We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”
Review of Bluff View Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pacific Junction
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bluff View Motel
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I stayed here for work, and I enjoyed it very much! It's very quiet and secluded.The couple that owns it were very nice and accommodating, and you can't beat the price! If I ever have to be in Iowa again (hope not!) I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PB71602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (23)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 23 of 23 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2013

This motel is definately a on the road construction worker kind of hotel. It was very musty smelling. We had requested and were told when we made reservations it would be a non-smoking room but we were put in a smoking room. There were burn holes in the comforter and the floor was dirty and had stains all over it. This place really needs to be updated. The tv was very old and the picture was warped. The bathroom was not very clean and the towels were also musty smelling. I do not believe we would have stayed had it not been for the fact we would only be in the room for overnight for 8 hours. There was no breakfast or coffee that we could find offered.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeann H, Owner at Bluff View Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your opinion of your stay. We have definitely taken a beating by several long-term construction guests. We appreciate their business, as well as yours, and have plans to remodel as soon as the construction on Hwy 34 (right beside our motel) is finished next year. Looking at our records, it shows you were in a non-smoking room. My apologies for your bedspread having burn holes. I will check all rooms today and ammend that immediately. We wash our bedspreads regularly and apparently they aren't being checked before being put back on. The one you had should have been put back in a smoking room. We hope you will give us another try next year after our remodel. We will have your coffee waiting for you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Yes, it is quiet. It is isolated from everything around it.
Cleanliness? The dust Bunny's around the edge of the carpet might argue that. Or the sticky furniture. Or, maybe the dead cockroach on the torn linolium bathroom floor.
The WiFi in the first room from the lobby did not work. There were cigarette burns completely through the bedspread in this non-smoking room. The AC unit is an old residential grade window unit plugged into the wall in the room. And I didn't notice the rat bait outside the office door till we were leaving.
Comfortable bed? Only if you like old worn out box springs.
The only thing I liked was seeing it in my rear mirror.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WilliamBailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2012

We stay here several times a year, to see our son at the State School mainly, and like the convenience of being right at the interstate. It's amazing how quiet it is; you can't even hear the interstate traffic. Best rate in the area. And everything you need is only 5 minutes away in Glewnwood, such as groceries, restaurants, shops, etc.

Room Tip: The back side rooms don't let sunlight in in the AM if you're wanting to sleep in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M R C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

This motel is very old. It has no coffee in the morning or a continental breakfast. Management is very rude. The wireless internet does not work at the far end of the motel if you get a smoking room. The motel only has smoking rooms at the far end. Stay somewhere else. There are much better motels in the surrounding areas.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Donald C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2011

This is a nice clean family Motel. The Cafe across the drive is very good home cooked food. The waitress told us she has waitressed at Bluff View Cafe for 22 years. She started the day they opened and she is great. Really good food.

Room Tip: Rates are cheap. $47. one person. $55. for 2 people. $60. for a room with king bed and recliner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shirley r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Bluff View Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluff View Motel

Address: 57876 190th St, Pacific Junction, IA 51561-4104
Region: United States > Iowa > Pacific Junction
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pacific Junction
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bluff View Motel is a locally owned, family run Motel and has been since 1996. We are a clean, quiet, and safe Motel with 29 rooms. We offer free wi-fi from our lobby, have a fax machine available, guest laundry, vending and ice machines. We welcome the opportunity to serve you. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing