We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonably Priced, Adequate Motel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econolodge Inn & Suites
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Newton
Reviewed 28 August 2013

This motel is about average; it is clean, reasonably priced, easy to find off I-80, and there are some pretty good restaurants nearby. The clerk at reception was friendly, and we could use a coupon from the various coupon books that are available at truck stops and restaurants.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Berci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmia146, General Manager at Econolodge Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to give us positive feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2013

The staff is great to work with for a large group event. Our group recently had our annual gathering with more than 50 in attendance. The meeting room was perfect for our group and perfect set up for catering a meal. Our group also decided to grill out and were able to set up our own grill in the parking lot! Room rates very reasonable and staff friendly and helpful! Great location as well, close to several wineries and great golf courses. Will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmia146, General Manager at Econolodge Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2013

Thanks for the review Lisa. We just love building relationships with guests like yourself! I'll be sure to pass your feedback along to our team members.Thanks again and we definately see your group again in future.I have emailed pictures to your barbeque team members ...it 's always treat to work with your group..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Having been on the road for five weeks, our budget was stretched and we decided to risk a stay here. We concur with previous reviews regarding the perfume-y coverup of cigarette smoke that seems to be imbedded in the facility. It greeted us in the hallway and was present in the room as well. We opened the window and the door and ran the fan, but the odor was pervasive! For the price, we and our budget survived, but it wasn't a great stay. Breakfast was okay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ontwowheelsfortwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmia146, General Manager at Econolodge Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2013

Thank you for staying with us. I'm so sorry your visit was not a complete success. I have shared your review with maintenance and Housekeeping to avoid the same situation in future. We appreciate your feedback and hope you give us another try.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

it had been awhile since i have stayed in a hotel room but my newlywed wife and i had the opportunity to stay here at the econo lodge and i must admit i was amazed all the comforts provided gratuitusly as part of our stay.the bed was very comfortable room was great size and the fact you had everything from hair dryer to decent sized tv and fridge all at your disposal within the room so it made the experience very enjoyable and relaxing. the staff was excellent and friendly the stay was quiet and peaceful and i will be looking forward to staying there again soon just to get away from the hustle of everyday life..thankyou again to all the staff there for the pleasant visit!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TobyLusk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmia146, General Manager at Econolodge Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2013

Thank you for you great review! It is our # 1 goal to make all of our guests feel welcome and at home. I am glad we were able to make your stay such a great one and hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

clean and roomy rooms, the beds are good. Not the hilton but you get treated like family. Management Raj & Hema are awesome friendly and do whatever it takes to give you a pleasant stay. Their frontdesk staff is friendly and housekeeping takes good care of the rooms. Overall a great pleasant stay ;))

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank windhauler71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmia146, General Manager at Econolodge Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2013

Thanks for positive feedback about your stay. I have shared your comments with front desk and housekeeping. Thank you for the great response .We hope to see you again soon...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We checked in at 9:44 so it was too late to leave & find another place. The room was so perfumed as to be uninhabitable. The bed linens were permeated with this obnoxious odor. It seemed to come the worst from the AC unit so we had to actually turn it off even though the room was very hot. Even our clothes were permeated. When I complained at the desk in the AM (checked out at 6:57) she could have cared less. Wrote down the room number & mumbled under her breath.

I also gave them my Rewards Program ID which I see was never entered. Heaven help anyone with asthma or migraine problems. A child in this room with asthma would hardly survive. Will avoid Econo Lodge in the future.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolfrances1707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmia146, General Manager at Econolodge Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2013

Thank you for taking the time to make us aware of the issues you experienced during your stay. I sincerely apologize that the staff did not correct the issues during check out process . As you can see from our other reviews we take pride in our hotel and with keeping it clean and your experience was not the norm.
I would still concern about your reward program points and issues .I tried to call on the phone no. you have provided at checkin .But no one answer the phone.I would appreciate if you call the property or emailed me to hotel email address provided.
Again, thank you for your comments as we will use them to better our hotel and make sure no other guest experiences the same.
Hema Patel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Stayed at this Econo Lodge one night on my way west. The room was OK with a good bed, clean linens and a shower with hot water. My big complaint is the cigarette smoke in the halls. They were terrible. Price was fair for what you get. Would stay here again, but hope they do something about the hall smell.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chipperhigh2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmia146, Manager at Econolodge Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. We apologize that our hotel did not meet your needs. I make sure we will take care of the smoke smell penetrating through hallway.
Thank you again for staying with us, I am looking forward to see you again on your next visit to Newton Iowa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newton hotels
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Newton
Days Inn Newton
#5 of 8 in Newton
292 reviews
4 mi away
Boulders Inn & Suites Newton
1.5 mi away
Best Western Holiday Manor Newton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Newton
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Newton
Super 8 Newton
#3 of 8 in Newton
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econolodge Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econolodge Inn & Suites

Address: 1405 W. 19th Street South, Newton, IA 50208 (Formerly Ramada Limited Newton)
Region: United States > Iowa > Newton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Newton
Price Range: £38 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econolodge Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econolodge Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Newton
Newton Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing