We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riverside Casino & Golf Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Riverside
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very nice room”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

This is a very nice place to stay. Room was comfortable and top-notch. Glass shower that looks into the bed area, might be fun if traveling with my girl instead of for business. A restaurant and buffet in the hotel, I tried the restaurant and it was ok. Of course the casino is right there.

The room was booked and paid for by an associate, I'm not sure what my room cost. I have watched the website, and it looks like it largely depends on how many rooms they have left. If I could get in for $100-110 a night I would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RCGR, General Manager at Riverside Casino & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
On behalf of Riverside Casino & Golf Resort, I extend our sincere appreciation for your recent stay. The next time you are here, whether for business or pleasure, please try another one of our four restaurants: Ruthie’s Steak & Seafood, a modern upscale steakhouse; Ripple Diner, featuring quick café style favorites; Ripple Express, a 24 hour deli with coffee, pastries, sandwiches and more; and Robert’s Buffet, open for breakfast, lunch, and dinner.

Don’t forget to sign up for our free player’s club—the Resort Club. This is the best path to discounted room offers, free slot play, & more.

Sincerely,

Dan Franz, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    73
    27
    17
    15
See reviews for
38
108
10
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Johnston, Iowa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

Room was nice, clean and well maintained. I stayed four nights while on business. My only complaint would be I plugged my phone into the lamp by the nightstand the first night and turned the lights out, this also turned the outlet off so my phone did not charge over night. Stay away from Ripples when eating food is horrible. Ruthies was good and the buffet is not too bad either.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank TheBandit78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

Spent two days at this hotel/casino property recently. Very nice, comfortable hotel. I'm not a gambler so can't vouch for the casino, but husband was lucky. Had a nice dinner the first evening. Our only complaint--there was no breakfast restaurant open on the weekday we were there. Our only choices were the buffet or a pastry shop. We do not like buffets or pastries so we left and went elsewhere. I would recommend this place for a Friday, Saturday, or Sunday.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank takeatripsoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RCGR, General Manager at Riverside Casino & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thank you for post about your recent visit to Riverside Casino and Golf Resort®. We were happy to hear you enjoyed your getaway and that our hotel was nice and comfy. Sorry to hear you and your husband are not breakfast buffet fans. Robert’s Buffet offers a huge variety of hot prepared items , fresh fruits, breakfast cereals and made to order eggs and omelets--all served by a very friendly and efficient staff. We certainly appreciate and understand that buffets are not for everyone, but we hope you give us a chance on your next getaway.

Sincerely,

Dan Franz, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houghton Lake, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

My hubby & I are on a road trip to Vegas & felt we needed little practice (lol) so we decided to check this place out. It was a little out of the way but we found out it was worth it.

Staff: EVERYONE was friendly and helpful--especially Savannah at the hotel desk. We asked for a better rate & she discounted the room by $30! (No worries Riverside. We gave it back in the casino.)

Room: Our room, #224, was a King Deluxe, smoking room but we were assured it was the same quality as the non-smoking rooms. While it did smell like smoke, it wasn't bad and lighting a candle seemed to remedy it nicely. The room was modern & comfortable with electronic drapes & shower curtain. Good towels & linens, comfy bed & pillows & a duvet cover instead of a bed spread. The bathroom was very nice & roomy with a granite counter top, single sink & an awesome shower with lots of hot water & good pressure. My only complaint here was the extremely thin toilet paper. The room had a flat screen TV on the wall that didn't move and there were a few HD channels available. For the techies, there was a charge for Wi-Fi ($9.95) and not a lot of extra outlets for tech gear. There was a lamp on the desk with an accessible outlet on it though. The chair in the room should have been comfortable but was broken. That is, when you sat in it, you almost hit the floor. We did leave a note about this so hopefully it will be repaired or replaced. The fridge was a plus, many casino rooms don't have them, & it had a small freezer for our cooler ice packs. There were also real coffee mugs & glasses and a full length mirror.

Casino: It was a Friday night and there were a fair amount of people. It didn't seem smoky at all and there were also non-smoking sections for slots & table games. The casino was fairly large with nice water features and good entertainment. Although we weren't lucky, we still enjoyed the atmossphere.

Food: We only ate breakfast and it was a buffet but we found it to be an excellent value. For $8.99 plus tax there was a lot of variety--french toast, waffles, several different egg dishes, made-to-order omlets, potatoes, bacon sausage, breakfast breads & muffins, fresh fruit, cereal and yogurt. The price also includes coffee, juice & milk. And everything we ate was delicious!

Shopping: In addition to the gift & sundries store, there was a great women's boutique with lots of great clothing, handbags & jewelry.

Needless to say, we wouldn't hesitate to spend time here again!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank me1215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morris, Minnesota
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

This hotel and casino is by far the best I have experienced. The staff is friendly and helpful. Love, love the rooms. Unbelieveable shower. Rooms are large and very clean. My only complaint is that our shower curtain was ripped on both sides...those details should not be overlooked. Great place to stay & play.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 320Joyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RCGR, Hotel Director at Riverside Casino & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
We are very excited to hear that you had such a wonderful time during your visit! A compliment of that stature means the world to all of us at Riverside Casino and Golf Resort®. A hotel room refurbishment project is currently underway. Over 80 non-smoking rooms will be refreshed by November 2013 with new linens, flooring, and 42” flat screen televisions. Your patronage and feedback is appreciated and we hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Suzanne Linton, Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

When we checked in, it looked like it would have killed the girl checking us in if she smiled and was actually courteous. It was late at night, so maybe she just wasn't happy that she had to work the night shift. Room was ok, but don't understand the whole shower curtain on the OUTSIDE of the shower, and good thing we weren't staying with another couple, because when you shower, anyone on the outside of the bathroom, can see right thru the curtain! The wife had a problem with one of the slot machines, and was treated very badly by some short dark haired woman by the name of Dora. She made her feel like she was trying to cheat the machine or something, when it was the machine that messed up. Dora should take a course in what customer service is all about! Ate at Ripples Diner, and the food was not that good. Ate breakfast at the buffet, food was just ok, but a little pricey for just a buffet style meal, have had much better food and less pricey at other nearby casinos. We weren't overly impressed with the resort, especially the way the slot person treated my wife, so we won't be back.

Room Tip: Don't travel with another couple, unless you want to be VERY open in the shower, you can see EVE...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank centralman98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RCGR, General Manager at Riverside Casino & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
On behalf of our entire operation at Riverside Casino and Golf Resort®, I offer my apologies for the discourteous staff members you encountered. Here at our resort, the guest is our number one priority and we refuse to accept anything less than the absolute best in customer service out of our employees. We are consistently offering and implementing new guest services training and education in an effort to remind and reinforce that you, the guest, always comes first. With regards to the hotel shower glass, we do offer different room types including a double queen room with bathtub and no glass shower wall.

Dan Franz – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Iowa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

Stayed overnight and had a wonderful time. The slots were pretty loose, didn't lose much! Casino was clean and so was the room. We were walking around when we heard the band start up. Went over to listen to some "oldies". Couldn't really see any seats available so stood on the perimeter when an usher came up and asked if we wanted seats. We said o.k. and he then took us to the front row where there were two seats lesft. We sat and enjoyed the show.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riverside
12.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Coralville - Iowa River Landing
10.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Iowa City/University Area
12.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Iowa City / Coralville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Sheraton Iowa City Hotel
Sheraton Iowa City Hotel
#2 of 6 in Iowa City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
12.6 mi away
Coralville Marriott Hotel & Conference Center
13.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Coralville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Casino & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Casino & Golf Resort

Property: Riverside Casino & Golf Resort
Address: 3184 Highway 22, Riverside, IA 52327-9690
Region: United States > Iowa > Riverside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Riverside
Hotel Class:4 star — Riverside Casino & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What does it mean to Live it Up? You'll find out the moment you enter Riverside Casino & Golf Resort(R). From the magnificent fountains that greet you as you approach the main entrance to the luxurious surroundings of our casino, hotel, spa, golf course, event center, indoor/outdoor pool and multiple food outlets, every aspect of Riverside Casino & Golf Resort(R) is designed for one special reason - your total enjoyment. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riverside Casino & Golf Hotel Riverside
Riverside Casino And Golf Resort
Riverside Casino & Golf Resort Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing