We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Farmhouse - great for kids - Fab meals!”
Review of Bois Bourdet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bois Bourdet
Ranked #1 of 1 Souvigne B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Gorgeous Farmhouse - great for kids - Fab meals!”
Reviewed 16 June 2010

Just spent a very enjoyable week at Bois Bourdet. The Farmhouse has everything we needed. There was loads for the kids to do; giant sandpit, swings & slides, wendy house, trampoline and a lovely warm swimming pool + toys in the farmhouse for them to play with.
Louise cooks a fantastic evening meal - which we enjoyed on numerous evenings as couldn't be bothered to cook for ourselves.
Really recommend it especially if you have small children, the only problem was we had to go home!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy_Willcox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
3
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 June 2010

Have just returned from a weeks stay at Bois Bourdet with our three children (ages 2, 4 and 11). We had a super time. Bois Bourdet is just stunning, with great attention to detail. Our children just loved pottering around the garden in the playhouse, hammock, swimming pool, sandpit and feeding the chickens.
There is huge amounts of garden for the children to play in and the whole property just feels so exclusive. The hosts Les and Louise are lovely, warm, genuine people and you are made to feel very welcome. The food is fantastic and parents can relax and wind down while the children are in bed. It is just truly a little piece of paradise. If you want a holiday in beautiful surroundings with great food and lovely hosts, this is definitely the place.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JConnelly77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2010

Our experience at Bois Bourdet was second to none. We arrived with our 17 month old son with all of the amenities you need for a young child, including cot, high chair, changing mat, bowls and cutlery and a bath, and even a basket of toys! We even arrived to fresh milk and yoghurt for our son as requested along with a sumptuous welcome pack. Lou and Les served us a fantastic 3 course dinner on our terrace 3 nights, knowing our son was safely tucked up in bed. Our son adored chasing the chickens, going in the heated pool and playing in the sandpit and wooden house. We took advantage of the freshly laid eggs and helped ourselves to salads from the vegetable patch and strawberries and cherries. We stayed in Le Petit Maison and the accommodation was stunning, with a particular attention to detail. Loved it, loved it, loved it. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chummy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 May 2010

Our 2 week stay at Bois Bourdet with our 2.5 year old daughter was a fantastic success! Louise, Les & Ellie were fantastic hosts, helping us to make the most of our stay but letting us have our space despite only living next door! The accommodation and set-up at Bois Bourdet is just perfect for children- trampoline, playhouse, sandpit not to mention the pizza-making and friendly chickens! The evening meals provided by Louise & Les (if required) are perfect for adults as it's like eating a restaurant just right next door without worrying about travel or baby-sitters!
All in all, a very relaxing 2 weeks, we shall certainly be back!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendycobley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tavistock, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 May 2010

It is just brilliant! If you want a place to stay that is relaxed and comfortable yet child friendly, this is the place. The hosts are fantastic along with their food (defiantly not a treat not to be missed) their attitude to assisting you with getting the best from your holiday it first rate. So if you want a great place to base yourselves for your French vacation, I think you would be hard pushed to find it elsewhere

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davejoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 May 2010

We really couldn't fault our stay at Bois Bourdet - the location in the heart of the French countryside is lovely, and the farm itself has been restored to a high standard without sacrificing the character of the buildings or setting.

The facilities, especially for young children, are brilliant, with a large garden, safe and clean pool, sandpit, and trampoline (not to mention the chickens who provided endless entertainment for our 3-year old). There is plenty to do in the local area - plenty of characterful French towns and villages, countryside and zoos and park - and the coast is only a hour away.

Les and Louise were perfect hosts, always on hand when needed. You can tell they love living there and running the place and it really shows through.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmlc133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thailand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2010

From the time you arrive you feel totally welcome and step into a charming, clean house.
Les and Louise have made it very unique and added lots of special touches.
We as a young family have stayed here a few times and we are still excited about staying a fourth time later this year..
The food is delightful and I'd personally say better than most restaurants. T he pool is spotless. The garden is beautiful.
The local area is easy to explore. Coulon area is great to visit and The monkey park is a fun day out .
Make a special drive to Rochelle and Il De Rie and to the lovely beaches.
Even though you are on a family holiday - It is still a relaxing one !

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BelleThailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Souvigne
4.6 mi away
Le Logis du Four
Le Logis du Four
#1 of 1 in Soudan
9 reviews
2.5 mi away
No photo provided
Le Corneille
#1 of 2 in La Mothe St Heray
12 reviews
3.6 mi away
No photo provided
Chateau de La Fontenelle
#1 of 1 in Sainte Neomaye
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Le Logis Saint Martin
Le Logis Saint Martin
#2 of 2 in Saint-Maixent-l'Ecole
100 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Bois Bourdet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bois Bourdet

Property: Bois Bourdet
Address: Lieu Dit Bois Bourdet, 79800 Souvigne, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Deux-Sevres > Souvigne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Souvigne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bois Bourdet is a beautifully restored 18th-century farmhouse set in six acres of secluded grounds, amidst the lovely countryside of the Poitou-Charentes region of France with amenities and attractions close by. Offering total comfort and relaxation, the farmhouse and two barns have been converted into luxurious holiday accommodation for both self-catering and Bed & Breakfast guests. All three properties have been equipped and modernised to an exceptional standard, yet still retain their original character and charm.Come and enjoy the beautiful unspoilt countryside, historic towns and villages, the lifestyle and the delicious food and wine that this lovely region has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you to Bois Bourdet very soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bois Bourdet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing