We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentic Island experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ticao Island Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ticao Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ticao Island
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Authentic Island experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

Stayed in mid May, we went mainly for the diving. Great diving & snorkelling at San Miguel area & the Manta Bowl which wasn't really going while we were there but we still saw 1 Manta on each of 3 dives. Rooms were comfy and built of local materials all meals included and very nice. Always plenty to eat and the staff are fantastic - our main waitress Reesa was awesome and Supervisor Vicki was great, always available to answer questions or supply info on anything. Great to sit on the beach, lay in a hammock or sit on your verandah after a dive and watch the horses with their foals or even the occasional water buffalo wander past, the latter usually dragging a trailer loaded with cocoanuts. Flanked by local villages we felt a part of the Island, always a great thing in a new country. No swimming pool but swim in front of your room right off the beach and get fit having fun.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    23
    2
    0
    4
See reviews for
17
30
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

I traveled here alone in May 2014. I came to the Philippines mostly as a diving holiday. The place overall was absolutely beautiful. The service was superb, the board meals included with your stay were the best part. Every night all the resort guests would have their own tables that you sat at for your whole stay. There were only a few other people staying there for most of my trip and the last few days only one other guest. Therefore the staff all know you and exactly what you like. You don't order they bring you out whatever they are cooking that night. I didn't have one bad meal there, it was all fresh fish, fresh fruit and veg, very healthy meals, perfectly prepared. It had the comforts and service of a 5 star resort but still maintained the laid back, remote island vibe. The cabanas are all right on the beach, all have air conditioning. I heard a couple of guests complain about no tvs and the unreliable wifi but I think that's one of the great things about coming to a place this far from cities or mainland, to disconnect. When you're not diving there are kayaks that are free to use and the option of horseback riding. Would love to return one day as they made me so comfortable. Highly recommended. It's definitely not for those looking to party, very chilled out quiet place, great for solo traveling or romantic trip with a partner.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank alk920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
83 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

After 2 hours of boat from Donsol you'll finally reach this beautiful resort around 4PM. The only one on this beach. Confortable bungalows with very friendly and professional staff (under the surveillance of Vicky) ! Mixed european and Philippino's tastefull food at each meals. You'll, enjoy hamocs under the palm trees on the beach Every morning they clean it. 2 friendly villages around (5mn) except for "saturday night fever" (high acoustic level until midnight). For wi-fi take care because the signal is very (very !) low. You can choose 2 or 3 dives a day, most of the times on Manta bowl. It's a drift dive with a hook in order to stay around the mantas area. Dive staff is really professional netherthless for experienced divers only because of unusual current. You'll enjoy your diving experience in such a place !!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank philgbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend and I visited Ticao Island Resort on the first week of February. The island is lovely, beach is clean, room is spacious, food is great, diving is excellent. But what makes this resort a 5 star is really its staff.

We booked our trip directly with the resort, Jessica was our trip consultant. She is absolutely fabulous. She explained in details about everything we needed to know pre-trip. We gave her a list of activities that we wanted to do and she was able to help us customize our itinerary in a way that minimize our transfer time. She even added us on whatsapp so we can ask her questions when we need to and she always comes back with an instant reply. This kind of pre-trip service is something that I have never had from other resort before. For this, we already had a very good impression to start our trip with.

The transfer from the airport from the resort seems to us a bit of a mission at the beginning. But we were wrong. The transfer was absolutely stress-free. As soon as you arrive at Legazpi airport, you would see the pick up crew waiting for you at the luguage area. We jumped into an air conditioned mini van and the van had just my girlfriend and myself. Then we took a boat from Donsol to Ticao. The transfer is very well arranged and there's always someone there to help you when you need it, you don't even have to carry your own luggage at all.

Once we arrived at the Ticao, the staff greeted us with a coconut drink and we thought that's a very nice touch after a 90 min boat ride. We settled down and then get ready for dinner. The food was perfect. All buffet style but while we were there for 7 nights the menu was never repeated. They have egg station in the morning and barbeque at night. The chef was absolutely a star. The dessert there was great too and we looked forward to it everyday.

We started diving on the second day. The diving was so great that my girlfriend and I did a total of 12 dives each. We went to Manta Bowl and San Maguel. GL was our dive master. He very super, very attentive, and was able to identify a lot of fish species to us. The coral at San Maguel was so beautiful with very unique structures. We saw many different kinds of fish, cow fish, puffer fish, sea snake, lion fish, box fish, and Manta Ray. At one of the dives we interacted with one of the manta for more than 5 min. It just kept circling above us and at some point it came so close that we could literally touched it but of course we didn't. That was my first time seeing a manta ray when diving and was a truly unforgettable moment.

One thing I need to say here, the dive crew here is super friendly and helpful. I have been to some nice resorts at Maldives before but I have never seen anyone as good as them. We were always given a private dive boat every time we dive. We decided every day what time and where we wanted to dive. The dive crew set up the equipment for us and they helped my girlfriend in and out of the water everytime. My girlfriend didn't even need to carry the equipment when she got back to the boat after dive because she found it too heavy, all she needed to do is to inflate the bcd and the dive crew would lift it up from the water. The fact that we could design our own dive plan and that the dive crew is so attentive here is one of the reasons making this resort stand out.

During the trip, we always did a firefly tour and fishing trip, they were all very good.

On the second last day of our trip, we stayed at Legazpi as we wanted to do the ATV trip. We drove up the volcano with the ATV. The view was beautiful and we took a lot of nice pictures. I would highly recommend this activity to everyone. Especially for adventurer, don't miss this.

All in all, our trip was perfect. Big thank you for all the staff especially Jessica and GL who made our trip so unforgettable. I would highly recommend this resort to everyone. Will we go back again? Definitely we will.


Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Jayyyyson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

This place is a real gem. It is so peaceful with nine beachfront villas, with large modern bathrooms. The resort is extremely clean and had horses, chickens and other animals running around.

We came here to dive and wished we stayed more days. The diving was amazing. We did three dives a day. The first dive was at San Miguel and then two at Manta Bowl. The macro life is amazing at San Miguel. We even saw mandarin fish, which can usually only be seem at dusk. Manta Bowl is a manta cleaning station where we saw mantas on every dive. Beware the current can be really strong, so reef hooks are recommended. The dive shop was extremely professional and looked after us and all our equipment extremely well. Divemaster GL is awesome at spotting the small creatures, but was the one who spotted all the manta rays first. The dive boat was large and it was great that it had a toilet. I’ve done over a 1000 dives all over the world so it takes a lot to impress me.

All meals are included in the room rate. The food was really good.

There is supposed to be internet access in the restaurant, even though we could connect the signal wasn’t strong enough to use it.

If you are into world case diving without the crowds, staying on a beautiful beach this is the place for you. The first day there were only three divers on our boat and we were the only boat. The second was just us three again, but there was a second boat with only three divers, who dived during our surface interval.

With the boat transfer times we didn’t arrive to 6.00pm and then had to depart at 8.00am. I would have liked to arrived earlier and depart later in the morning. But this was the only negative for me. If we had more time I would have liked to have gone on a horse trail ride.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AusFrequentTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

My husband and I spent a week on Ticao Island, staying at this resort. We had a wonderful week of scuba diving, snorkelling, kayaking, horseriding, sunbaking and relaxing! We stayed in a cabana by the water, which was cleaned daily and very nice. The shower always had hot water too. The staff at the resort were all very lovely, helpful and friendly. There's a restaurant at the resort, with yummy food and free wifi (though this only worked intermittently).
We did several dives over two days, at San Miguel and Manta Bowl. Both dive spots are awesome and we were able to see so much. There's also horses at the resort and kayaks, both of which are available for free if you stay around the resort area.
My only 'complaint' about this resort was the boat trip from Donsol to get there. The weather was terrible and raining, the water was extremely choppy with big swell and waves, and we were in an open boat with the sun rapidly setting. The trip took about 3 hours, due to the conditions, and we were soaking wet and freezing the whole time, as well as slightly scared due to the big swell! We arrived safe and sound though, and were warmly welcomed by the staff, who were waiting on shore with towels and coconuts. The boat trip back to Donsol was much better - it was a nice sunny day and the water was calm, so it was quite a pleasant trip.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

A buddy and I stayed at the Ticao Island Resort in February 2014 for two nights and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The resort is nestled between two small villages, where we encountered dozens of local children who eagerly greeted us as we walked the beach with countless "Hello...what's your name?" introductions.

The bungalows are very comfortable and spacious. The beds are simple, but comfortable. The restaurant offers buffet style meals, which are all-you-can-eat and more than satisfying after a day of scuba diving.

The island of Ticao is sparsely populated, so don't expect any excitement, but you'll catch some great sunrises and sunsets and plenty of lazy time to read a book in a hammock.

Definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JetpackAmerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ticao Island
21.8 mi away
Giddy's Place PADI Dive Resort
23.5 mi away
Vitton & Woodland Beach Resorts
23.7 mi away
Elysia Beach Resort
Elysia Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Donsol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
173.4 mi away
La Luz Beach Resort
La Luz Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Hugom
3.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
275.9 mi away
Kamana Sanctuary Resort and Spa
Kamana Sanctuary Resort and Spa
#6 of 15 in Subic Bay Freeport Zone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
173.2 mi away
Acuatico Beach Resort & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ticao Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ticao Island Resort

Property: Ticao Island Resort
Address: Tacdugan | San Jacinto, Luzon, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Bicol Region > Masbate Province > Ticao Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ticao Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Ticao Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ticao Island Hotel Masbate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing