We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ring around the pool, <60 degrees in "breakfast" area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Newton
Marion
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Ring around the pool, <60 degrees in "breakfast" area”
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

We had a room by the pool. We did not swim in it because there was a rusty ring at the water line and the ceiling tiles above the pool area were loose and looked like they were ready to fall in the water! There were water stains all over the rest of the tiles. The breakfast area was just above freezing in the morning (this is not exaggerating, it was COLD) and there was just toast and some Sara Lee pastries that had been cut in half in a plastic display case. At least they had coffee. The mattress we slept on was saggy and hard. I don't see the point in staying here even if it's just to sleep because you won't sleep! There were a few kids having a pool party and their hollering and running around just outside the room was very loud. At the very least, get a room that is not by the pool, especially if you turn in early.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank phoggy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberley P, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
I am sorry to hear your stay with us was not to your liking. Thank you for your feedback, we greatly appreciate it. I apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you or your family. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    6
    4
    6
    26
See reviews for
19
6
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
thousand oaks
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We got there at 4 PM. there were two staff members present and only 3 cars in the parking lot. When they saw we had a Coupon Hotel travel book they did not want to talk to us. when we asked for an ADA compliant hadicapped room they replied thay had "just " rented out the last one. This with only 3 cars in the parking lot!! Tried to get us to use an alternate room which was totally in adequate for the toilet use.

Room Tip: Pass up Ameri Best inns
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberley P, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
I am so sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. Thank you for your feedback, as it is greatly appreciated. I appologize for any inconvenience this may have caused. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you in the future. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newton hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Well when we got to this hotel (let me tell you it was not easy to find the entrance) we walked in and the front lady was talking to a bunch of semi drives for like 5 min and there were BUGS in the LOBBY!! Than we walk into our room and it is blistering hot!! We turned on the air condition and what do you know, it doesnt work!!! We walked into the bathroom.. and the panels on the ceiling are MISSING!!!!! We turned on the water.. i doesnt work!! At this point we are angry and than they turned the water on and guess what... NO hot water!!!!! And the matteresses are yellow and stained with one sheet over it.. this was the worst hotel i have been in BY FAR!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PaytonJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

I have never felt the need to rate a hotel before, but this one was so bad that I couldn't let the opportunity pass by. Dirty, run down, hardly any breakfast available and the condiments are communal - gross! There was a hose running into the pool and hot-tub with cold water to keep them full. I couldn't bring myself to go barefoot anywhere in the room.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank N T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 October 2012

It may be off the beaten path, but its worth a shot. I got a chance to meet the owner and really get to know him and his plans for this property. Being in Hospitality myself it was nice to deal with someone directly who is truly vested in making sure your stay is comfortable as possible. Sure I have ideas that can have an immmediate impact but I know for a fact that much has been already invested in improvements and more are to come. For now you get a good honest value on a comfortable night stay. Being a Nascar fan, It was cool to see some trailers parked there for the upcoming Nascar race in Newton. If you look around they have a nice pool table and arcade room and a big indoor putting green. I wasn't a biscuits and gravy guy for breakfast until I got there but I tell ya it hit the spot and got us ready fro our drive into Chicago. When I got back home to California I sent them a gift that I think they can share with their future guests who enjoy golf.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boiling Spring Lakes, North Carolina
Level Contributor
96 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

This was the worse Americas Best Value Inn we have stayed in and will never use this chain of hotels again. The hotel is huge but not kept up. They placed us in an area by the pool and had to walk thru a poorly lite hallway to get there. The pool and hot tub were so old we were not willing to take a chance to using it. The beds were comfortable but because of the whole vibe I stripped the bed to make sure there weren't bed bugs. The chair in the room was broken down and we didin't use the shower because of its condition. The breakfast was cereal, toast, coffee and juice.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pelicanpoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maple Plain, Minnesota, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We should have ran when we pulled into the parking lot and not only seen the garbage can full but what should have been three more garbage cans laying around it. It was like a scene from the movie Hot Tub Time Machine. Looking at the pictures on the internet it looked great but I was not even sure the place was open when we went to check in. No one at the front desk, not a light on in the building and that is Just the start. When someone finally gave us a key and we went to our room it looked like a crime scene with something splattered all over the walls and curtains that looked like blood! God only knows how much other DNA was spread through out the rest of the room.Then onto the hot tub and pool... i was not really a big fan of the brown scum that was all the way around the pool like the water had not been changed since the roaring 1920's but I was excited to hear from some of the other reviews that the hot tub had been drained at sometime so I was glad to hear that. My parents staying in the room next to me turned on the AC and tripped the smoke alarm which I'm glad to at least see worked. I like others would run FAR FAR away if even looking at this motel because I think the only good reviews that have been posted about this place were from employees who didn't want to do anything else, or the owners trying to make it look better than it really is

Room Tip: I could not think of a positive about this place other than find another place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton
0.4 mi away
Days Inn Newton
Days Inn Newton
#3 of 8 in Newton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
3.8 mi away
Boulders Inn & Suites Newton
3.9 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Newton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Newton
1.7 mi away
Best Western Holiday Manor Newton
18.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grinnell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Property: Americas Best Value Inn
Address: 2000 W 18th St S, Newton, IA 50208-5607 (Formerly Newton Inn Hotel and Banquet Facility)
Region: United States > Iowa > Newton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Newton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Americas Best Value Inn Newton, conveniently located off of I-80 Exit 164. We are near Iowa Speedway, a NASCAR-style banked oval track. Other nearby attractions include Capitol Theater, Newton Arboretum and Botanical, Prairie Meadows Racetrack and Casino, Buena Vista University, and Neal Smith National Wildlife Refuge. Local restaurants include Senor Tequila, Subway, and Montana Mike's Steakhouse. We strive to make our pet friendly Americas Best Value Inn your hotel of choice when visiting the Newton area. Your comfort is the number one priority of our attentive 24-hour front desk staff. Start your day right with our free continental breakfast served from 6am-9am. Free coffee is available in our lobby 24-hours-day. Take advantage of our three meeting facilities for your next group event. Enjoy our game room. Appreciate the convenience of free wireless high-speed Internet access available in our guestrooms and lobby. Rest in the privacy of your own guest room with amenities including cable TV with over 90 channels, coffeemaker, hairdryer, desk, and free local calls. Children age 14 and younger stay free in their parent's room with existing bedding. At Americas Best Value Inn Newton, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Hotel Newton
And Banquet Facility Newton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing