We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Prepare to Wait for Your Dinner”

Kazarelli's at Miller's Bay
Ranked #2 of 15 Restaurants in Milford
Cuisines: Italian, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Sarasota
Level Contributor
136 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Prepare to Wait for Your Dinner”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Since the menu is limited and all food is prepared as ordered, get ready to wait quite some time for your meal. This is NOT a quick-serve restaurant, but a fine-dining establishment with a full-service, well-stocked bar. There are also nightly specials.
All dinners begin with warm sliced bread(tasty). Meals on the regular menu include either homemade soup of the day or a salad of baby greens. The menu is heavily Italian, but is NOT served with garlic bread. The spaghetti with 3 golf-ball size meatballs dinner was fine, but really needed the garlic bread to compliment the meal. The walleye fish dinner was awesome, as was the soup of the day(Iowa Tomato Soup), although the soup was barely lukewarm. The pan-fried fish was served with jasmine rice and a mélange of fresh veggies, along with raspberry tartar sauce that tasted out of the jar and tinted pink. There was plenty of fresh lemon wedges for the fish. Other diners in our party were also quite pleased with their meals.
Service is attentive and pleasant.
Kazarelli's is actually located in the Village of Wahpeton, IA, outside Milford. Being in a resort area, dress is always casual.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarasota_Gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    12
    2
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Avoid at all costs”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

I visited Kazarelli's for the first time early August 2013. It was the worst dining experience in a long time. We went there because of the "all you can eat fish" ad in the local paper. We paid $17 per person and after being at the restaurant for two hours had received 2 small pieces of walleye and fries. After multiple complaints to staff a female manager came to the table and told us that "if you want my fish you will wait". Although no foul language was used in complaining we were told by her that "we are no allowed to talk to her like that". I'm never seen such arrogance over fried fish and fries. We informed her that we had been at the restaurant since 6pm and she told us we got there at 7pm. Apparently she can tell time better than us. With the multitude of dining choices on Okoboji (this isn't even on the water) I would avoid Kazarelli's all together. I will never be back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Darren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A great neighborhood bar & restaurant”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

For those of us on the west side of West Lake Okoboji, Kazarelli's is the perfect neighborhood bar & restaurant. It's like you're sitting in the Cheers Bar! You almost expect to see Norm sitting at the end of the bar.
Dan does a great job with his steaks & seafood, but the kobe beef lasagna is his speciality.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyoming
Level Contributor
65 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“High End Food at Moderate Prices”
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Kazarelli's is one of the best bets for interesting food in the Okoboji area. They usually have a special. The salads and appetizers are excellent and the entrees are good as well. Prices are reasonable for high end Iowa food.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank elwhaswan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
71 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Review of All U Can Eat Fish Fridays”
Reviewed 18 February 2013

I can''t review the food because we didn't stay. This is just a warning. We saw they were advertising all u can eat fish on Fridays. Since they are less than a block from a geat fishing lake we thought it can't be to bad. When we arrived we asked about the fish fry. The waitress said it was $12.95 and a $2.00 upcharge for catfish. What can cost lower than catfish? Swai, according to the waitress it is a vietnamese fish and they tempura battered it. Why at an italian resturant are they tempura battering the fish? We headed to the Dry Dock for walleye.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jasiowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kazarelli's at Miller's Bay also viewed

 

Been to Kazarelli's at Miller's Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing