We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Overall”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Marshalltown
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Marshalltown
Certificate of Excellence
Cedar Rapids
2 reviews
“Good Overall”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

NIce clean and spacious room, no complaints. Breakfast was good, coffee just ok. Hot tub was closed for 'health reason\concerns" Pool was busy on Friday night due to many sports events happening the next day - in the evening the pool area ran out of towels for a bit - lots of chemicals in the pool, only real issue there.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz W, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Marshalltown, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review regarding your recent stay with us. All feedback is appreciated and taken into consideration to help us improve. I apologize that the spa was not in operation during your stay. The safety of our guests is always our number one concern and we were unable to open the spa until chemicals levels were at safe levels for our guests. I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience this caused you but I'm happy to hear the remainder of your stay was good. If I can be of further assistance don't hesitate to contact me at any time. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    74
    29
    18
    6
See reviews for
121
36
12
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Jeri at the front desk made it worth staying at this hotel. She was a wonderful young lady who took great care to make our stay wonderful. Rooms are spacious and housekeeping does a wonderful job. Definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kooley_s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz W, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Marshalltown, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for staying with us recently and for completing a review regarding your stay. I also appreciate you complimenting our staff. They work hard to provide you with excellent service during your stay and being recognized is always appreciated. Our goal is to receive positive feedback like this. We look forward to accommodating you again on your return to Marshalltown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duluth, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

The hotel was fine overall. We were traveling with an infant and the room did not come with a refrigerator. Most Hampton Inns have refrigerators, so we were keenly disappointed that this hotel did not offer that. Otherwise, the hotel was fine and the staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Shannon Marie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz W, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Marshalltown, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for staying with us recently and for completing a review about your stay. I also appreciate you complimenting our staff. They work hard to provide our guests with excellent service during their stay and being recognized is always appreciated. I apologize that your room did not have a refriderator. We do offer suites that have the mircrowave and refridgerator included. When planning your next visit with us I would highly reccomend looking into a suite which may accomodate your needs better. We look forward to accommodating you again on your return to Marshalltown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berthoud, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

I've come to really rely on the quality of Hampton hotels while on the road. This hotel does not disappoint. Very clean, professional staff, good location. What really struck me was how quiet my room was.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Henry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz W, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Marshalltown, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
I appreciate you taking time to complete a review regarding your recent stay with us in Marshalltown. I’m happy to hear that we delivered to you a clean and comfortable room. I’m also happy to hear that you had a good experience with my staff. They are proud of what they do. Our goal is to receive feedback like yours. We look forward to your next stay. I do hope it is soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

this hotel just opened recently, we had a problem with the shower not working and the pool was closed. they ran out of food at the breakfast and would not refill. Hopefully they will get it worked out.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Robert Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz W, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Marshalltown, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for completing a review reguarding your recent stay with us. I aplogize for the situations you mentioned in your review. I always appreciate when a guest brings a concern to our attention so we have the opportunity to correct it, make it right by you and use it as a learning experience.
I apologize that they pool was not in operation during your stay. The safety of our guests is our number one concern. We had a light in the pool that was pulled out exposing dangerous electrical wires. It was repaired that following Monday. I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience this caused you. I know this does not make up for the problem but I hope in some small way it helped.
If I can be of further assistance don't hesitate to contact me at any time. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mckinnry, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

This hotel was so clean and accommodating. Great staff that was very friendly and helpful. This place was very quiet and I slept so well. The beds are very comfortable. I would reccomend this hotel to anyone and will stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Cynthia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz W, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Marshalltown, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
I appreciate you taking time to complete a review regarding your recent stay with us in Marshalltown. I’m happy to hear that we delivered to you a clean and comfortable room. Those Serta Perfect Sleeper mattresses are hard to beat and I’m glad you were comfortable. Our goal is to receive feedback like yours. We look forward to your next stay. I do hope it is soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Overall, this was a very comfortable hotel. I arrived at 1:30 for a 4:00 check in time and they were able to accommodate me within 15 mins I was settling in my room which I appreciated as I had to get ready for a wedding. Rooms are large but seemed sparsely furnished. It felt more like staying in someone's guest bedroom than a hotel. Bed was extremely comfortable and hotel was very quiet even though I saw several families with young children on my floor. All of the public areas were great. Loved that the pool was open until midnight but would have appreciated an adults only time as there were screaming kids running around right up until closing time. Breakfast was nothing fancy but anytime there are some hot options and fresh fruit it's a win. I'd stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liaspe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz W, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Marshalltown, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for staying at the Hampton Inn & Suites of Marshalltown and also for taking the time to complete a review regarding your stay with us. I’m happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you had the opportunity to enjoy our pool area. I’m proud of the customer service my staff delivers and I’m glad to her that you agree. We look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marshalltown
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Marshalltown
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Regency Inn
BEST WESTERN Regency Inn
#3 of 11 in Marshalltown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Marshalltown
Comfort Inn Marshalltown
#4 of 11 in Marshalltown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Tremont Inn On Main
Tremont Inn On Main
#2 of 11 in Marshalltown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.2 mi away
Motel 6 Marshalltown
Motel 6 Marshalltown
#8 of 11 in Marshalltown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
22.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grinnell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Marshalltown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Marshalltown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Marshalltown
Address: 20 West Iowa Avenue, Marshalltown, IA 50158
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Marshalltown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Marshalltown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Marshalltown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Marshalltown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Hotel Marshalltown
Hampton Inn And Suites
Hampton Inn & Suites Marshalltown Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing