We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”

The Lincolnshire Poacher Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Lincolnshire Poacher Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Metheringham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Fantastic place, very warm greeting from Pippa who showed us around our accommodation.
The cottage was excellent- could not believe how spacious it was. Its nice to have a whole house to yourself- beats a hotel room any day. We were even offered a microwave as we were travelling with a baby for her food. Pippa brought breakfast to our room in the morning which was excellent.
Would recommend this place to anybody.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ru1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    18
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
20
32
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Margate, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 July 2013

The Inn was well set up for B&B, the accommodation being in cottages in the Inn yard. very comfortable, plenty of hot water, comfortable beds and lounge with TV. breakfast can be ordered the night before and will be delivered to the cottage at the time required - full English to something less filling. If you want to eat in the Inn, the food is excellent and plentiful. The village is well placed for Lincoln, a 20 minute car drive or go by local train or bus. Also good for getting out into Lincolnshire. Welcome was great and we felt very relaxed during our time there. I would go again if in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen op Zoom, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
108 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

You book a B&B and what you get is a self catering completely rebuilt stable with downstairs living and kitchen facilities and upstairs sleeping and en suite facilities. But the landlady brings you your breakfast in the morning. What more can you ask for? It was just perfect. Very clean and hygienic. you can park your car on the premises. The Inn serves probably very good food but I didn't get round to trying it as I found the price of my favourite steak a bit steep at £24. And the interior of the Inn itself is nothing special I would say. Fish & chips next door one 1 side, Chinese take away on the other side.The strong point of this address surely must be the two rebuilt mews-type lodgings. Superb service with a smile. One point of criticism: The twoseater sofa and the "comfychair" need replacing. Now it feels as if one sits on the floor and older people will have difficulty getting out of the chair again.

Room Tip: I had the "far" one in the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaboskabouter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottingham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 June 2013

My wife and I had a very enjoyable one night stay in one of the cottages,and also had an excellent sunday lunch with our family in the restaurant.
We were very well looked after and would certainly stay in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barking, ESSEX
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

It was probably just us, but……

We stayed in No. 1 Poachers Mews and these are OUR honest reflections.

Most importantly the hot water was scaldingly hot, I mean DANGEROUSLY HOT!!!

In our opinion:-
The sofa facing the TV was too soggy. The other one was fine.
The under floor heating seemed OK.
The TV was too small – but it does have a DVD player.
The TV was up so high, on top of the tall unit, that the viewing angle was wrong and it looked like a dark negative – from our soggy sofa-seat, anyway!
No Wi-Fi
The mirrored tiles above the basin in the shower room only come up to chest height.
The ‘bathroom’ is only, in fact, a shower room – important if you prefer to relax in a bath.
The shower room smelt of damp.
The extractor fan in the shower room is really noisy.
The toilet seat hinges need fixing.
There isn’t really a convenient towel rail – only one hung from the top of the beam, but difficult to reach.
We poked our heads into bedroom #2, out of curiosity, and it smelled of feet.
There is only one bedside table and lamp.
The bed was comfy.
The beamed ceiling looks nice.
The Full English Breakfast was hearty enough but had erred on the greasy side thanks to the fried bread & fried egg.
We weren’t sure about the cereals in containers large enough to accommodate super-sized packets as we wondered how fresh they might be.
We did think it strange that the washing machine in the kitchenette/diner was full!!
Plenty of parking, just outside the door.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goose1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Spent one night in one of the cottages which was spacious yet cosy and warm and very comfortable. There is a table and chairs outside where I was able to read for a hour in the sunshine before a lovely breakfast was brought over to our own dining table in the cottage.

We ate in the restaurant the evening we arrived and had top quality and beautifully cooked fillet steaks.

Everyone was very friendly and welcoming. An excellent stay and very good value. Thank you!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarrogateStray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Metheringham is a quiet backwater of a place - convenient for Lincoln (best visited by train from Metheringham station), Woodhall Spa (a delightful gem of a place) and the vast expanse eastwards towards the coast! The pub serves excellent food, all fresh and generous laden on the plate. The B and B is excellent value and we were made to feel very welcome. Comfortable, clean and quirky. Breakfasts are brought over by Pippa from the pub across the car park. Tasty.

The Lincolnshire sausages from the neighbouring butchers are superb.

Worth another visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KentHalfcentury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Metheringham
7.7 mi away
Petwood Hotel
Petwood Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woodhall Spa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
5.1 mi away
Branston Hall Hotel
Branston Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Branston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,010 reviews
7.1 mi away
Premier Inn Lincoln (Canwick) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
The Leagate Inn
The Leagate Inn
#1 of 1 in Coningsby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
7.8 mi away
The INN at Woodhall Spa
The INN at Woodhall Spa
#3 of 4 in Woodhall Spa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
6.6 mi away
Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lincolnshire Poacher Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lincolnshire Poacher Inn

Property: The Lincolnshire Poacher Inn
Address: 53 High Street, Metheringham LN4 3DZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Metheringham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Metheringham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lincolnshire Poacher Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your The Lincolnshire Poacher Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing