We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Continental experience in rural IOWA”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Royal Amsterdam Hotel
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Pella
Certificate of Excellence
Midwest City, Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Continental experience in rural IOWA”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed here as part of a group for the Tulip Time Festival and we were not disappointed. The hotel is very elegant, the bed and the pillows were the most comfortable I've experienced anywhere, and the location can't be beat. It has a typical European continental breakfast, no hot foods, but it was elegant and tasty. The town of Pella is a European experience right here at home.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reblhrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    35
    5
    2
    6
See reviews for
53
47
9
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This hotel is very comfortable for the business traveler. It has a Dutch theme and reminds me of staying at a Bed and Breakfast. It has comfortable new beds and all the linens have been updated and new. It also has fast internet which is a huge plus for the regular business traveler. I like the proximity to the downtown area and it's easy to walk to the many restaurants. There is also a great restaurant and bar located in the hotel, so when it's cold out you don't have to go outside. I would highly recommend this hotel for all travelers.

Room Tip: Rooms on the west side are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Sherrie and the folks at the Royal Amsterdam in Pella, Iowa are wonderful. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, the continental breakfast is top notch with plenty of choices, the restaurant is good, and the atmosphere most welcoming. I go to Pella on business often, and staying at the Royal Amsterdam is the next best thing to being home! The location cinches it, being right down town in walking distance to most everything.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BTofNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

I drive through Pella about 4 time a year and have typically stayed at one of the chains by the highway. This time I drive in to town and stayed at the Royal Amsterdam Hotel. The hotel is about one block off the square and has indoor parking. The room was very large with an additional sitting area. The bed was very comfortable and the room nicely appointed. The staff was friendly. They had old fashioned keys for the rooms. The hotel was very quiet (granted there were only about 6 rooms occupied). They have a good restaurant/bar as well. The whole experience was nice. I will definitely stay there again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank tostrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noble, Oklahoma
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 17 December 2013

As soon as I came into the hotel I was greeted with smiles and made to feel at home after a very long day of traveling. They were the sweetest, most helpful staff I have seen through my years of travels. Anytime I called down asking for anything needed, they supplied it quickly and with smiles.

The rooms were quaint, comfortable and very spacious. They have underground parking making it convenient to get to and they are within walking distance to many cafes, shops and restaurants. It is a great place to stay to get the true feeling of a wonderful Dutch town. I recommend this place for anyone!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaraSymes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 347 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

This is a nice, clean hotel in downtown Pella. It is not a spectacular hotel but it is fine. The price I paid was reasonable and my stay was fine. There is no business center in the hotel. The rooms, while clean, are plain. The bed was small and the furniture was tired. I could hear the woman cough all night in the room next to me and the person in the room above me was walking around much of the night. There is no reason that I would not stay here again, though I would suggest it isn't any better than a middle of the road chain hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MItravelerforbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
independence, MN
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

With two students at Central College in Pella, Iowa, the Royal Amsterdam is our home away from home. We look forward to our stay almost as much as the visit with our kids! The staff is awesome, the rooms are always clean, ready when we arrive, and the desk is staffed 24 hours a day. The bar and restaurant are great, and they treat you like family when you are there. We recommend the Royal Amsterdam to all our family and friends that visit Pella, and they all love staying there as much as we do! If you visit Pella, do yourself a favor and stay at the Royal Amsterdam Hotel, you will love it!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brad m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pella
1.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Pella
1.9 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Pella
1.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Pella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
EverSpring Inn & Suites
EverSpring Inn & Suites
#1 of 5 in Oskaloosa
37 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dutch Mill Inn
Dutch Mill Inn
#7 of 7 in Pella
13 reviews
19.4 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Newton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Amsterdam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Amsterdam Hotel

Property: Royal Amsterdam Hotel
Address: 705 East First Street, Pella, IA 50219
Region: United States > Iowa > Pella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Pella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Amsterdam Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Royal Amsterdam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Amsterdam Pella
Hotel Royal Amsterdam
Royal Amsterdam Hotel Pella, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing