We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jewel in IOWA”
Review of Hotel Pattee

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Pattee
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Perry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Hotel Pattee was lovely and full of character and history. Our family stayed there for a weekend wedding.I was intrigued to learn of movies filmed on site and famous people who stayed there.
We loved the different theme ideas in each room-quite unique. The 2 lane bowling alley was a fun gathering spot for extended family. It was quiet at night for sleeping. We enjoyed the warm cookies set out on each floor in the evening. It was nice to have the bed and breakfast package offered and the food was delicious, but it did take a while for it to be served. I would highly recommend this Hotel....... Our girls will have great memories of our time spent there.

Room Tip: Choose a room that matches your interests or family background....
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JayHartz, Owner at Hotel Pattee, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thanks Marie!
That is so awesome that great memories were created for your family! We strive for that here at The Hotel Pattee! So glad that you had a great time. Hope to see you all soon!
Jay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (338)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Pattee
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

260 - 266 of 338 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2014

My sisters and I grew up in Perry in the 60's. We hadn't been back at the same time for over 30 years. We stayed at the Pattee for two nights the first weekend in May and had a fabulous time. We had adjoining rooms, the Mexican and the American Indian. We enjoyed 3 meals in the hotel, all were top notch. The staff was wonderful. I keep looking at the Pattee website trying to decide which room I will get next time. I'm wishing great success to the new owners.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Denise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JayHartz, Owner at Hotel Pattee, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Hi Denise,
Thanks for giving us the opportunity to be of service! I am so glad that you came to see us and that you enjoyed your visit. We hope to see you every time that you come home to visit Perry!
Best Regards,
Jay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We went away for my birthday and were pleasantly surprised. We loved the decor and the food was great. Our room was the woodworking room and it was beautiful. Staff was very nice and the room was quiet. We will go back and take our bikes the next time.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melanie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JayHartz, Owner at Hotel Pattee, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Hi Michelle,
So glad you celebrated your birthday with us! Thank you! And yes, we do hope to see you again soon and please do bring your bikes! You can hop on the Raccoon River Valley Trail right outside our doors.
Thanks again.
Jay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Hotel Pattee is one of the most quaint hotels we've stayed at. Each room is different, unique and each tells it's own story. The rooms were clean and the staff was amazing! The hotel dining room food was delicious!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sktmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JayHartz, Owner at Hotel Pattee, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and thanks for your great review! Denise and I are very proud and passionate owners of the Hotel Pattee and we strive to make every guest experience to be a great one! Thanks again, and we hope you visit us again very soon.
Jay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Last weekend, our family had a reception for our daughter's wedding at this delightful hotel. We had one fantastic experience!!! The function was set up and coordinated with the help of the event planner, Mahala. She was professional and made sure the entire event was perfect....and perfectiion it was. Under the new owner, Jay Hartz, this Perry, IA destination hotel has become the finest location for a special event as well as a weekend get away. The food was extraordinary, the service was superb and Jay is an excellent hotelier. We stayed two nights and enjoyed the whole experience immensely.

After a perfectl meal in an intimate dining room with a professional staff, we ventured downstairs to the bowling alley with the whole group. Spectacular! What fun! Everyone had a great time and our dedicated staff waitress continued to help us with whatever we needed.

During the meal, Jay came into the dining room to make sure we were being taken care of and that we were.

All I can say is, come to Perry Iowa and experience this hotel for any special function you have - large or small - there is a large banquet hall and many smaller intimate rooms for any size group you will need.

Bikers, there is a great bike shop just next door and a bike path through the town. Great place for a break and libation or over night stop. Cool Bar!! There are bike racks for storage in the hotel and bike tire pumps mounted in front on the sidewalk. PERFECT!

There was entertainment in the lobby on Friday and Saturday nights, too. This place rocks!!

Stop through and experience this hotel for yourself.. You will be happy that you did!

Room Tip: Pick any room, they are all different with a different motif. Look at the website.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JayHartz, Owner at Hotel Pattee, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Mark,
The honor was ours, as we truly enjoyed hosting your Daughters Wedding. Your family is great and so nice to work with. I am so glad that we have had the opportunity to meet you and your family and hope that we can stay in touch. We hope to see you again soon. Take care and thank you again!
Jay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Over the years, we have stayed at the Hotel Pattee many times, but nothing compares to the experience of the newest incarnation of this iconic landmark. The rooms are meticulously prepared, the food is a culinary delight ( try the Pattee Pain Perdu for a unique and memorable breakfast experience), and the service unsurpassed. Add to that the incredible array of culturally thematic rooms and you have a prescription for an incomparable lodging experience. Even if you have no immediate plans of Perry, Iowa as your destination, it is well worth adding to your travel plans as a refreshing way station should you be anywhere nearby.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaelBMichaelB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JayHartz, Owner at Hotel Pattee, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Thanks Michael! What a great review! I could almost use the comments you wrote in an ad. Thanks so much for choosing to come see us again, and we are so thrilled that you had a wonderful visit. We will share your great comments with my team.
Take Care,
Jay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

This historic hotel has been beautifully decorated and caters to the whims of its clientele. Located in an area of Iowa that has an extensive bike trail system, this hotel aims to please the cyclist. It has everything from indoor bike racks to a spa which is delightful after a long ride. Add a delicious evening meal in David's Milwaukee Diner on the first floor followed by live music in the lounge and you have the perfect getaway. There is truly something for everyone!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 75or624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JayHartz, Owner at Hotel Pattee, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

So glad that you enjoyed your visit with us and so glad that you noticed the Bike Friendly Amenities that we have starting offering our guests. We are truly dedicated to being a Cycle Friendly Hotel on the Raccoon River Valley Trail System and the High Trestle Trail too. Thanks again, and we hope you come back soon. The weather will start getting consistently nice again soon! At least we hope so. Thanks again for a great review.
Jay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Perry
23.0 mi away
Hotel Renovo
Hotel Renovo
#2 of 11 in Urbandale
155 reviews
23.7 mi away
Wildwood Lodge
Wildwood Lodge
#3 of 8 in Clive
281 reviews
18.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Boone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.0 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel and Conference Center - Des Moines
24.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moines
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moine...
#1 of 22 in West Des Moines
605 reviews
24.7 mi away
Ramada Tropics Resort / Conference Center Des Moines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pattee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pattee

Address: 1112 Willis Ave, Perry, IA 50220-1650
Region: United States > Iowa > Perry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Perry
Price Range: £81 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pattee 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Historic Hotel Pattee which is a 100 year old hotel that recently underwent a 12 Million Dollar renovation. Featuring over 40, individually themed rooms. Located directly on the Raccoon River Valley Trail and just 9 miles from the High Trestle Trail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Travel Republic (UK) and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Pattee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing