We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very memorable place to stay.”
Review of Hotel Pattee

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Pattee
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Perry
Certificate of Excellence
Lake Mills, Wisconsin
1 review
“A very memorable place to stay.”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Really enjoyed our stay....it's a beautifully restored hotel with unique rooms and beautiful artwork throughout the hotel. The food was wonderful as well. Worth the trip to Iowa just to see the hotel itself!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 678Joyce_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JayHartz, Owner at Hotel Pattee, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Hello Joyce,
Thanks for staying with us this past weekend and thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. Thanks for the wonderful feedback!
Take Care!
Jay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    283
    41
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
68
139
7
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Verona, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed 30 April 2014

A unique hotel with wonderful amenities, restaurant and spa. It even has a bowling alley! Each room has a different theme, many with historic references to the area and are beautifully decorated. The museum quality art work alone is worth the visit. Much to do in the area, don't miss the nearby Trestle Bridge, which is lighted after dark. Great find.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JayHartz, Owner at Hotel Pattee, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Hi Judy!
So glad we had the chance to host you and your friends last weekend for the bike weekend! Thanks for a great review and thanks for choosing us. We will hopefully see you again soon!
Happy Cycling!
Jay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fitchburg, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2014

The hotel was extremely pleasant. Comfortable lounge, very nice "themed rooms", nice bar, good restaurant with excellent food. Above all, it had a warm, friendly feel due to the very helpful staff. There was entertainment in the lounge both Friday and Saturday nights. The staff had plenty of info on the area and biking in particular. An unusual feature in the USA was convenient, indoor parking for bicycles. I hope they are setting a standard that other Hotels will follow. The hotel was filled with nice art, some of which related to the history of the area. An adjacent courtyard full of art is a great place to sit and chat and enjoy a drink on nice afts/eves.

Room Tip: Numerous rooms are suites which could be especially nice for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimbiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JayHartz, Owner at Hotel Pattee, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Hi Jim,
Thanks for staying here with your Bike Group, and thanks for the kind words! We are trying to set the trend of being a Bike Friendly Hotel. Take Care and see you soon!
Jay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fitchburg, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed 29 April 2014

The hotel Pattee is wonderful! The theme rooms are fun to tour, the lobby is beautiful, the food is wonderful and the free warm cookies each night were a wonderful surprise! The sculpture garden on the roof made for nice views and the sculpture alley was a great place to hang out after riding on the Raccoon Valley paved bike trail! We will come back!

The town of Perry also has a great bike shop, coffee shop, and a huge Ben Franklin with everything you could possibly need! We even met the Mayor! What a nice guy! Thanks for a great weekend!

Room Tip: Be sure to view all the themes online on their website to choose the theme that is right for you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JayHartz, Owner at Hotel Pattee, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Hi Kay,
Thanks so much for being our guest! The Mayor of Perry is a great guy and he is our biggest cheerleader for the City of Perry and the Trails. So glad you had a chance to visit with him! As I just mentioned in another recent post, the Ben Franklin Store here is town is Awesome. Glad you also enjoyed Perry's Perk Coffee Shop. I am very proud to own this hotel in such a great place! Thanks so much!
Jay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed 28 April 2014

A little slice of heaven in hometown America. We loved everything about the hotel! The themed rooms are amazing--we stayed in the Stickley room, but it is one among many fantastic choices with amazing attention to detail (like the entire hotel). The food (especially the Steak DeBurgo, build your own omelet and carrot cake) was fantastic. Service was always with a smile.
Biking on the Raccoon River Valley trail was great because much of it was on super smooth concrete. Also, don't miss riding across the Trestle Bridge after dark--a beautifully lit work of art.
One the nicest bike shops I have ever been in is right next door and the owner is wonderfully friendly and helpful. Finally, if you need just about anything, including gifts and some cool clothes, Ben Franklin's Five and Dime, is a block away.
We had a great time in Perry!

Room Tip: Visit hotelpattee.com to view the themed rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marianne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JayHartz, Owner at Hotel Pattee, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you Marianne! Yes. Perry IA is a great hidden GEM. And Yes...the Ben's Five and Dime is the nicest in the nation (In my humble opinion.)
Great people, great trails and a wonderful hotel right here in Perry IA. Thanks so much for organizing this bike ride with your friends. We already have your rooms held for next April, but hope to see you before then!
Thanks Again,
Jay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Everything about this stay was perfect. Even the "glitches" added to the small town charm.
Also, I cannot say enough about Jay and his helpful, kind staff as well.
A truly magical experience. Cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: The only reason that I gave the sleep quality an "average" was because we slept in the Jap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K_Hinz2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JayHartz, Owner at Hotel Pattee, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We certainly enjoyed having you and your group stay with us. So glad that you enjoyed the sculpture's on the rooftop as well as many other things. We hope to see you next year if not sooner! Take Care and thank you again.
Jay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middleton, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Unexpected charm and elegant but affordable luxury in the middle of Iowa. Excellent food and accommodations and memorable room decorations. Ultra bike friendly and great bike shop adjacent if you are riding the new Raccoon River Trail or nearby High Trestle Bridge trail. When is the last time you stayed at a domestic hotel that's actually memorable?

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valencia622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JayHartz, Owner at Hotel Pattee, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
What a great review! Thank you. I love how you ended your review with the question of "When was the last time you stayed at a domestic hotel that was actually memorable?" Thanks so much!!! Come see us and ride the trails again soon!
Jay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Perry
23.1 mi away
Hotel Renovo
Hotel Renovo
#3 of 11 in Urbandale
141 reviews
23.0 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel and Conference Center - Des Moines
23.7 mi away
Wildwood Lodge
Wildwood Lodge
#3 of 8 in Clive
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Boone
23.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Des Moines-West
Hampton Inn Des Moines-West
#2 of 22 in West Des Moines
573 reviews
24.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moines
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moine...
#1 of 22 in West Des Moines
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pattee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pattee

Property: Hotel Pattee
Address: 1112 Willis Ave, Perry, IA 50220-1650
Region: United States > Iowa > Perry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Perry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pattee 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Historic Hotel Pattee which is a 100 year old hotel that recently underwent a 12 Million Dollar renovation. Featuring over 40, individually themed rooms. Located directly on the Raccoon River Valley Trail and just 9 miles from the High Trestle Trail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Pattee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing