We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Saved from the rain!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vintage Block Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Vintage Block Inn & Suites
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Okoboji
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, Nebraska, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Saved from the rain!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

We can't thank Abe's of Okoboji Hotel & Suites, which by the way will be Vintage Block Inn & Suites later this week.

Misty and Stephanie saved the day. We were staying in a campground north of this wonderful place when the thunderstorms and winds came crashing down and blowing our tents all over. We immediately started calling hotels and looking at prices. We were flabbergasted at some of the pricing. We had 7 of us that were needing to get dry and a good night sleep, plus already budgeted out on our money for the camping trip we needed something reasonable. Misty came to the rescue. She told us they had some rooms they were renovating and wouldn't normally rent due to what she called "yucky carpet" and window air.

We packed our wet tents and belongings and headed up the road. Misty and Stephanie greeted us with smiling faces and great conversation. They were awesome! Misty wanted to know if we wanted to check out the rooms before booking. We took the key and down the parking lot we went. While walking down to the room we were really hoping it would stop raining because in the courtyard they had an outdoor pool, fire pit, nice lawn chairs and a horse shoe pit, and lights in the trees. They also had four seater bicycles we could use if we wanted to ride around the area. We thought if it would stop raining enough we could at least get a good campfire in.

We opened the room and much to our surprise she had given us a key to a suite. Stepping inside there was a "bed-couch" with a headboard made out of reused dock wood, a nice sized kitchenette, with cupboards, coffee maker, and fridge. Off to the left was a newly remodeled bathroom with gorgeous counter-top and new tile in the tub. We step down to the bedroom and there we saw heaven, three queen size beds with gorgeous dockboard headboards, marvelous bedding, off to the side was a nice closet and mini makeup area with another new countertop and a sink with a mirror. The carpets were a little "yucky", but all the other amenities totally made up for it and we didn't care. We all looked at each other and said "YES". 5 of us shared this room and another couple took another remodeled room with "yucky carpet" which had the same amenities, but without the kitchenette.

We went back down to talk to Misty and book our room. We talked to her for a bit and she told us how her and another person had just purchase Abe's and by the end of the week the new name will be VINTAGE BLOCK INN & SUITES.
She was a doll and gave us good deal for one night and in the predicament we were in we appreciated it so much.We headed back to our rooms

We were originally in town for a family reunion. We unpacked our bags and headed out to meet other family members for dinner. It was so nice to know that we wouldn't be sleeping in the thunderstorms that night and worrying about tents falling on top of us.

We all came back to the hotel hopeing the rain might end to start a campfire, but the rain gods were against us. We did sit out side our rooms in nice deck chairs and talked for a bit before heading to bed.

After a wonderful night sleep and well rested, we all took showers with hot water and then walked down for the continental breakfast of waffles (two kinds-strawberry and plain) cereal, coffee, tea, toast, doughnuts, bagels, muffins. The breakfast area was part of their front counter with wonderful decor, nice tables and chairs to sit at and have a family breakfast before packing up and heading home.

We can't thank Vintage Block Inn & Suites for the hospitality and when we venture back to Okoboji again we will be sure to stay here. (hopefully with better weather)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rzmoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    28
    10
    6
    4
See reviews for
84
28
2
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ankeny
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

The new owners have put some TLC into this cozy hotel and are extremely friendly. The rooms were the cleanest I have ever stayed in! From the free fire pit and wood usage to the free 4 star breakfast the next morning, our whole family enjoyed their stay immensely. Thank you!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthewwellendorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rapid City, South Dakota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Let me first say the owner is simply amazing and super friendly. She is definitely in the right business. The room was clean with a rustic feel and the bed super comfy. The fire pits were such a nice bonus, wood provided. Location is great, easy to find. They do take customer service very seriously, my shower head had keeled off and they replaced it immediately. This was my first trip to Okoboji and I would definitely go again and this will be the first place I book.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

This place has gone from good to AMAZING this summer. We stayed last summer and it was OK. We just got back from a 4 night stay and will be back in August. The NEW OWNERS are very customer service oriented! Loved meeting Misty and her staff! Great hotel and will see you all in August! Glad that moose statue is gone ;)

Room Tip: This place is awesome! LOVED our room! 3 queens, bunk beds, and a daybed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Summerfun0514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

The helpfulness of the staff was amazing, and they were always happy to help with any problems I had. The beds in the room were quite comfortable. I had absolutely no problems, and from what I could tell all others who were staying there at the time felt the same. Overall the people who work here are some of the nicest, most helpful people you'll ever find, and the service they offer proves it. If you have a problem and let someone know, you can bet that Misty will take care of it! No matter what reason you have to be in Okoboji, you can bet that Abe's of Okoboji Hotel & Suites is the place to stay!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HNinja13 .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ames, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Owner upgraded our room for free! Some of the friendliest staff around very cool decor. Our room was very clean and close to the lake/bar area. Very affordable as well, has an outside pool and fire pit area perfect for a summer trip

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gostate00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

Very laid back and relaxed atmosphere! Beds were fantastic and the staff was as well! Would definitely come back and stay! Great price and great location! Walking distance to the sports bar for food and not too far from the ever famous Arnold's Park! This place is awesome for sure!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clarsen08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Okoboji
0.5 mi away
Okoboji Commons Hotel
Okoboji Commons Hotel
#2 of 6 in Okoboji
5.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
0.8 mi away
Inn at Okoboji
Inn at Okoboji
#6 of 6 in Okoboji
3.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
2.2 mi away
Boulders Inn & Suites
Boulders Inn & Suites
#1 of 2 in Milford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Ramada Spirit Lake/Okoboji
Ramada Spirit Lake/Okoboji
#1 of 5 in Spirit Lake
3.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.6 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Okoboji
0.5 mi away
Arrowwood Resort and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vintage Block Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vintage Block Inn & Suites

Property: Vintage Block Inn & Suites
Address: 1107 Sanborn Avenue, Okoboji, IA 51355 (Formerly Abe's of Okoboji)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Okoboji
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Okoboji
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Vintage Block Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We would be delighted to welcome you to Vintage Block Inn & Suites, an Uncommon Discovery full of Hip Vintage Style and Vibe. We are located a half block from the East Lake boat access and 3 blocks from the bridge that separates our beautiful lakes! We offer a unique stay with a warm breakfast, great customer service, outdoor swimming pool, fire pits, grills and rooms that sleep up to 9 people! Beautiful Luxury Pop Rocks Suite that will surpass any expectations! 34 Rooms with kitchenettes and all rooms have a refrigerator and microwave! Book at the hippest place in Okoboji! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Vintage Block Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing