We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Something to be desired”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
American Inn and Suites
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Peosta
Luxemburg, Wisconsin, USA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Something to be desired”
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We stayed here 3 days, 17 people in 8 rooms. 1st the hottub didnt work the whole time we were there and the pool was ice cold. 2nd the night desk staff didn't have a clue about anything we asked. Breakfast was to start at 7 on weekends and 6 weekdays. it started on time, but the food that was supposed to be hot was cold to luke warm. Apparently, it didn't occur to the workers that the food should have been heated before start time. coffee was constently empty and when we asked to have more made, eyes rolled like we were being a pain. As far as clean rooms go, our towels were replaced and beds made, but nothing was vacuumed. And a few in our group didn't even get their rooms touched. We originally were booked for 2 nights but our plans changed and we booked a 3rd. After getting back for the day, all of our room keys were cancelled.When we had them reset, they still didnt work. When we went to checkout, the manager overcharged everyone in our group for the agreed upon price except one room. She became very defensive to the point that she was nearly yelling. Then she complained about how tired she was because she works 12 hour shifts. If she was the manager maybe she shouldnt schedule those kinds of shifts. The only good thing about the place is that it is right off the highway out of Dubuque. Probably will never stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    18
    13
    10
    9
See reviews for
21
16
5
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We had stayed at this property several times in the past, but had not been here for a couple of years. We were disappointed in our most recent stay. The property shows lack of attention - landscaping outside is weedy and unkempt. Walls inside have been scraped and not repainted. The inside of the potty in our room had not been cleaned - it appeared a prior occupant had been experiencing diarrhea. We mentioned the dirty potty to the desk clerk (blonde, Jennifer) at checkout, and her reaction was indifferent. We will not be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul50325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Peosta hotels

Dubuque, Iowa
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

I book a block of rooms as part of a wedding contract with this hotel boy was that a mistake! not only did they change hotel managers 3 times in the year that I had the rooms booked but they failed to provide things that were part of my original contract. Even when I brought my copy of the contract in the owner who speaks little English argued he would not provide those things anymore. what is the point of signing a contract with a hotel if they're not going to honor it? I booked with them as part of my contract they stated they would provide a shuttle to and from the peosta Center for hotel guests after the wedding reception. this was confirmed several times and the night of my wedding when I called for the shuttle van they informed me that they don't even own one at the hotel. the night of my wedding is not the time to be scrambling looking for a sober driver to take guests home no thanks again Quality Inn & Suites. also several of our guest booked their rooms online for $69.99 and when they went to check out they were charged more stating that if they were there for my wedding they must pay a room block price instead of the price they had secured on the Internet. this place is run so poorly I couldn't in good conscience recommend it to anyone else especially anyone getting married. Brides even though it is close to the peosta center be very careful they do not hold up on their end of the contract!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaniBB043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

What a pleasure it was to stay here. It was so bright & clean. The manager, Shannon, was so very accommodating. They went that extra mile, that is usually a thing of the past.
There is also a quaint restaurant, right outside the back door. I would highly recommend this location to any of my friends & family. Microwave,Coffee Maker both worked, along with the Hot Tub & Fireplace. The internet was wireless & very responsive. Oh and don't forget that free breakfast in AM ( Waffles, Biscuit & Gravy, Fruit, Rolls, 2 different juices, Cereals, and Milk). All included. What a GREAT value & find this place was. We WILL be stopping here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Inn P, General Manager at American Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Thank you for choosing our Quality Inn & Suites located in Peosta, Iowa. We appreciate your stay and your kind comments about our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2013

We had an awesome nights stay. Hotel was quiet, with the exception of a few kids. But kids are kids. After 10:00pm all was quiet. Manager is very friendly. When speaking with her you could tell she cared about her hotel and our stay as well. We definitely will be returning. We were very happy to find this new getaway spot for us.

Room Tip: Get the king suite, the separate bedroom makes it even quieter stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

We had stayed at this hotel several times when it was an AmericInn but this was our first visit as a Quality Inn under new ownership. Cosmetically, they've made some improvements: new paint and carpet in the halls, new furniture in the lobby, and new flatscreens and bedding in the rooms. I have nothing nice left to say. It's January in Iowa and the lobby, breakfast area and halls were frigid: 61-degrees to be exact. The owner refused to turn up the heat when asked on multiple occasions. The room was marginally clean with hair and dried reddish brown drips of something in the bathroom. When I pulled back the bedspread, there was a pill of some sort on the edge of the boxspring. I was just glad I found it before my kids did. The owner sat behind the desk and yelled at people for infractions: my son for walking through the dining area outside of breakfast hours, other kids for running and at a young man who dared to take a pool towel outside the pool area. The last straw was at breakfast: silverware and plates being washed by hand in a sink. I'm OK with that at grandma's house but NOT in a public establishment.
If you're desperate for a place to stop, sleep and continue, you'll probably be OK but if you're planning on spending any time, keep driving to the next town.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
224 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2012

this little jewel was hidden in this tiny town of Peosta..we booked it on line and got a nice room down the hall away from it all,, clean clean room, awesome bed, no fridge and Microwave or coffee maker in room, but fast internet and great channels on the TV,, we took a dip in the pool and relaxed in the hot tub (the water needed to be a bit hotter) there was a basket of choc chip cookies at the check out desk ( it was quick and easy and FRIENDLY DESK STAFF )
Breakfast was basic,,, they really need to put a microwave in the breakfast room so people can warm up the biscuits ( I am not a biscuit and gravy fan prefer just a biscuit and some jam ) any way overall it was a pleasant stay... would recommend it to any one

Room Tip: if you are a SENIOR you might want to be on the lobby floor the first floor is DOWN STAIRS..( even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CloggieUsa2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peosta
7.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Dubuque
Hampton Inn Dubuque
#1 of 17 in Dubuque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
9.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Dubuque
13.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 3 in Dyersville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
7.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center
7.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to American Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about American Inn and Suites

Property: American Inn and Suites
Address: 100 Peosta St, Peosta, IA 52068-9691 (Formerly Quality Inn & Suites)
Region: United States > Iowa > Peosta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Peosta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — American Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Peosta, this hotel is within 9 mi (15 km) of Sundown Mountain, The Meadows Golf Club, and Kennedy Mall. Bell Tower Theater and Bunker Hill Golf Course are also within 12 mi (20 km). An indoor pool, and coffee/tea in a common area are available at this smoke-free hotel. Free WiFi in public areas and free self parking are also provided. Other amenities many suites have large whirlpool tubs with fireplace in room, laundry facilities, and a 24-hour front desk.All 48 rooms provide free WiFi, coffee makers, and cable TV. Free local calls, hair dryers, and ironing boards are among the other amenities that guests will find. American Inn & Suites features an indoor pool. High-speed wireless Internet access is complimentary. Guests can enjoy a complimentary breakfast. This Peosta hotel also offers tour/ticket assistance. Complimentary self parking is available on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your American Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing