We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Pella”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Royal Amsterdam Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Pella
Certificate of Excellence
Omaha, USA
Level Contributor
106 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in Pella”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I stayed at the Royal Amsterdam for one night during a little “weekend getaway” trip with my wife, and recommend it.

It’s a newer hotel located on the “canal” adjacent to downtown Pella. It has around 35 rooms and is conveniently located near all of the attractions.

We were allowed to check in a bit early. Our room was quite large and overlooked the canal area. The bed was comfortable, and the room decor was attractive.

The continental breakfast is OK, highlighted by the good local pastries.

You receive an actual room key, accompanied by an enormous wooden keychain.

The price was not cheap, but relatively reasonable and not much more than the generic chain hotels on the highway. It seems like the best lodging option in town.

I am probably not a typical Pella visitor. I am not Dutch, and am neither an alumnus of Central College nor a parent of a student. I don’t even like shopping in cute stores. Still, I enjoyed our brief visit there. It was fun riding bikes out to Red Rock Lake, and Pella is appealingly different from most Iowa towns. It features some interesting local businesses, such as two excellent coffee shops.

Pella is a very quiet town (you might even call it sleepy), and the Royal Amsterdam is a good hotel for a nice quiet Pella visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a canal view. It's obviously not a real canal, but is an interesting feature of Pella.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brewbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    34
    5
    2
    6
See reviews for
52
47
9
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Dakota
Level Contributor
240 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The Dutch have a term "Gesellig" which probably translates best as "warm and cozy". That's not a bad description of the Royal Amsterdam Hotel.

Although only about a decade old, the hotel has all the architecture and dark tones of a true Amsterdam hotel. It's certainly quite different from the mid priced chain hotels that are the only real alternative in this community.

The Royal Amsterdam is located in the middle of town so walking to coffee shops, bakeries, and meat markets is no problem. At the same time, parking is available underground and just a step from the elevator (for a $5 per night charge) or across the street a surface lot that is free.

So for convenience, comfort, and just downright coziness, this hotel is real treasure to find in a small quaint community.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IowaGrandparents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

From 930pm the night of arrival to the day we checked out I was impressed by the customer service. Beverly was the person who checked us in and out! At check in she sincerly thanked us at least twice for choosing their hotel to stay in. She made us feel that she truly appreciated us choosing them! The next morning she was ready at 7am to greet us as we enjoyed the continental breakfast. She asked us how we slept. Then we started talking about grandchildren. We felt like she was an old friend! On Sunday at check out she asked how our stay was and again thanked us again for choosing Royal Amsterdam. I told her I was very impressed on the customer service there! Actually all of the shops and restraunts in Pella excelled in this area. I teach a class on customer service for the business I work for and I will be using this as an example during my class! We were truly impressed!

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the canal. So pretty! The only thing is at night when the bar/restraunt c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MinnesotaBwaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ankeny, Iowa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2014

While looking for a comfortable and accessible location for a H.S. group of friends to get together for a couple days away, I had a "Why not Pella?" epiphany. It was centrally located for most of us, and had rooms open for the week after Tulip Time. What a great choice!
The town is clean, lovely, and friendly, with many small shops (and bakeries!) to explore, all in walking proximity to the hotel. So much better than staying in a chain hotel out on the highway!
The hotel was terrific. We had a suite with queen size bed, and other rooms with 2 queen beds, all very clean and comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful with any questions and recommendations requests we had.
We are all in agreement that this hotel is an absolute gem, and highly recommend it for business travelers or vacationers alike!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midwest City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
133 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed here as part of a group for the Tulip Time Festival and we were not disappointed. The hotel is very elegant, the bed and the pillows were the most comfortable I've experienced anywhere, and the location can't be beat. It has a typical European continental breakfast, no hot foods, but it was elegant and tasty. The town of Pella is a European experience right here at home.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reblhrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This hotel is very comfortable for the business traveler. It has a Dutch theme and reminds me of staying at a Bed and Breakfast. It has comfortable new beds and all the linens have been updated and new. It also has fast internet which is a huge plus for the regular business traveler. I like the proximity to the downtown area and it's easy to walk to the many restaurants. There is also a great restaurant and bar located in the hotel, so when it's cold out you don't have to go outside. I would highly recommend this hotel for all travelers.

Room Tip: Rooms on the west side are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Sherrie and the folks at the Royal Amsterdam in Pella, Iowa are wonderful. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, the continental breakfast is top notch with plenty of choices, the restaurant is good, and the atmosphere most welcoming. I go to Pella on business often, and staying at the Royal Amsterdam is the next best thing to being home! The location cinches it, being right down town in walking distance to most everything.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BTofNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pella
1.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Pella
1.9 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Pella
1.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Pella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Dutch Mill Inn
Dutch Mill Inn
#7 of 7 in Pella
13 reviews
14.6 mi away
EverSpring Inn & Suites
EverSpring Inn & Suites
#1 of 5 in Oskaloosa
29 reviews
12.2 mi away
Cobblestone Hotel & Suites Knoxville, IA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Amsterdam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Amsterdam Hotel

Property: Royal Amsterdam Hotel
Address: 705 East First Street, Pella, IA 50219
Region: United States > Iowa > Pella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Pella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Amsterdam Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Amsterdam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Amsterdam Pella
Hotel Royal Amsterdam
Royal Amsterdam Hotel Pella, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing