We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"A little bit of heaven on earth"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bois Bourdet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bois Bourdet
Ranked #1 of 1 Souvigne B&B and Inns
Surrey
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“"A little bit of heaven on earth"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2010

As soon as we arrived at Bois Bourdet on a balmy summers evening to be met with a warm welcome and the offer of a cold beer I knew this wasn't going to be our last visit. It wasn't ! Hosts, Les and Lou and charming daughter Ellie couldn't have been more accomodating during our stay in this rural idyll. Each of the cottages has been lovingly and sympathetically restored to a high standard and we felt completely spoilt. Home grown organic vegetables and herbs were in abundant supply and chickens running around the gardens just added to the charm of this beautiful place. The ultimate in chill out holidays and I haven't even mentioned the amazing food.

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank madmanda19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
3
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Guernsey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2010

We love this place so much that we are about to go back for our fifth visit! We have been at all times of the year, including Christmas and have always had a fantastic time, with plenty to do. The gite has the feel and quality of a boutique hotel, but with Les and Louise's warm family welcome. Nothing is too much trouble and the home-cooked dinners are amazing. The only problem we have with recommending Bois Bourdet is that we don't want too many people to know about it!

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Guernsey01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West London
Level Contributor
77 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2010

I have to admit I am reluctant to write this review, as I would prefer (for selfish reasons) for Bois Bourdet to remain the well-kept secret it's been to date! But knowing what a shortage there is of family friendly holidays out there, and how desperately parents with small children deserve a relaxing annual break, I have relented. We stayed here with our two toddlers in La Bergerie and enjoyed a blissful two weeks of swimming in the pool, watching the children play happily with the chickens, sandpit and playhouse and exploring the beautiful countryside and markets. Best of all, Les and Louise are amazing cooks and the 3/4 courses with wine they serve at the end of a hard day relaxing in the french sunshine are simply amazing. Les and Louise are the most wonderful of hosts and do everything they can to make everyone's stay extra special. And its less than 11 weeks now still our next stay there :)

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kicki1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2009

We have just planned 3rd trip to Bois Bourdet with our children (6 and 9) and we really couldn't wish for a more perfect holiday. Les and Louise really have given 100% in making this a wonderful family holiday.

Situated at the end of a country lane, and fully secure and away from any traffic these farm buildings have been lovingly restored to a very high standard. The children are completely safe to play in the spacious gardens or lovely warm swimming pool, they can collect eggs from the hens or pick some wonderful organic veg, and the grown ups can sit and relax over coffee on the terasse, plan a trip to the local market or just chill.

Les and Louise are the perfect hosts, they are very welcoming and obviously love what they do. They also offer meals which are superb - you must not visit here without eating in! Louise's dauphinoise potatoes are to die for, and as for the desserts...wow!
It is such a treat as a busy mum, to be presented with an amazing michelin quality meal at the end of the day.

We cannot recommend Bois Bourdet highly enough. It is fantastic!!! We can't wait to visit again next summer.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GingerHereford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Souvigne
3.8 mi away
Hortencia Hotel du Cheval Blanc
Hortencia Hotel du Cheval Blanc
#2 of 2 in Saint-Maixent-l'Ecole
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
3.0 mi away
Le Mouillage Vert
Le Mouillage Vert
#2 of 2 in La Mothe St Heray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
6.6 mi away
La Villa Camille
La Villa Camille
#1 of 3 in La Creche
5.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Yourte au Paradis
Yourte au Paradis
#1 of 1 in Souvigne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Bois Bourdet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bois Bourdet

Property: Bois Bourdet
Address: Lieu Dit Bois Bourdet, 79800 Souvigne, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Deux-Sevres > Souvigne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Souvigne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bois Bourdet is a beautifully restored 18th-century farmhouse set in six acres of secluded grounds, amidst the lovely countryside of the Poitou-Charentes region of France with amenities and attractions close by. Offering total comfort and relaxation, the farmhouse and two barns have been converted into luxurious holiday accommodation for both self-catering and Bed & Breakfast guests. All three properties have been equipped and modernised to an exceptional standard, yet still retain their original character and charm.Come and enjoy the beautiful unspoilt countryside, historic towns and villages, the lifestyle and the delicious food and wine that this lovely region has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you to Bois Bourdet very soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Bois Bourdet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing