6 mi away
Stratos Villas
Stratos Villas
#1 of 1 in Melidoni
23 reviews
0.9 mi away
Christi Apartments
Christi Apartments
#5 of 6 in Kalyves
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiani Beach Resort Family All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiani Beach Resort Family All Inclusive

Address: | Crete, Kalami, Apokoronas, Crete 73003, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Apokoronas > Kalyves > Kalami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kalami
Price Range: £90 - £267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kiani Beach Resort Family All Inclusive 5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kiani Beach Resort is a modern family resort situated directly on the award winning blue flag beach of Kiani Akti, just outside of Kalyves village in Chania.Bathe in the crystal clear waters of the Cretan sea, or relax by the large swimming pool, dotted with sun-beds and umbrellas where you can enjoy fresh beverages and snacks. With a chilled atmosphere and the sound of the sea waves in the background, surf on our free WiFi, or marvel at the idyllic scenery. The whole family is kept entertained at Kiani Beach Resort! Children can enjoy our animations programs and activities throughout the day, swim in the children’s pool or simply have fun in our games room and outdoor pirate’s ship! With their minds at ease parents can relax in the sun, or take part in numerous fitness and recreational activities such as volleyball, football, aqua gym, zumba, tennis, morning stretching sessions and our gym. Our location, paired with outstanding accommodation, facilities, daily programs, and Cretan cuisine at our “Symposium” buffet restaurant, make Kiani Beach Resort a class above the rest for an unforgettable fun filled summer vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Kiani Beach Resort Family All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kiani Beach Hotel Chania Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing