We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good option in the area”

Pocahontas Inn & Suites
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pocahontas Inn & Suites
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pocahontas
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Stayed here three nights while attending a family event in the area. This is a small hotel, but clean and comfortable. At check-in, the front desk clerk barely spoke to us and never smiled. There was no welcome, she just presented the form to sign and handed us a key card. I had to ask for directions to the room. The hotel does not have a 24-hour desk, which is fine as long as you are aware that there's no one there after 10 pm.

Our room was very comfortable and included a small refrigerator. The bathroom was clean and I appreciated that it was large enough to turn around in without tripping over any fixtures. The bathroom door opened outward, which meant that it would sometimes swing back and hit the wall with a thunk. The shower head only had one setting - full blast!

We used the free wi-fi in the room and never had any problems with it. The signal strength was great. The room folder also had several recommendations for local restaurants. The television and air conditioning worked fine and were unremarkable. Towels and linens were all clean and fresh.

The first two nights (a Thursday and Friday) were very quiet and the hotel clients seemed to be mainly construction and utility workers. On Saturday night there were more families with kids, so it was considerably louder in the building. At 2 a.m. someone called our room phone, waking us. There were also people talking loudly in the corridor, and slamming doors.

The free breakfast was fine, but very basic. Choices included cold cereal, bread products, fresh fruit (apples and bananas), yogurt, fruit juice, and coffee. There were several local newspapers available to read, and the weather on TV in the breakfast room.

Check-out was the only other time we interacted with staff, and the clerk was friendlier than the first one. She smiled and wished us a good day.

I would consider staying here again for the next family event. There are not too many hotels in this area, so this one is a welcome addition. The hotel does not have an online booking option, and the information on the website is limited, so be sure to call and ask questions when making your reservation.

Room Tip: Small hotel might fill up quickly during local holidays and events. Book in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pferdina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cayla F, Manager at Pocahontas Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2012

There is always a desk clerk at the hotel. The desk closes at 10 p.m. but there is a night clerk here, you just need to dial 0 on the telephone and you will be assisted with anything you might need or if you need to check-in late.

We do now offer online booking. Just log on to our website: pocahontasinnandsuites.com and click on "Book It"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (17)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 17 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2011

Pros:
The beds were really comfy!
You can select to keep the fan "on" - meaning it won't just turn on when the heat/AC goes on - a definite plus to drowning out noise!

Cons:
This place was loud - not only could you hear the typical door slamming but I could near my neighbor's TV and whenever he coughed.
There aren't a lot of places to eat in Pocahontas (not the hotel's fault)
The breakfast was just ok - mostly cold cereal and donuts
The people running the place are pretty unorganized.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank laewagne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2011

Husband works on turbines and my 2yr old daughter and i stayed with. Postivie Features: very clean, comfortable room, spacious, really nice shower with great pressure, pillowtop mattresses, well lit, includes cable and fridge, nice mirrors and exellent air conditioner. Negative features: no microwave in room but there is one in lobby, the top lock on our door was broken, smaller tv (expected a lil bigger.) , doesnt come with pool, hot tub or even a playgroud for families. I expect to have a pool or something to entertain a child if im paying 73 a night.

Room Tip: go somewhere else unless ur rich
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aabbott90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cayla F, Manager at Pocahontas Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2012

We are in a very small town. There is a very nice pool just four blocks away and a very nice park just on the otherside of the pool. There is also a very nice library in town. Lots of things to entertain children!

We have 27" TV's in our standard rooms and 32" TV's in our suites. We are currently in the process of upgrading our televisions to HD LCD TV's. We will have 32" TV's in our standard rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2010

We stayed at the Pocahontas Inn & Suites in July for a quick over night stay. It was nice and roomy. Worth the money paid. It would have been nicer with a pool. The bathroom was really big, and the beds were nice.We had to use a pack and play they provided and it was not as clean but it did the job. If we were there again we would for sure stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ebennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2009

This is a new motel that opened in Jan 2007. They have to be the nicest accommodations in Pocahontas County (in NW Iowa) now. We had been staying in Storm Lake previously whenever we went to visit my aunt, but now we will be returning here I'm sure.

We had a double queen suite for a very reasonable price (under $100). It was a corner room on the second floor, so we had two windows. It was very clean and nicely appointed, and very spacious -- including a big bathroom that was separate from the vanity/sink area, which is always handy so that two people can be using the facilities at one time. The room also included a refridgerator. Comfortable beds -- got a good night's sleep. A continental breakfast is also available in the morning -- with pretty much the standard fare.

I'm sure that this is where we will be staying again when we visit my aunt next year.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Weston66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Pocahontas Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pocahontas Inn & Suites

Address: 11 East Elm Avenue, Pocahontas, IA
Region: United States > Iowa > Pocahontas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pocahontas
Price Range: £70 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pocahontas Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Pocahontas Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing