We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of a Kind!”
Review of Hotel Pattee

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Pattee
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Perry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 January 2014

I stayed at the Pattee last weekend and it was wonderful. We especially enjoyed the dry sauna and steam room that felt so good on a cold day. Service was great with the owner and chef visiting tables in the restaurant to be sure every diner was satisfied with their meal!
Lots of attention to detail, the place is a true gem!

Room Tip: We loved the Woodworking Room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JayHartz, Owner at Hotel Pattee, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2014

Hi Ray,
It was sure nice having you and your Wife stay with us! Thanks for your kind words. Looking forward to seeing you both again soon! Jay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (343)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

319 - 325 of 343 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2014

I've stayed at several boutique hotels across the country, and this is the best one by far. Under new owners, the Hotel Pattee in Perry, Iowa provides theme rooms, attentive service, and an excellent restaurant. There is an in-house spa with professional massage therapists and an inviting library with a wood - burning fireplace, which provide a one of a kind experience. Don't miss this wonderful place, a short drive northwest of Des Moines.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful and designed with an individual theme. Choose the room that fits your b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JayHartz, Owner at Hotel Pattee, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Hi Ryan,
What a Compliment! "The Best Boutique Hotel Ever!' Thanks so much. We are working very hard to make sure that our guests are happy, and we are very appreciative of your business and compliments. Take Care. See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

My husband and I loved our weekend at the Hotel Pattee. We stayed in one of our favorite rooms. All of the rooms have unique themes and original artwork. Service was great and we enjoyed the live entertainment in the lobby. The restaurant has a great menu that has something for every taste. This place is a real treat!

Room Tip: We love the suites!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kristin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JayHartz, Owner at Hotel Pattee, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Thanks for choosing Us Kristin and thanks for taking the time to write your review. We are so glad that you had a nice weekend! Hope to see you again very soon! Keep an eye out for Special Offers that we are posting here now on TripAdvisor!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

The Hotel Pattee is the place to go if you want a genuinely special night or weekend out, but you live in the Midwest and don't want to fly to Paris or HongKong or Timbuktu. In a small farming community in the middle of Iowa, the Hotel Pattee awaits your pleasure. I mean the pleasure of choosing where you wish you were. A Mexican Room or Irish, Swedish, Central American, Welsh, Japanese and more await you. An equal number of private rooms are arranged in memory of Iowa farm life (the Cream "N" Eggs Room, the Needlework Room) or people of note (the Louise Armstrong Room, the William Morris Room). It's an Iowa place and a railroad place until you close the door to your room and, then, you'll be whisked away to another world-Bohemian Room or Marching Band Room or one of the 44 theme rooms like those mentioned above. The beds are plush and let you slide off to your dreams (although I was told the Japanese bed might be a little hard for us). Ah, one more thing, the bathrooms with huge tubs and waterfall showers (we were in the Bill Bell Room) provide relaxation usually reserved for movie stars and state visitors. It's unbelievable make believe. The lobby and library are done in Stickley Craftsman style with three "please sit in front of me" fireplaces as well as an excellent supply of books and films; the spa (in a well arrayed gym, of course) offers deep tissue massages to salve away any ache and there's a double bowling alley where a whole family can issue challenges. (You think you must be staying at the White House during the Calvin Coolidge Era). Like an upscale Whistle Stop Cafe, the dining room provides delicious home cooking in Midwest style that I'd call real "cuisine". In winter when Iowa temperatures can dip and dip and dip, you need not leave the hotel during your entire holiday; in summer, The Hotel Pattee is a stopping place for bikers who can go 40-miles or more at a time or less or more. It's located just off one of Iowa's best all state bike trails connecting Des Moines to who knows where. All this innovation to the max can be yours for a very reasonable price and a little imagination. Like the famous journalist once said, "Go west, young man, go west," until you hit Perry, Iowa. (East will be O.K., too).

Room Tip: Rooms looking out on the sculpture garden might be a tad quieter. The hostess at the front desk was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank betsymayfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JayHartz, Owner at Hotel Pattee, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear Betsy, WOW. What a great and detailed review! I can't thank you enough for taking so much time to share your experience with others. We love The Hotel Pattee and Serving our Guests. Hope to see you again soon!. Best Regards, Jay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We had a great first experience at Hotel Pattee for their New Years Eve celebration. The food, drinks and hospitality were awesome. The staff was very friendly and professional, which is very rare to find these days. We will be back!

Room Tip: Rooms are small but great for couples. No TV, but we didn't want one anyways! Each room has a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JayHartz, Owner at Hotel Pattee, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Thanks Andrea. We are so thankful that you Rang in the New Year with us! It was a lot of fun and we can't wait to host similar events in 2014. Have a Great New Year! Jay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We stayed at this elegant hotel this last weekend while in town for a wedding. The owners were on hand and very visible while doing everything they could to make our stay the great experience it was. This older hotel is in immaculate condition and clean as a whistle. It is a special place with unique decor and themed rooms that add to the experience. Breakfast was reasonably priced and excellent! Highly recommend this hotel; we will stay here again in a heartbeat!! The experience and attention to detail is worth every penny!

Room Tip: Russian room was elegant!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JayHartz, Owner at Hotel Pattee, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Thanks for the kind words Paul! We are very proud of the hotel and our staff. I appreciate you mentioning how clean everything was. Cleanliness is top priority for us. Take care and thank you again! Jay Hartz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

This place is full of history, art and class! My husband and I are touring musicians with our music duo, The High Crest. We had the great opportunity to perform in the lobby next to the giant two sided fireplace for the patrons of the hotel - they have music every weekend. For dinner we had the Shepard's pie which was the treasured recipe of the owners mom. Delicious! And we stayed in the fantastic DJ Pattee Suite. In our room, we had our very own robes, king sized 4 poster bed, and a deluxe spa. So cool! The new owners are passionate about service and quality. If you need a place to stay or know people who are going to be in this neck of the woods, The Hotel Pattee comes highly recommended. Stay here if you get the chance!

Room Tip: Every room has a different theme so make sure to go online to see what fits your style the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JayHartz, Owner at Hotel Pattee, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Hi Kat, we certainly enjoyed have you two here at the hotel too! You and your husband are great musicians and we can't wait to have you back at the end of this month to perform again. Thanks for being our guests! Also, thanks for mentioning my Mom's Famous Shepherd's Pie!. It is my favorite too! Happy New Year to you and your family! Jay Hartz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Perry
23.0 mi away
Hotel Renovo
Hotel Renovo
#2 of 11 in Urbandale
164 reviews
18.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Boone
24.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moines
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moine...
#1 of 22 in West Des Moines
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.0 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel and Conference Center - Des Moines
23.7 mi away
Wildwood Lodge
Wildwood Lodge
#3 of 8 in Clive
283 reviews
24.5 mi away
Residence Inn Des Moines West at Jordan Creek Town Center
Residence Inn Des Moines West at...
#8 of 22 in West Des Moines
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pattee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pattee

Address: 1112 Willis Ave, Perry, IA 50220-1650
Region: United States > Iowa > Perry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Perry
Price Range: £77 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pattee 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Historic Hotel Pattee which is a 100 year old hotel that recently underwent a 12 Million Dollar renovation. Featuring over 40, individually themed rooms. Located directly on the Raccoon River Valley Trail and just 9 miles from the High Trestle Trail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Pattee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing