We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”
Review of Blarcreen House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Blarcreen House
Ranked #1 of 1 Ardchattan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Very great night in this place. Don't be afraid of the road you have to make to go there....first the road is very interesting and second it worth it!
Great view on the loch and on the cows and sheeps around the house. Very nice breakfast. I definitely recommand it!

Très agréable nuit passée dans cette demeure. N'ayez pas peur du chemin qu'il y a à faire pour y aller...la route est très belle et ça vaut le coup!
Belle vue sur le loch et sur les vaches et les moutons autour de la maison. Très beau peti-déjeuner. Je recommande vivement cet endroit!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (144)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 144 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2013

The welcome we got was amazing. The room was clean and had everything we needed and breakfast was good. The location was peaceful, surrounded by fields with lovely views towards the lake. Definately would go back tomorrow if we could, wont get better hospitality than here.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lin_Evans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here overnight recently as part of a trip to Oban and the Isle of Mull. The B&B is in a really amazing location that's easy to find if you take the advice on the website, about 30 mins from Oban. The farmhouse is wonderful and the hosts are very welcoming. Everything in the house is immaculate and well-maintained. The rooms are really stunning and full of traditional character and touches. The little extras such as Green & Blacks/shortbread and the toiletries are really lovely. The surrounding views are stunning and the paths nearby good for a light bit of exploring around the Loch (tip, bring wellies!), but if the weather is bad they have a snug with books, dvds etc too. Breakfast was wonderful and we left feeling ready for our long drive ahead. I would recommend this place to friends and family, and for the price I would say it's a real bargain!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Scottish B& B's are improving, but the quality is still very variable, and few are of the standard of top quality B&B's in England. This one is.
Blarcreen is on the northern shore of beautiful Loch Etive, and is about a 15 minute drive from Connel Bridge, along a single track road with passing places. It is about 500 yards past the point where a smaller road joins from the left. But it is worth the trouble finding it, since the accommodation, food and welcoming service are of the highest quality.
For anyone looking to stay in the Oban/FortWilliam area this could be ideal.

PaulW

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulW83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We had a brief but really good stay at Blarcreen House. The setting is stunningly beautiful, the hosts very welcoming and our four-poster-bed bedroom and well-equipped bathroom gorgeous. Everything was clean and fresh and of the highest quality and the little extras - like tea and home-made shortbread when we arrived, and lovely Scottish toiletries in the bathroom, made this the most luxurious and special stay and made our weekend break feel like a proper holiday. Thank you Sian and Gary.

Room Tip: The bedroom with the four poster bed and windows on two sides had lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

I'lunning place surrounded by stunning scenery and great hosts.
Don't miss this place....
One of the nicest places I've stayed in within the UK.
Ideal for walking, waterside activities and as a base.


Thanksfor the stay.....I'llbe back.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flockmill1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Stuart and Deborah.
We stayed with Sian and Gary for the first time on 7th May 2013, great friendly greeting, we were then offered tea and cake in the garden as it was such a nice afternoon. Being cheeky we had a bottle of bubbly in the car and asked if they minded if we had it in the garden, Sian was more than happy and got us glasses and even chilled the bottle for us. As she had been so great we invited her to join us for a glass! Dinner was home cooked and really tasty (you do have to book this in advance and we were glad we did) the whole meal was lovely and very well priced. Our room had great views with the loch in the distance looking out over sheep fields and spring baby lambs running about. The bed was a four poster and the room was really clean and tidy with a well appointed en-suite bathroom. Blarcreen House is a little hidden away gem and we look forward to staying again when next in Scotland. Thanks again Sian and Gary great place!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StuartB228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ardchattan
4.7 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
492 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Brander Lodge Hotel & Bistro
21.3 mi away
The Creggans Inn
The Creggans Inn
#1 of 1 in Strachur
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Holly Tree Hotel
Holly Tree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kentallen
897 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Taynuilt
The Taynuilt
#1 of 2 in Taynuilt
316 reviews
8.9 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blarcreen House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blarcreen House

Address: Ardchattan | Oban, Argyll, Ardchattan PA37 1RG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Ardchattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Ardchattan
Price Range: £117 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Blarcreen House 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blarcreen House is a Victorian granite farmhouse in beautiful, peaceful surroundings on the shore of Loch Etive, 12 miles from Oban. 5 star rating from the AA. Home cooking and Licensed with king size four poster rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Blarcreen House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing