We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kiani Beach Resort Family All Inclusive
Nearby Hotels
Christi Apartments(Kalyves)(Great Value!)
US$53
US$47
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kalyves Beach Hotel(Kalyves)
US$132
US$104
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunrise Suites(Kalyves)(Great Value!)
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Langley Resort Almirida Bay(Almyrida)(Great Value!)
US$51
US$39
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Niriides Hotel Apts Studios(Almyrida)(Great Value!)
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
US$86
US$83
Bookgreece.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$83
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blazis House(Chania Town)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,284)
Filter reviews
1,284 results
Traveller rating
725
382
108
40
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
725
382
108
40
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsanimation teamkids clubsea viewice creamgames roomyoung childrenmini discoself servicerestaurant stafflunch and dinnerrecommend this resortwater sportsspecial thanksall inclusive foodreception staffaqua aerobicskeep an eye
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
535 - 540 of 1,284 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This is a great resort. Not too small, not too big. Fully inclusive including great drink selections at the cabana bar. Nice pool, with grassy area nearby along with beach areas including chairs. Difficult to get lounge chairs but overall, the food selection on the buffets were great at all meals, coffee was awesome and we were delighted at the activities available especially football for our boys. A quiet and peaceful place and easy drive to Chania or Kalevas restaurants. Front desk staff were sweet and welcoming. Rooms were nice. Website photos do not do them justice. Beds were comfy. Bathrooms…well, you're in Europe so don't expect big American hotel bathrooms or amenities. They could work on that, but overall we were so satisfied I really hope we can get back!

Room Tip: All front rooms have beach view. half of the rooms do not have a beach view.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Monica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KalyvesBeach, General Manager at Kiani Beach Resort Family All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your recent review of Kiani Beach Resort. We particularly thank-you for your many positive comments and praise regarding our size and pool area.

Thanks to your feedback and the reviews of many others, we here at Kiani Beach Resort are able to constantly monitor our services in order to provide a quality holiday experience for our guests. We look forward to seeing you again wish you well on your future travels!

Kind Regards
The Team at Kiani Beach Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

From the moment you first enter the huge, cool, beautifully decorated reception area you will know that you made the right chice in booking a holiday at this hotel. Every member of staff we met, from the front desk, to the maids, kitchen, bar and pool staff are all always full of smiles and eager to help. Our room was superb with a lovely sea view and literally 50 paces from the beach bar and pool. But the hotel is just the right size so that whatever room you get, you will always be close to the beach, pool, restaurant etc. i.e big enough to justify the superb facilities, and yet small enough to get to know the staff. . . and no queues.

Room Tip: Worth paying the little extra for a sea-view room as (apart from the view) you will get some shade from the afternoon/evening sun allowing you to sit out on your patio comfortably.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Barry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KalyvesBeach, General Manager at Kiani Beach Resort Family All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your recent review of Kiani Beach Resort. We particularly thank-you for your many positive comments and praise.

Thanks to your feedback and the reviews of many others, we here at Kiani Beach Resort are able to constantly monitor our services in order to provide a quality holiday experience for our guests. We look forward to seeing you again wish you well on your future travels!

Kind Regards
The Team at Kiani Beach Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Advantages:
- All-inclusive, featuring unlimited ice-cream, watermelons, salads
- two pools, icluding one for very small childred, shared toys
- very polite and customer-oriented personal and animation team, interesting activities for children, like the T-shirt painting and mini-disco
- cleanliness of room and hotel area
- the nice bridge to enter the sea. After the end of the bridge you can stnad on clear stoneless sea bottom. So, the sea is OK for swimming
- On-site cooking in certain days

Things to improve:
- Meal. For me is not the best ever. Not a big quantity of main dishes available at the same time. But, my family liked it
- The animation program mainly OK, but could be improved by adding some activities during a day

Things that everybody should know:
- There are abolutely nothing to see and do around the hotel with walking distance. You better rent a car to go to nearest towns and cities. Rent-a-car office also presents in the hotel.
- Very good hotel for holidays with children, but nothing to do if you are alone (e.g. single)
- There is a public sandy beach Kiani Akti, 200 meters further by road.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe282004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KalyvesBeach, General Manager at Kiani Beach Resort Family All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your recent review of Kiani Beach Resort. We particularly thank-you for your many positive comments.as well as suggestions for improvement - they have been taken into consideration.

Thanks to your feedback and the reviews of many others, we here at Kiani Beach Resort are able to constantly monitor our services in order to provide a quality holiday experience for our guests. We look forward to seeing you again wish you well on your future travels!

Kind Regards
The Team at Kiani Beach Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We had our first ever "all-inclusive" family vacation this summer at Kiani Beach Resort.

We have two kids aged 7 and 3 and we looked for a place that would combine some kids entertainment, easy beach access and safety. Kiani offers all that and more. The location is very quiet and all you hear at night is the sounds of nature. A sea view room is highly recommended though the mountain views are actually not bad at all. The two swimming pools (swimming pool and a kiddy pool) were very clean and conveniently sized to be able to monitor the kids without being with them all the time. The grounds of the hotel are perfectly sized so that parents can pretty much keep an eye on their kids wherever they are. The animation team was very friendly and managed to get kids and adults involved. They do face paintings, tshirt paintings, games etc. Some advertised activities not part of the animation team (like the donkey ride) were not that exciting and should be organized/set up better. The lifeguard/donkey walker/security/water sports/sunbeds and umbrellas guy was very friendly but had way too many roles and it would have been much better to have him as a full time lifeguard on duty. The evening entertainment was average other than the fantastic bellydancers who are probably the best anyone will ever see. The magician was good also. The fakir/fire show was just awful and should absolutely be dropped. The two "dudes" who showed up looked totally disorganized (a bit stoned maybe) and seemed like they just decided that night to do a "fakir show". The show is unfit for kids and too lame for adults.
Our main complaint would be the complete shut down of the sea side bar every night at 11 pm with no other options available. The lobby/lounge bar was never operated and adults had no other entertainment options on site. The seaside kiosk was always understaffed and one had to always stand in long lines to get a drink. Drinking water coolers/fountains should be available around the pool area for people/kids to get water instead of standing in line even for water. Snacks and ice creams offered pretty much throughout the day are quite good keeping the kids happy.

Food was good and the selection was very good daily. I believe that Kiani should look into upgrading the dinner part a bit with better selection and making it more of an event. Having some variety on breakfast could also be a plus while one would expect a 5-star hotel to have at least better coffee and maybe a chef making omelettes!

Overall a good value for money and very good for relaxed family holidays. A bit far from Chania but close to Almyrida which is a nice location with nice restaurants and a nice beach good for the kids. It is helpful to rent a car but be aware that driving around Crete is tiring.

Kiani is a bit of a let down for a 5 star resort but it would be great as a 4 star! They should either up their services some or drop a star. Some water sports would also be a very good addition. We would probably go back again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank CosmoQuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KalyvesBeach, General Manager at Kiani Beach Resort Family All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your recent review of Kiani Beach Resort.We particularly thank-you for your many positive comments regarding our buffet, location, services, entertainment, cleanliness and sea-view rooms. We are glad to hear that you relaxed and enjoyed so many aspects of our resort!

To address you your main complaint regarding the closing of our beach bar at 11pm. As a family orientated resort, our beach bar closes at that time each night in order to ensure that all guests are able to enjoy a quitter time of night as all sea facing rooms are in very close proximity to the bar.

We thank-you for the rest of your comments they have been taken into consideration.

Thanks to your feedback and the reviews of many others, we here at Kiani Beach Resort are able to constantly monitor our services in order to provide a quality holiday experience for our guests. We look forward to seeing you again wish you well on your future travels!

Kind Regards
The Team at Kiani Beach Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Me and my family visited your hotel between the 4:th and 11:th of july. If i start with the positive things:
The standard of the hotel is good. Your hotel is situated with a perfect location at the sea and beach. We really liked the service at the hotel and everyone makes the best to make the guests happy. The food was ok, in the beginning of our week we where a bit dissapointed because of the lack of meat- dishes.The familyroom is a bit small with very limited space to stove the bags, but it was ok.
Now the more negative things:
There is a lot of things to do to make this hotel a 4 or 5 star hotel. First of all: the Vip inclusive is very hard to understand. Why would you pay so much extras for nothing? The hamam is a steam sauna and nothing more. The free tenniscourt was really bad with broken rackets and balls that didnt bounce.
In the beach bar there was 2-3 persons working all the time, but unfortunately there was just 1 bartender serving with drinks most of the time. It should have been much bettet if you had self- service for all the customers who wanted sodas or beers. I cant understand wy we hade to stand in a que to have all inc water. It was Way over 30 degrees and a lot of kids that needed water or soft- drinks. Another thing when it comes to the Vip inclusive is the free 25 cl heineken beer. Wy wasnt there an alternative for the kids like a free can of ice Tea or Coke ? It's the same price for kids over 13 yrs, but not the same "benefits"? Or have i missed something?
We liked the breakfast and lunch but the dinner was a dissapointment. We think you have to make the dinner more special. With chefs cooking in the restaurant every night and not just on the greek night.
I have a lot more of tips how to make your hotel at least 4*+ so don't hesitate to contact me.
After all, we are satisfied with our visit at your hotel. There was a lot of activities for the children and it was clean and nice.
Best regards
Anders Wallin with family

Stayed: July 2014
Thank skalgrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KalyvesBeach, General Manager at Kiani Beach Resort Family All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your recent review of Kiani Beach Resort.
We particularly thank-you for your comments regarding our location, staff and service.

We are very sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy our All-Inclusive program. All your comments have been taken into consideration, and all the amenities that our programs include are listed on our website. We are also sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy the evening meals at our buffet restaurant. Our chefs take great care and pride in preparing varied, fresh and wholesome meals throughout the day.

Thanks you for your feedback. With your feedback we here at Kiani Beach Resort are able to constantly monitor our services in order to provide a quality holiday experience for our guests. We look forward to seeing you again and wish you well on your future travels!

Kind Regards
The Team at Kiani Beach Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews