We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of a Kind”
Review of Inn at Okoboji

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn at Okoboji
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Okoboji
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Our family stayed here for 4 nights for a little "End of School Year" vacation. We had a pool side suite. The two rooms were nice as the kids had their own sleeping area. We didn't know what to expect as there are good and bad reviews on the net. We were pleasantly surprised. Friendly staff, indoor and outdoor pool, beautiful lake view and walking path. Some things are dated, but I found that kinda cool. When we had any issue the staff dealt with it in a timely manner. One area of improvement would be their hot tub area. Kinda dark and dungy. I would stay again in a heartbeat though.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renae J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
twileygm, General Manager at Inn at Okoboji, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you for unwinding at The Inn at Okoboji for your end of school year vacation! Your comments are appreciated and thank you for taking the time to write your online review. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

I absolutely LOVED the Inn at Okoboji. Wonderful guest service, great view of the lake, extremely peaceful & quiet. Absolutely wonderful. The Inn had character, unlike most hotels. I will definitely be back to visit!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anni R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
twileygm, General Manager at Inn at Okoboji, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to complete an online review! We are very happy you enjoyed your stay and welcome you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Our company took eighty plus people to the Inn in August. It had been quite a few years since our last visit to the Inn. The Inn is definitely a family destination in the Okoboji area and many of the rooms are built with that in mind.
From a facility standpoint, nothing had changed since our last visit. The bathrooms are still small and lack ventilation fans so everything fogs up after the shower. The mattress had seen some better days and was due for a change out.
The location is perfect with great views of the West Lake from many of the rooms.
Our group had a banquet in the meeting space across the street and everything went off without a hitch. The service was good and so was the food. We even had the chef check on one of the special meals an attendee had ordered.
For the most part, our trip was a success and I think we would stay here on our next trip to the area. We had a few folks who had to wait for their rooms to be ready and some folks thought the bar should stay open later but those are pretty minor.

Room Tip: The newer rooms are in the annex to the West but it's a little out of the way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cancunkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheinnGM1, General Manager at Inn at Okoboji, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review for The Inn! We sincerely appreciate that you brought your important event to our hotel. Feedback like yours is a valuable tool for us in making improvements and changes for our guests. We appreciate your input and will use it to better our facility and services for the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

My husband and I stayed here during my cousin's wedding and while the rooms are basic, the bed was comfortable and the room clean. But as for a lovely place to gather with friends and family it was perfect. The ceremony was outside under the trees and the reception hall in the upstairs of the main building was lovely. Would highly recommend so a family-gathering destination.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cyd C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheinnGM1, General Manager at Inn at Okoboji, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Cyd C.,

Thank you very much for your nice review on Trip Advisor! We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your comments. We are a wedding destination and work hard to make sure every guest has a great experience at The Inn!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

The Inn at Okoboji is delightful! It's an old time resort located right on the lake. It's not fancy, so if you are expecting 5 Star luxury, go elsewhere. However, if you want a vacation spot that is family friendly, with a gracious staff, 2 pools, a lake and a lot more; then this place is for you. My husband, daughter and I spent 2 weeks at the Inn recently. He enjoyed the golf, my daughter fished off the pier every day...(all day) and I sunbathed and read. Very relaxing. Very peaceful. The food in the restaurant was excellent, although I wasn't a fan of the "all you can eat fish fry" on Friday evening. The restaurant staff seemed overwhelmed that particular night. Staying for 2 weeks, we got to know the cleaning staff who were great and thorough. The office staff were always helpful and attentive to our needs. Laurie in the sales office is the best! We met many vacationers who were Inn "regulars"... returning year after year. We made some wonderful new friends and we hope to see them next summer. My only negative comment, being from deep in the heart of Texas, was that the lake and the pool were freezing for July. Of course, we are used to 110 degree temperature, so when a heat advisory was issued at 88 degrees in Okoboji, we giggled. All in all, this is a great place for a family or, perhaps, for someone who just needs some peace and quiet. There's something for everyone at The Inn at Okoboji.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ValeGall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheinnGM1, General Manager at Inn at Okoboji, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

I want to first thank you for staying at The Inn at Okoboji! We greatly appreciate your business and the opportunity to serve you and your family for two weeks. You feedback will be shared with our staff and the encouragement will be appreciated by them as well! Looking forward to seeing you again at The Inn!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

I've been going to Okoboji for 27+ years and have never had a negative thing to say about Okoboji...it's our home away from home. I felt that way about The Inn for eight years, well, until this year. My husband and I spent 2 years planning our wedding with the most incredible staff at The Inn. Our wedding weekend went on without a hitch accommodating all 350+ guests, thanks to The Inn. My husband and I were so in love with our experience working with The Inn that we continued to go back each year on our anniversary. In fact, in 2008 we were featured in The Inn's annual catalog. Each year we went back we were greeted by all the staff who went out of their way to make our stay even better than the previous year. For seven years I recommended anyone and everyone to not only visit Okoboji but to stay at The Inn. Unfortunately with the rest of the world, The Inn took a huge hit in the economy. They also took a huge hit in their customer service. Being that our family cabin is down the street we visit the restaurant and pub several times a summer. We have heard cackle amongst the neighbors complaining about their customer service but being biased towards The Inn we never thought twice about it. Our first encounter happened in early June when I went to the pub to order a drink and the bar manager put his hand out and told me to ''hold on'' so he could proceed to yell at his waitstaff infront of customers. The second occurrence happened mid July when the security guard grabbed me with no warning...this was so out of line and unacceptable that the bartender followed us out to apologize. I left a message that weekend with the General Manager, Bar Manager, and Banquet Manager. My message was to simply explain the situation so authority could have a conversation with the security guard about proper etiquette on the job. All I was expecting was to have a brief conversation with management so the security guard on duty could improve his performance. I'm still waiting to hear back from anyone. The third encounter happened last weekend when I tried to talk with the Bar Manager about the security guard situation, again all I was looking for was reassurance that the situation was dealt with. The Bar Manager proceeded to tell me that, ''he doesn't care what I have to say and he wasn't going to listen to me''. He became so escalated that the front desk manager had to ask him to stop yelling at me infront of guests. This time it was the front desk manager who wrote up a complaint and placed it on the GM's desk. I'm still waiting for that phone call as well. I have never left a bad comment regarding anywhere I have ever stayed at, eaten at, etc. but I feel so strongly in the customer service, or lack of, that I had to reach out to anyone considering staying here. If there was a rewards program for The Inn, we would be at the Platinum level which is why I'm so disturbed by my experience there this year. In talking with other staff, it seems as though they are disgusted by how things are being operated as well. It is very obvious that the GM does not care about maintaining the history and reputation of The Inn....a place where so many have claimed their family vacation spot for decades. I strongly advise Okoboji visitors to stay elsewhere. And for Okoboji residents, don't waste your time or money at the restaurant and bar. Chances are you will be greeted by a rude and incompetent manager who treats his staff and customers about as terrible as it gets. My hope is that The Inn can turn it aroud before it's too late as I will be the first person to continue my loyalty to this resort. Until then I welcome anyone in management at The Inn to contact me....but I won't hold my breath.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank millertimeMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheinnGM1, Manager at Inn at Okoboji, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

When you left me a voice mail your number was not audible so when I tried to return the call I did not have the correct number. I also want to tell you I did not receive any type of written complaint as you noted from the front desk clerk. I am sorry we fell short of your expectations and you encountered the issues you did. I have used your comments to further train our staff regarding customer service matters. We strive to be a family tradition in Okoboji and hope you will come to see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Our son and his wife's wedding rehearsal dinner and wedding reception was held at The Inn. A lot of our family and friends stayed there also for the weekend. All the staff was so helpful and friendly. Anything we asked for they got right away for us. The rooms were clean with new beds. We spent most of our time outdoors enjoying the grounds, lake, pool, etc. The wedding reception was wonderful from the food, staff, accommodations to just everything. It couldn't of been any nicer. So many guests commented how nice everything was. Lori and Laura Ashley was so good to work with to make sure everything was like we wanted it for the rehearsal dinner. We so enjoyed the whole weekend!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheinnGM1, General Manager at Inn at Okoboji, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Thank you for your nice and encouraging feedback about The Inn at Okoboji! We really appreciate your comments and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Okoboji
1.1 mi away
Okoboji Commons Hotel
Okoboji Commons Hotel
#3 of 6 in Okoboji
46 reviews
2.5 mi away
Boulders Inn & Suites
Boulders Inn & Suites
#1 of 2 in Milford
111 reviews
1 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Okoboji
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Arrowwood Resort and Conference Center
0.9 mi away
Vintage Block Inn & Suites
1.9 mi away
Bridges Bay Resort
Bridges Bay Resort
#1 of 4 in Arnolds Park
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Okoboji? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Okoboji

Address: 3301 Lake Shore Dr, PO. Box 559, Okoboji, IA 51355-2580
Region: United States > Iowa > Okoboji
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Okoboji
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Okoboji 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditions begin where memories are made! The Inn at Okoboji combines charm and an incredible array of amenities along with surprising affordability. The Inn is a complete Lakefront Resort Destination offering 155 guest rooms, and a relaxing fun-filled vacation every member of the family will enjoy. We are proud to offer a wide variety of business, wedding or group packages for your special event! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Ebookers so you can book your Inn at Okoboji reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Okoboji Hotel Okoboji

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing