We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quality Inn Newton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Quality Inn Newton
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Newton
thousand oaks
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“great staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

Very quiet Air Conditioner!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! We could not even hear it when it was on. Staff was great. ADA room was AOK. Beds very comfortable. Staff recommend local diner " Newton Diner". Full of gray and whit haired people. totally inexpensive. !0 ounce top sirloin steak, cut with a fork. $10

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    10
    17
    14
    19
See reviews for
18
19
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

I stayed here after driving all night , while the outside dsnt look nice. Once inside the room I was surprised, very accommodating and I slept great. Breakfast was free and it was good. The pool was great I was the only in it but it was peaceful

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isabel2597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

Outside and common areas are worn down. No elevator. Outer entry doors in the back don't lock and the one at the far end of the building is inaccessible from the outside. The hallway at the end of the second floor had old broken air conditioners and refrigerators stacked up against the wall.

The room was stale and musty smelling. Four lamps in the room, two didn't have light bulbs in them, three were unplugged. The desk chair was broken. Toilet flushed once, then the handle wouldn't engage.I refused to lift the lid or call the front desk at 11:00 pm. I left the surprise for the maintenance department (if they have one).

Room Tip: Find a room at another hotel. There are three other hotels nearby. Altoona is 20 minutes away, Des M...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TAV1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newton hotels

San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

I thought this was going to be a horrible hotel after I read the reviews. It wasn't nearly as bad as the reviewers said it was. Granted, the outside looks pretty bad, as well as the hallways in the common areas. But once you get into your room you will be pleasantly surprised. The rooms are large and very clean and beds are comfortable. The free breakfast was very good as well. I would recommend this place if you are on a budget and need a place to crash for the night.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank on2glory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

we stayed here on our way to denver .. rooms were very nice and clean .. smells fresh friendly staff and it was one the best hotel we stayed on our trip .. breakfast was more then we expected they had nice indoor pool we will stay here again on our way back home

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mike a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCMO
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

I had a feeling when I drove in that the "quality" of this place was going to be questionable, but I had driven a long way that day, and I didn't have the energy to try to find another hotel closer to Des Moines. Sure enough... this hotel could use some serious renovation. The exterior of the hotel was grubby, the carpet was garish, and the room I was given was not that great. (I didn't risk taking my shoes off in my room...)

The room just felt so tired... The bathroom smelled faintly of pee when I first walked in, and a repair made to the shower had a faint ring of mold around it. Everything was mostly clean, but not extremely clean, and even a fresh coat of paint would do wonders here. I did feel ok about sleeping in the bed -- the sheets were clean and the bed was made up well.

I didn't check out the pool or much of anything else. One exterior door to the hotel hallway would open with OR without a key card, and another door didn't work at all (I learned after parking near it, only to discover I'd have to walk up to the other door anyway). Breakfast in the morning was so-so: the waffle iron is a nice, but the breakfast could use some other options. Seriously, who eats that cereal? I bet most of it is years and years old.

Check-in and check-out was fast. No elevator.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ere76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013 via mobile

This was by far the worst place I have ever stayed at!!! I was on a road trip so I stopped forthe night. When I checked in around 11 there was one girl who was grunting, doubled over, scratching herself and pacing the room. That made me super anxious! Then when we walked down to our room the halls reeked of smoke and mold. When we got in our room the smell was better. Our pillows were maybe a foot long and our comforter had a cigarette burn in it. Then next morning I got up and left right away and the one girl who was itching was just passed out in the middle of the lobby.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurend419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Newton
Days Inn Newton
#3 of 8 in Newton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
4.1 mi away
Boulders Inn & Suites Newton
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Holiday Manor Newton Iowa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Newton
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Newton
18.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Grinnell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Newton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Newton

Property: Quality Inn Newton
Address: 1700 West 19th Street South, Interstate 80 and Highway 14, Newton, IA 50208
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Newton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Newton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Newton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Choice Hotels so you can book your Quality Inn Newton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newton Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing