We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect holiday location for a family with young children”
Review of Bois Bourdet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bois Bourdet
Ranked #1 of 1 Souvigne B&B and Inns
Essex
1 review
“Perfect holiday location for a family with young children”
Reviewed 18 August 2010

We have just returned from a fantastic fortnight stay at Bois Bourdet with our 2 young children (5 and 2 years old).

The children loved the secure gardens where they could play and roam freely. They enjoyed the sandpit, wendy house, swings and trampoline and we had many happy hours in the lovely, heated pool. The children particularly miss feeding the chickens!

The accomodation itself was very comfortable and had everything we could need. It was lovely to be able to help ourselves to the fresh vegetables from the garden (cucumber, salad leaves and tomato at the moment) for our own meals. We loved the fresh eggs as well. The best bit was Les and Louise's fantastic home cooked meals - a real treat in self-catering accomodation. Louise even made a beautiful sponge cake to celebrate our daughter's 5th birthday.

We had a fantastic holiday at Bois Bourdet. It is a perfect place for a young family - lots for the children to do and a chance for adults to relax too.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebbieB275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
3
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sussex
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2010

Bois Bourdet offers the perfect blend of adult relaxation (remember those child free holidays!) whilst being a great child-friendly location allowing the little ones to enjoy themselves in the great outdoors at the same time. We had as relaxing a holiday as a break with a toddler can be! Our very lively 21 month old enjoyed feeding the chickens, picking (eating the majority) fresh strawberries, playing on the swings, slide, wendy house and swimming in the lovely heated pool. We enjoyed dining on our private terrace whilst Les & Louise (the perfect hosts) served us with delicious home cooked cuisine. We could also relax in the knowledge that we were close on hand should our toddler escape her cot (a favourite pastime) yet still enjoy some much needed adult time as eating out had become a thing of the past. Bois Bourdet offers a perfect combination of self catering with the option of having a fantastic meal cooked for you on those nights where you want to spoil yourselves. The only downside was the weight gain from such good food and only having stayed for one week. Next time we will book two! Thank you Les & Louise for making us feel human again!!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 June 2010

Just spent a very enjoyable week at Bois Bourdet. The Farmhouse has everything we needed. There was loads for the kids to do; giant sandpit, swings & slides, wendy house, trampoline and a lovely warm swimming pool + toys in the farmhouse for them to play with.
Louise cooks a fantastic evening meal - which we enjoyed on numerous evenings as couldn't be bothered to cook for ourselves.
Really recommend it especially if you have small children, the only problem was we had to go home!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy_Willcox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 June 2010

Have just returned from a weeks stay at Bois Bourdet with our three children (ages 2, 4 and 11). We had a super time. Bois Bourdet is just stunning, with great attention to detail. Our children just loved pottering around the garden in the playhouse, hammock, swimming pool, sandpit and feeding the chickens.
There is huge amounts of garden for the children to play in and the whole property just feels so exclusive. The hosts Les and Louise are lovely, warm, genuine people and you are made to feel very welcome. The food is fantastic and parents can relax and wind down while the children are in bed. It is just truly a little piece of paradise. If you want a holiday in beautiful surroundings with great food and lovely hosts, this is definitely the place.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JConnelly77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2010

Our experience at Bois Bourdet was second to none. We arrived with our 17 month old son with all of the amenities you need for a young child, including cot, high chair, changing mat, bowls and cutlery and a bath, and even a basket of toys! We even arrived to fresh milk and yoghurt for our son as requested along with a sumptuous welcome pack. Lou and Les served us a fantastic 3 course dinner on our terrace 3 nights, knowing our son was safely tucked up in bed. Our son adored chasing the chickens, going in the heated pool and playing in the sandpit and wooden house. We took advantage of the freshly laid eggs and helped ourselves to salads from the vegetable patch and strawberries and cherries. We stayed in Le Petit Maison and the accommodation was stunning, with a particular attention to detail. Loved it, loved it, loved it. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chummy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 May 2010

Our 2 week stay at Bois Bourdet with our 2.5 year old daughter was a fantastic success! Louise, Les & Ellie were fantastic hosts, helping us to make the most of our stay but letting us have our space despite only living next door! The accommodation and set-up at Bois Bourdet is just perfect for children- trampoline, playhouse, sandpit not to mention the pizza-making and friendly chickens! The evening meals provided by Louise & Les (if required) are perfect for adults as it's like eating a restaurant just right next door without worrying about travel or baby-sitters!
All in all, a very relaxing 2 weeks, we shall certainly be back!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendycobley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tavistock, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 May 2010

It is just brilliant! If you want a place to stay that is relaxed and comfortable yet child friendly, this is the place. The hosts are fantastic along with their food (defiantly not a treat not to be missed) their attitude to assisting you with getting the best from your holiday it first rate. So if you want a great place to base yourselves for your French vacation, I think you would be hard pushed to find it elsewhere

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davejoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Souvigne
2.5 mi away
No photo provided
Le Corneille
#1 of 2 in La Mothe St Heray
15 reviews
3.5 mi away
Le Logis Saint Martin
Le Logis Saint Martin
#2 of 2 in Saint-Maixent-l'Ecole
104 reviews
0.6 mi away
Yourte au Paradis
Yourte au Paradis
#1 of 1 in Souvigne
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bois Bourdet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bois Bourdet

Property: Bois Bourdet
Address: Lieu Dit Bois Bourdet, 79800 Souvigne, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Deux-Sevres > Souvigne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Souvigne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bois Bourdet is a beautifully restored 18th-century farmhouse set in six acres of secluded grounds, amidst the lovely countryside of the Poitou-Charentes region of France with amenities and attractions close by. Offering total comfort and relaxation, the farmhouse and two barns have been converted into luxurious holiday accommodation for both self-catering and Bed & Breakfast guests. All three properties have been equipped and modernised to an exceptional standard, yet still retain their original character and charm.Come and enjoy the beautiful unspoilt countryside, historic towns and villages, the lifestyle and the delicious food and wine that this lovely region has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you to Bois Bourdet very soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Bois Bourdet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing