We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I've had better”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Port Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 10 Restaurants in Panora
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Waitstaff
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
104 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“I've had better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2014 via mobile

Went in for dinner on Labor Day. A few folks were sitting outside, but inside was almost deserted. We sat inside. It took a few minutes for the bartender and one of the waitresses to even look up at us when we walked in. Finally got seated. Waitress took a few more minutes to come take our orders. My wife ordered chicken and mashed potatoes along with a side salad. She said the salad was a little limp, chicken may have been a bit overcooked but she liked the BBQ sauce on it, and the potatoes were average. I had the fried cod sandwich with fries. The cod was a large piece but overcooked to the point of being VERY crunchy. The fries were good. The waitress was very cheerful and friendly, despite being a bit slow. Prices were a little high, considering the food portions and quality. To be brief, neither my wife nor I are eager to return.

Visited September 2014
Helpful?
Thank RBWCSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    3
    5
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
The Dalles, Oregon
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Not worth a Visit”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

There was a new limited menu that didn't have a lot of choices. My salad was wilted and had clearly been sitting out. The Steak Sandwich I ordered was just a tough piece of sirloin with a side of Texas Toast--there wasn't even a garnish on the plate. Any short order cook could do better.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lees Summit
Level Contributor
245 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Thought it would be nice, romantic; was not so much”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We visited the Port while on a baby moon. We thought it would be romantic to overlook the lake and have a nice meal.

Upon arriving we were quickly seated (after walking past a derelict salad bar). We had a nice view but the basketball game was on all around and the volume was loud. We had a look at the menu, gave each other a sideways look, and headed for the door.

The view is nice but the ambiance left much to be desired.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
618 reviews
534 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Great Location, Good Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

I went on a weeknight during the offseason. The location is excellent--a beautiful spot on the lake. The restaurant is big and bright, with a broad menu. The seafood was so-so, but the steaks excellent. The salad bar was not open due to off season timing, but I understand it is excellent. Drink and wine prices were fair, food a little high. Service was friendly. Pretty good choice.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jays911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
114 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good food -outstanding view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

We had an early evening dinner so we could enjoy the sunset . The view is spectacular and the service was very good. We both had the steak entre and enjoyed it very much. This is definitely the best restaurant in this rural area .

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JeanP777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Port Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Port Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing