We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great surprise!”
Review of Hotel Pattee

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Pattee
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Perry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I had no idea what to expect. A bicycling trip to Perry, Iowa. What a great surprise! The Hotel is beautifully restored with woodwork and craftsmanship you just don't see.There was an artistic delight in every room and around every corner - inside and out. The food was excellent, the staff friendly and attentive. The owner was even topping off water glasses and coffee during breakfast. If you're a bike rider, you have to ride the High Trestle Bridge Trail at night for the light show. We had a great weekend. The HP is a treat.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JayHartz, Owner at Hotel Pattee, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Thanks For staying with us Richard and thanks for the great review. We are really trying our best to cater to cyclists. I agree with you. The High Trestle Trail is a must ride as well as the Raccoon River Valley Trail! We enjoyed having you as our guest and hope to see you again very soon. Best Regards, Jay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (356)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

293 - 299 of 356 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014

This is an incredible GEM in the middle of Perry, Iowa. The new owner has done a great job of making this a very comfortable and accessible place to stay. The food is great, the rooms, culturally and esthetically rich (the beds are really comfortable), are fantastic, and there is live entertainment on many evenings.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrevorGiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JayHartz, Owner at Hotel Pattee, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

All of the way from Canada! So glad that you chose to stay with us and thanks so much for your kind words. We are very proud of the hotel and so glad you enjoyed your stay. Take care and we hope you will come see us again in the near future. Best Regards, Jay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed in the DJ Pattee suite. It is beautifully decorated with wonderful Pattee family photos and memorabilia and very spacious. We found the food first rate and the staff friendly and attentive. We already look forward to returning in the near future.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher P D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JayHartz, Owner at Hotel Pattee, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Thanks Christopher,
The DJ Pattee is my personal favorite! I would agree that it is a beautiful suite. Thanks for staying with us and thanks for kind words! Hope to see you all again soon!
Jay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I have stayed at this hotel on multiple visits and it is truly a very special hotel. Highly recommend it as a quality destination that is a bit off the beaten path, but not that far from Des Moines or Ames. The personality of the hotel is memorable and compares to just about any boutique hotel. Grant Wood would definitely be proud of this piece of Americana hospitality.

Note: The food is OK. The hotel has new ownership and I genuinely believe he will improve this situation. The recent Easter brunch was terrible, but the breakfast on another day was fine.

Room Tip: I have never had a bad room. Each room has a theme, so part of the adventure is experiencing the the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MNJ0hn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JayHartz, Owner at Hotel Pattee, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thanks for choosing to stay with us again, and thanks for taking the time to write a review. I am very glad that you enjoyed the majority of your stay, but want to personally apologize that you didn't care for our Easter Brunch. We do work very hard to ensure that all aspects of a guests stay exceed expectations. I am hopeful that you will give us the opportunity down the road to be your host once again. Take Care and thank you again. Jay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Great location and wonderful staff. Good food, too. The place is gorgeous and clean. I stayed in the V.T. Hamlin room, which had view of the main street. Dependable wi fi and free parking. I would recommend this place over anything else in the area, including Des Moines. This is not a generic Holiday Inn or Comfort Inn or any of that. Everyone there was personable and, after a day, we all knew each other's names. I will stay here again and tell my friends.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JayHartz, Owner at Hotel Pattee, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Dear Mike,
Thanks for such a detailed and positive review! We are so glad that you enjoyed your visit and the amenities that we offer here. Our staff members read our reviews on a regular basis, and I know they will also appreciate your kind words.
Take Care Mike.
Jay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

My wife and I checked into the Hotel Pattee for a get away weekend. I had seen the hotel years ago when I was in Perry to visit a friend.

From the time we walked in the door we were welcomed and well attended to. We settled into our room and then explored the various features of the hotel. We did not participate in the bowling, saunas, or jacuzzi but they looked quite enjoyable. We did sit in the library for a while and thumb through several books on the area.

In the room there was a book about the hotel with photos and layouts for each room. We really enjoyed looking at all of the other rooms and were surprised to see a couple of kid themed rooms as well for those traveling with youngsters.

We really enjoyed the Stickley Room. The ambiance was perfect for relaxing and putting the cares of the week behind us. The decor was excellent except we never could put together the reason/story for the collection of pictures on the entry way wall. The photos were nice but did not tie into the room and seemed to have had odd stickers stuck on them.

We would definitely recommend the Pattee to anyone in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nathatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JayHartz, Owner at Hotel Pattee, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

WOW. Thank you for such a great review. Your review carries great weight to me because you are a very seasoned traveler who has over 170 reviews on TripAdvisor. It is our honor to be chosen as one of the hotels that you have stayed at and reviewed. You bring up an excellent point about the pictures in the Stickley Room. I need to research the meaning behind those pictures and how they tie into the theme. Thanks for staying with us and we hope that you will come back to see us soon.
Jay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Really nice hotel. Will visit again. Meals were also good. Waitress very good. It seemed like everyone wanted you the enjoy your stay. Parking was no problem. The owner was there and very active to make sure every thing went ok.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Wayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JayHartz, Owner at Hotel Pattee, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Thanks Wayne! We certainly enjoyed having you here and we greatly appreciate your kind words! We hope to see you again very soon. Have a Great Easter Weekend!
Jay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Perry
23.7 mi away
Wildwood Lodge
Wildwood Lodge
#3 of 8 in Clive
291 reviews
23 mi away
Hotel Renovo
Hotel Renovo
#3 of 11 in Urbandale
169 reviews
23 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel and Conference Center - Des Moines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.7 mi away
Ramada Tropics Resort / Conference Center Des Moines
1.6 mi away
Super 8 Perry IA
Super 8 Perry IA
#2 of 2 in Perry
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pattee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pattee

Address: 1112 Willis Ave, Perry, IA 50220-1650
Region: United States > Iowa > Perry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Perry
Price Range: £61 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pattee 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Historic Hotel Pattee which is a 100 year old hotel that recently underwent a 12 Million Dollar renovation. Featuring over 40, individually themed rooms. Located directly on the Raccoon River Valley Trail and just 9 miles from the High Trestle Trail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK) and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Pattee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing