We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to to visit this place again”
Review of Decker Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Decker Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Maquoketa
Certificate of Excellence
Isanti, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Can't wait to to visit this place again”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

A wonderful step back in time. Friendly staff and a fun place to stay. The rates are very reasonable and we look forward to trying a different room next time we go there, just for the fun of it. The bright lights from the parking lot may put off some people - but we enjoyed our stay here. This place has become a special place that we look forward to visiting again. Other hotels that are going to attempt a restoration project should take note that this is how it's done...restoring and upgrading to current day needs without losing the charm and the unique local history of this beauty. Our only regret was that we did not have a chance to try the prime rib!
~ Thanks for a great stay.
Mike and Dawn Collins

Room Tip: Parking lot lights may be a little bright from the car dealership. Try the opposite side of the buil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrnMrs C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    13
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
24
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

My husband and I found this beautiful gem along a spontaneous weekend motorcycle trip. The place is beautifully done with a combination of elegance and antique preservation. Our room was very spacious, comfortable, and quiet!

In addition to 3 stories of unique rooms there is also a restaurant in the back of the buildings and a lounge in the basement. Both are open to the public. We arrived late enough that we didn't have a chance to eat at the restaurant but did enjoy a couple of beverages in the lounge.

Make sure before you leave this nice little community to wander through the Main Street. There are tons of great little shops and places to eat!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Cwhitty75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

If you are in love with the Holiday Inn Express, and don't like the idea that room 602 is not outfitted exactly the same as room 601, you are not a candidate for adventure. On the other hand, if adventure, romance and nostalgia turn you on, this is the place to be. The Decker is a very small intimate hotel built about 140 years ago, immaculately restored and decorated with antique furniture, memorabilia, accessories. Make no mistake. This is a luxury hoteI I knew this place was great when I walked onto the second floor landing and saw an antique chair with a beautiful 1800's child's doll sitting on it. The service and staff were warm and friendly, from the owners down to the wait staff.

The rooms varied greatly in size, sleeping accommodations and amenities, with each one being individually decorated. Old does not mean crude or uncomfortable here. There are good showers/tubs, modern flat screen TV's (thank goodness, they fit right into the decor), and well regulated cooling.

Almost forgot to mention that prices for rooms, food and beverage are very reasonable. Go out to Galena for some shopping, then drive less than an hour to take a step back in time with your favorite partner and enjoy a delightful evening or weekend at the Decker. Our entire group loved it.

Room Tip: Wow, every room in the place is different. Talk with the owners for a description or look at the ph...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank numbersman2100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaiser, MO
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

They have a lounge that guest go to and party till 2:00 am, then come back to their room being very LOUD! The place is not for anyone who wants to get a good nights sleep. Lights are all over the place and there is not any good blinds to keep the lights from shinning into your room.

We ate dinner that night and our waitress told us that they had a good buffet breakfast in the morning as part of our room rate, but that was not true, $12.50 per person was the cost. Had I known that I would have ate at McDonalds.

Room Tip: Go to Walmart and get a tent and stay at the caves state park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brenda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

A friend had stayed here a few years ago and highly recommended the Decker Hotel 1875 for it's unique ambiance and friendly service. So a few of us went there this weekend. She was right - this place is a real gem. The owners Mike and Chris went out of their way to make us feel at home. The rooms are open for viewing if they're not occupied so we were able to walk through a number of them. Whoever decorated has 'the touch". Antiques everywhere. Too cute to describe - a must see. Pictures don't do it justice. The Sunday Brunch was great but we had a mixed bag at dinner the night before. Recommend the pork chop - prime rib - ok but I wouldn't order the rib-eye. You would think a steak in Iowa would be the way to go but it was thin and overcooked the first time and the second wasn't much better. That's the reason for the 4 stars vs. five.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcandndr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

If you'd like a unique hotel experience, plan to stay at the Decker Hotel. The 3-story, 17-room hotel is filled with period antiques and furnishings. There are feminine touches that will appeal to women, but the common areas and rooms definitely have a masculine feel: heavy wooden doors and bureaus, large tiffany lamps, a grand staircase. This is not the result of "retro-decorating." This place is the real deal! Although it is a step back in time, there are modern conveniences like cable TV, elevator service, and jacuzzi tubs. The air conditioning in our room could be perfectly controlled without drafts or cold spots.

The staff was not always readily available, and at times we had to look for them in the hotel's restaurant or lounge. Nevertheless, once found, everyone was friendly, helpful, and truly interested in our comfort. The great conversations we had with owners Chris and Mike more than made up for this temporary inconvenience.

The restaurant located in the hotel has excellent, gourmet food choices; and the tiny lounge in the basement is friendly and charming. Both are very affordable.

Life takes on a slower pace in the small town of Maquoketa. If you are ready to take a break from the hustle and bustle of modern life, this is the place to stay. Several wineries, Codfish Hollow Barn, and Maquoketa Cave State Park are short drives away.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank April L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arcadia, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We recently stumbled upon the Decker hotel in Maquoketa, IA when we stopped in for lunch. It had recently under gone a $200K renovation and it was stunning. The lobby was quite grand and the dining room had so much charm. The food was excellent and the owners, Mike and Chris, were quite gracious hosts. An employee, Jordan, offered to show us the two floors of rooms and we fell in love with the unique character of each one. The whirlpool suites are incredible! We ended up spending the night and plan to come back. This hotel is a true gem! The Maquoketa (Ma Coke it a) Caves State Park is a must see!

Room Tip: Ask for a tour and you can select your own unique room. The whirlpool suites are incredible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maquoketa
0.7 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#2 of 3 in Maquoketa
38 reviews
1.6 mi away
Centerstone Inn and Suites Maquoketa
17.6 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites DeWitt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Super 8 Dewitt
Super 8 Dewitt
#3 of 4 in DeWitt
96 reviews
19.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Bellevue
0.3 mi away
Squiers Manor B&B
Squiers Manor B&B
#1 of 1 in Maquoketa
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Decker Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Decker Hotel

Property: Decker Hotel
Address: 128 N Main St, Maquoketa, IA 52060-2201 (Formerly Decker Hotel 1875)
Region: United States > Iowa > Maquoketa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Maquoketa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Decker Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Italianate structure built in 1875 by James Decker. Beautiful woodwork from the era with full service restaurant, lounge located on site. Beautifully decorated rooms filled with antiques, modern bathrooms and individually controlled heating and cooling. Attractions nearby are the Maquoketa Caves national park, art museum, nature center and beautiful unique shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Decker Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Decker Hotel Maquoketa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing