We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay!”

Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sheldon
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Management of this hotel is superb! Very friendly and helpful. I used to stay here every month when I traveled for business. It's just like home to me! Excellent breakfast bar. If you have kids, this property has a very large swimming pool. I would recommend this property to everyone.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheldon_Express, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Thank you so much for the great review! I have passed your comments to all the staff. We are so happy to hear you enjoy your stay whenever you are here! We look forward to seeing you again real soon! Thanks Again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (50)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2013

We stay at this hotel every time we are in the area. It is clean, well maintained, and very dependable. Staff at the front desk are very friendly. The room was clean. The breakfast area is well stocked, and staffed well enough to keep up with the busy morning breakfast hour. Breakfast offerings are the usual Holiday Inn Express hot and cold selections-plenty for all to choose from. Stay away from room 307! The laundry chute is right outside the room door, and despite the early hour (starting at 7:30am) the housekeeper YELLED 'look out below!!' each time she opened the door and threw linens down the chute! I'm sure that we were not the only guests in that hallway that found that ridiculous.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

This newer hotel is on the outskirts of Sheldon, close to State Route 60. There are a gas station, a McDonalds, a Chinese restaurant, and a terrible Mexican restaurant nearby but otherwise you need a car to go anywhere. The rooms are clean and have a fridge and a microwave. Windows open. Room was clean and the bed was comfortable. Lots of hot water. The hotel has an indoor pool and an exercise room, but I did not use either. Staff are friendly and helpful. It is nice that they put the breakfast out before the official starting time for those who have to leave before 6:30 AM. Breakfast includes eggs, pancakes, bacon, biscuits and gravy, cereals, yogurt, and bananas. Only negative is the noisy heat pump unit. Rooms are quiet and you don't hear the neighbors through the walls or floor. The hotel has a few meeting rooms.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms next to the elevator shaft.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wguterbock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Not many places to stay in northwest Iowa but this one was perfect. The rooms were clean and the staff was friendly. We have stayed in many places but this one by far is one of the best! Larger indoor pool than most, breakfast was nice and plenty of items to pick from and the cinnamon rolls were the best!!

Room Tip: 2nd floor above the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank titan299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

I'm hard to please when it comes to motels and hotels. This place is a strong performer based upon 3 different stays over a few years. It's a newer Holiday Inn Express with nice rooms with good features. The rooms are quiet.. did I say .. QUIET. Every time we stay the place is mobbed and full - but we never hear a soul - good construction with sound proofing. The staff is ALWAYS polite and friendly. I wish the blankets were a bit heavier but that's the only thing. Very comfortable and located right off the expressway. I highly recommend this place. The price is a bit more than the competition but you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TheWash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

I stopped because I was too tired to drive further and it was the only hotel in 50 miles. It is a gem of a find. The rooms were clean, comfortable and huge. The attached pool had reasonable hours so I could get a swim and hot tub in at 5:30 AM. Breakfast was great - be sure to at least WATCH the pancake machine! Staff was cheerful and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dmcarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

I can not believe how new this hotel looks for this hotel being five years old! The rooms are very spotless and kept very nice. I really had a relaxing stay. They have a huge pool! The biggest hotel pool i have seen and the hottub was so relaxing. The breakfast had many choices wether hot or cold and they alwayd have fresh hot coffee available at all hours of the day! The staff were incredible, they actually make conversation with you and always wanted to make sure my stay was as perfect as could be. Coming here is a home away from home. It feels like family when you walk in, the staff is just so sweet! I stayed for a few days and everyone i encountered was great and talkative! I will definatly be staying here again, and again!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moosegoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sheldon
20.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sioux Center
2 mi away
Super 8 Sheldon
Super 8 Sheldon
#2 of 4 in Sheldon
69 reviews
2.1 mi away
Iron horse Inn
Iron horse Inn
#3 of 4 in Sheldon
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites

Address: 201 34th Ave, Sheldon, IA 51201-7611
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Sheldon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sheldon
Price Range: £90 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find Rest at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites in Sheldon, Iowa Quiet and small, Sheldon, Iowa is the perfect town to enjoy a restful stay. Our Sheldon hotel is conveniently located within a short drive to many different attractions and businesses. The Sheldon Municipal Airport (KSHL)and the city center are within 2 miles of our Sheldon accommodations, making us the perfect destination for business travelers. Our hotel is near companies like Maintainer Corp., Data Dimensions, Rosenboom Machine & Tool and KT Industries, and we are just three miles from the Community Convention Center. Leisure travelers can explore Sheldon and get a glimpse of the beautiful Midwest. You can play 9 holes of golf at the Sheldon Golf and Country Club, only 3 miles from our 100% Smoke-Free Sheldon hotel, or you can visit the Sheldon Competition Park for a kart or motocross race. And the new outdoor Sheldon Aquatic Center is open from Memorial Day to Labor Day. This pet-friendly Sheldon hotel is the perfect place to unwind. We offer you choice amenities, including an indoor competition-size pool, a wading pool with fun features, and a whirlpool. You can visit the remodeled Fitness Center to work off the stresses of the day. You can stay connected with free high-speed, wired and wireless Internet access and start your day with a free Express Start breakfast. There's also a 24-hour business center. Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Sheldon Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Sheldon
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites
Sheldon Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sheldon, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing