We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful room & scenery... but downhill from there!!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Port on Lake Panorama

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Panora
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Port on Lake Panorama
Ranked #1 of 1 Panora B&B and Inns
Gladbrook, Iowa, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful room & scenery... but downhill from there!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

The room was nice & the view exceptional but everything else was poor! The 1 & only ice machine was broke. The connected restaurant wasn't open for breakfast & there was no complimentary breakfast w/your room at $150 per night! Not even lobby coffee & our machine didn't work in our room so had to go to Casey's for that. They offer pontoon rides(for a price) but were told it was end of season(Aug.10th?) so they discounted $25 off each nite of our stay. There was no one at the desk except when we checked in & around noon the next day but what about since it was a full house & if there was an emergency? At $120 & $150 per night I think they could have afforded some one to be on hand! The hot tub was unusuable & the pool not so clean. The restaurant was a bit pricy for the buffet but the food was good. We were so disgusted w/ the overall experience that we will never stay there again & wouldn't recommend it to our least favorite people!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dot S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    5
    3
    3
    7
See reviews for
4
2
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cherokee, Iowa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

3 couples went cycling on the RRVT multi-use trail. We chose this inn based on its proximity to the trail and the nice location near the lake. We were not disappointed even though we were a little apprehensive from the reviews. The rooms were clean and had large bathrooms. 2 had fireplaces. Nice gathering room overlooking the lake. Definitely will stay here again.

We at supper in the restaurant around 9 pm. Some of us ate the buffet which was OK. That late in the night, the menu may have been better as the food would be fresher. Those ordering off the menu loved their meals. We ate breakfast buffet there Sunday and it was very good.

Overall, we were all very happy with the experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AlanJ1112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Clinton OH
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

This is a small inn located in a quiet town on a quiet lake. We stayed here for 3 nights and had a room with two queen beds with a fireplace and a view of the lake. The room was good size and the bathroom was large. We had limited housekeeping one of the days meaning our bed was made - that was it. ....no housekeeping the others.
There is a pool and a hot tub - both ok - not overly clean.

The lobby is staffed only from 9-5. Dropping off your keys and checking out is on the honor system with a sign out sheet on the desk

We ate at the restaurant attached to the inn. The meals were very good. I had a steak cooked perfectly.

The sunset over the lake was beautiful.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Born_in_OH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panora, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

I'm moving to Panora from California, purchasing a home on Lake Panorama and needed a place to stay for a month or so. The Lakeside Inn is directley on the water, great veiw so I thought it was a perfect place, hotel gave me a discount for an extended stay.

I checked in, I told the hotel mgr I would need to stay for 2-3 weeks. I stayed 10 days and had 2 days left on my 1st wave of reservations. I arrived at the desk to inform the hotel I needed to extend my stay for 20 more days, I was told I had to check out that day. A cocky young man said they were double booked and I had to leave for two nights then I could come back. I told the ill-manured young man that was not my problem, he insisted I had to leave and the mgr arrived and agreed with his employee.

After arguing several times that day in person and on the phone, I got no-where, they wouldn't give an inch. Now, to put the icing on the cake, another very nice and helpful desk clerk at the hotel told me as I was checking out that she had called the other party in the double booking fiasco and told them the situation, the other party said "NO PROBLEM" they would go to the Conference center to stay and I could keep my room.

I will never go back, I suggest if you choose to ignore these 3 or 4 bad reviews and stay at the Lakeside Inn away, make sure your reservations are written in stone or you may have to hit the pavement like I did. Mgr did offer to get me another room and pay for it, I told him that was not the issue. They kicked out a customer that would have paid for 30 days or more to allow another guest to stay two nights and I was there first. A guest (ME) had to pay the price because of hotel mismanagement by the manager. Very poor service!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Deereman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan K, Vice President at The Port on Lake Panorama, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
I was personally involved from the beginning with this guest. All I can say is I'm not surprised that this guest has chosen to write a negative review, however, please allow me to correct some of the areas of misinformation and then I will allow you, the prospective guest, to decide if I made the correct decision.

First, it's important to know that our hotel only has 22 rooms/suites. Upon this guest's arrival he did NOT have a reservation but did tell me he wanted to check in and wanted to inquire about a possible discount due to the fact that he wanted to stay for an undetermined extended period of time; 2 - 3 weeks maybe up to a month. However, before he checked in, I did explain to the guest that I would NOT be able to accommodate an uninterrupted stay that we had another client who had the hotel completely booked on two different occasions during the time he wished to stay with us. I was however willing to provide him a discount for the time we could accommodate him. The guest told me he would stay and perhaps with some luck someone would cancel and he could then stay without having to leave for those two occasions. I told him if anything became available we would make sure he would get the first option in order to not inconvenience him while staying with us. Unfortunately, that never became an option.

After 10 days with us he inquired as to whether any rooms had become available and he was told by the front desk that none were available. He then asked to speak with me again. Upon meeting with this guest a second time he explained to me that he had no interest in leaving and then actually suggested I call the incoming client, who was due to arrive in two days, and tell them we made a mistake and double booked a room and to suggest they make other arrangements so he would not have to leave. I apologized and explained I would not be able to do that. He then became upset and told me I was stupid and didn’t know how to run a business; that I was throwing out a customer willing to spend more than $2,500 with us. I reminded him that I had explained to him before he checked in that he would have to check out while staying with us due to being sold out on two different occasions. In an attempt to try and satisfy this guest and hoping that he would return to stay with us after two days away (there was no guarantee he would actually return to stay with us), I did offer to pay for his room at the nearby Conference Center Hotel for the two nights he would have to be gone. He responded that if he had to check out that he would not be back. (At no time was I or any of my employees rude to this guest about the situation.)

In fact, not wanting to lose this customer, I was able to contact another hotel property we own and secure a room for this guest for his requested additional time frame, never having to change rooms and I was even able to offer the room to this guest at 50% off the normal rate (we own that hotel also). He refused and said he was either staying here or he was leaving and never coming back. I again apologized and explained I did not have any other options for him and I that I would NOT eject a guest who had reservations with us simply because he didn't want to leave.

In addition, if you read his last paragraph again you can see he clearly admits he is the reason there ever became a problem. Why? Simply because he changed his mind and decided he was unwilling to leave for a couple of days and felt the amount of money he wanted to spend gave him the right to inconvenience another customer. And I quote, "They kicked out a customer that would have paid for 30 days or more to allow another guest to stay two nights and I was there first."
That type of reasoning doesn’t even make sense. We didn’t decide to “allow” some random guest to check in and stay with us for two nights just so we could kick him out and not let him stay for 30 days. In fact, this customer even stated, “…make sure your reservations are written in stone or you may have to hit the pavement like I did.” Actually, the customer arriving DID have it in stone; they had a reservation and that is why he had to leave. Clearly, it wasn’t about who was here first but about who actually had the reservation.
I want all our prospective guests to know that if you make reservations with us we will NEVER eject you from your room or cancel your reservation simply because another guest decides they want to stay longer regardless of the amount of money they will spend or any other reason.
Unfortunately, this guest did leave and was upset but not due to anything caused by us. I feel I went above and beyond to try and help this guest. We never double booked any rooms and I also want to clarify our client NEVER agreed to put one of their incoming guests up at the Conference Center Hotel nor did any of our front desk attendants ever tell him they would do such a thing because we never asked them to. This was his problem, not theirs. He was aware of the circumstances when he checked in and I was simply trying to do what I could to help him. I was not obligated in any way to pay for his room at another hotel or to find another room for him at another hotel property we own and then deeply discount it. However, as a business owner, I knew he was going to be spending a great deal money and I wanted the opportunity to at least try and earn his business. I did however draw the line at trying to earn his business by NOT being willing to lie to or inconvenience another guest to accomplish it !!
As I've mentioned in other responses below, as of May 2011 this hotel is under NEW management and I am the vice president that handles all day to day operations here. I run a professional operation, we do everything we can to make sure our guest's experience is an exceptional one and I do not tolerate lazy or rude employees; they are asked to leave. If you have any questions or concerns, please don't hesitate to contact us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2011

I have stayed at a lot of hotels in my days and never stayed at a place like this... First off there is no one there at night???!!! What if there is a fire or emergency?? What if you get locked out??? Then my room had long hairs all over the bathroom floor and dead bugs all along the a/c unit.. My bed sheets were stained bad and there were coffee rings on the end table..I wanted to complain but there was no one at the front desk until 9am...won't stay here again

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Timdog2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan K, Vice President at The Port on Lake Panorama, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
As of May 2011 this property is under new management and the entire staff has been replaced. It is deeply concerning to read about this guest's experience and that is why the ownership and new management team has taken aggressive action to correct what you are reading here. All rooms have been deep cleaned from top to bottom, all sheets and towels have been replaced and a new housekeeping staff has been hired and trained to not only meet our corporate expectations but the expectations of our guests. Please feel free to contact us with any questions or concerns you may have as this type of experience by a guest is not acceptable to the owner or new management team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2010

I stayed at this Inn (not a B&B) for 3 different weeks on business. There is no hotel staff on duty after 5 PM. If you need something you have to contact the manager of the connecting restaurant. Out of my 1st 2 weeks the room was only made up 50% of the time, no amenities were ever replenished and it was never cleaned during the 2 week stay.

On arrival the third week the room literally had feces in the toilet, mold on the shower curtain, and bugs on the floor. All management could offer was a different room which was not much better. If there were different accommodations closer I would have taken them, but there were none.

I do not recommend the Inn no matter how nice it looks.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RandyB4458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan K, Vice President at The Port on Lake Panorama, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Please allow me to share again that as of May 2011 this property is under new management and the entire staff has been replaced. This type of experience by a guest is why the ownership and new management team has taken aggressive action to correct what you are reading here. All rooms have been deep cleaned from top to bottom, all sheets and towels have been replaced and a new housekeeping staff has been hired and trained to not only meet our corporate expectations but the expectations of our guests. Please feel free to contact us with any questions or concerns you may have as this type of experience by a guest is not acceptable to the owner or new management team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Topeka, Kansas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2010

We checked in late, at 10pm and found that the restaurant had just closed. We had not eaten dinner and they accomodated us by letting us order off the menu. The appetizers we ordered were ok, not great, not bad. Very nice staff and the rooms are clean and roomy. A fireplace in every room, accompanied by a balcony in every room, overlooking the lake is a wonderful way to wind down on evening. The only complaint that I had was that the ice machine was not working, but the restaurant gave me some ice, so it worked out fine. It was too cold for the pool to be opened yet, but for the money, I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bondedinoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Panora
16.1 mi away
Hotel Pattee
Hotel Pattee
#1 of 2 in Perry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices

Been to The Port on Lake Panorama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Port on Lake Panorama

Property: The Port on Lake Panorama
Address: 5405 Chimra Rd, Panora, IA 50216-8602 (Formerly Lakeside Inn)
Region: United States > Iowa > Panora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Panora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upscale yet casual accommodations surround you upon arrival to The Port on Lake Panorama, our friendly staff welcome you. You will feel at home while relaxing in any of our casual seating areas all overlooking the lake. The Port on Lake Panorama prides itself on providing guests with impeccable service and luxurious lodging.Each of our 22 suite-concept rooms at the Inn is appointed with beauty and luxury. Every room has its own private balcony overlooking the lake and most rooms have a fireplace and a jetted hot tub, to name just a few of the world-class touches every guest experiences. In addition you can expect amenities such as cable television, free wireless internet, full size iron and ironing board, coffee maker and coffee, refrigerator, microwave, radio/alarm clock, soft terrycloth robes and a hair dryer.In addition to our hotel accommodations, we have an on-site, award-winning restaurant for a wonderful dining experience, wine seminars, meeting rooms and a knowledgeable staff for any need.With access to both the Lake Panorama National 18-hole Championship Golf Course and the Lake Panorama 9-hole Par 3 Golf Course, our guests can enjoy either a challenging or leisurely round of golf just minutes from our resort. Our staff can arrange your tee-times along with any number of local activities for all members of the family such as access to the Guthrie County Historical Village, Guthrie Center Aquatic Center, canoeing the Raccoon River or passes for the Raccoon River Valley Bike Trail.Whether you're looking for privacy and relaxation, entertainment and local activities, a murder mystery weekend get-away, a golf package with friends or family or culinary excellence we have something for you.Reserve your vacation today! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing