We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very clean and nice hotel”
Review of Quality Inn Newton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Inn Newton
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Newton
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
“very clean and nice hotel”
Reviewed 21 July 2013

we stayed here on our way to denver .. rooms were very nice and clean .. smells fresh friendly staff and it was one the best hotel we stayed on our trip .. breakfast was more then we expected they had nice indoor pool we will stay here again on our way back home

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    10
    17
    16
    20
See reviews for
19
20
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
KCMO
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

I had a feeling when I drove in that the "quality" of this place was going to be questionable, but I had driven a long way that day, and I didn't have the energy to try to find another hotel closer to Des Moines. Sure enough... this hotel could use some serious renovation. The exterior of the hotel was grubby, the carpet was garish, and the room I was given was not that great. (I didn't risk taking my shoes off in my room...)

The room just felt so tired... The bathroom smelled faintly of pee when I first walked in, and a repair made to the shower had a faint ring of mold around it. Everything was mostly clean, but not extremely clean, and even a fresh coat of paint would do wonders here. I did feel ok about sleeping in the bed -- the sheets were clean and the bed was made up well.

I didn't check out the pool or much of anything else. One exterior door to the hotel hallway would open with OR without a key card, and another door didn't work at all (I learned after parking near it, only to discover I'd have to walk up to the other door anyway). Breakfast in the morning was so-so: the waffle iron is a nice, but the breakfast could use some other options. Seriously, who eats that cereal? I bet most of it is years and years old.

Check-in and check-out was fast. No elevator.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ere76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newton hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2013 via mobile

This was by far the worst place I have ever stayed at!!! I was on a road trip so I stopped forthe night. When I checked in around 11 there was one girl who was grunting, doubled over, scratching herself and pacing the room. That made me super anxious! Then when we walked down to our room the halls reeked of smoke and mold. When we got in our room the smell was better. Our pillows were maybe a foot long and our comforter had a cigarette burn in it. Then next morning I got up and left right away and the one girl who was itching was just passed out in the middle of the lobby.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurend419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

nothing special, nice hotel. Location right off interstate, so easy to find. Did not check out the pool so I cannot rate that. Overall, it was a good experience. We did have problems with the showers as they were very touchy....either burn you or freeze you out.... Check in was very easy, and check out too. Newton being a small town, had good eats right around the hotel so that was not an issue at all.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mkeats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

My father and I planned a trip to the Iowa Grand Motorcycle Rally in Newton, IA and reserved a room at this hotel for Thursday (5/30/13) night through Saturday (6/01/13) night and planned to check-out Sunday (6/02/13) morning. Tuesday (5/28/2013) my father was involved in a serious motorcycle accident. He was riding his bike and a man in his younger 20's ran a stop sign and T-Boned my father. He was thrown over 20 feet. He lives in Iowa and was not wearing a helmet, as there are currently no helmet laws in Iowa. He broke his right ankle and left wrist in multiple spots. He fractured a rib on his left side and also broke every bone in his face and also fractured his skull. He has been in the ICU since it happened and has been sedated for more than two days. He has had three surgeries and will need more in the upcoming days. When I called the hotel to cancel his reservation due to the situation, a guy with an accent of that from India, told me they will not cancel the reservation due to being past the cancellation period. I told them this is ridiculous and threatened to have the charges cancelled when they go through his credit card company. I demanded to speak to a manager only to find out he will not be there until the morning. I hung up due to being overly frustrated. I called the next morning and the same schmuck answered. I was told the manager had already left for the day. In my opinion and every other breathing being's opinion, this absolutely not the way to do business. I would rather sleep on a curb with a rock as a pillow than to book at this hotel. I will be contacting the BBB and letting them know what happened

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeremy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
297 reviews
238 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013 via mobile

I stay in hotels 250+ nights per year and this hotel rates pretty high in my book. From the fast and efficient check in to the comfortable beds, this hotel has it all. I'm glad to number this hotel in the few I will make my regular stops.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChuckMosher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

There was a coupon in the local travel magazine found at gas stations and we were delighted with the super service by the desk clerk. She was so helpful and even helped bring in our luggage. She helped get us the best rate with the coupon and our AAA card. She went out of her way.

Our room was large and perfect. We have stayed here before and really feel welcome.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Newton
Days Inn Newton
#5 of 8 in Newton
263 reviews
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Newton
4.2 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Newton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Boulders Inn & Suites Newton
1.7 mi away
Best Western Holiday Manor Newton
8.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Colfax/Newton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Newton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Newton

Property: Quality Inn Newton
Address: 1700 W 19th St S, Interstate 80 and Highway 14, Newton, IA 50208-6000
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Newton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Newton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Newton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Inn Newton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newton Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing