We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off the beaten track but the Black Horse is a winner”
Review of Black Horse Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Black Horse Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sherrill
Certificate of Excellence
Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Off the beaten track but the Black Horse is a winner”
Reviewed 19 October 2012

The owner of this inn has done a wonderful job of remodeling and decorating. I'm so glad someone is providing resources to preserve and restore this historic building. The beds were the best of our ten-day trip. The host was very friendly and fixed us a wonderful breakfast which was served in the large, attractive dining room. The inn is immaculate and well maintained. Many might miss staying in this B & B as it is several miles north of Dubuque. it is located in a very small town of Sherrill which may have as many churches as people. The area is beautiful and if you are heading to Wisconsin, the Cassville ferry is nearby to take you across the mighty Mississippi River. Put this inn on your itinerary.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunPilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
36
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
MUISCATINE
1 review
Reviewed 2 October 2012

My husband and I just stayed at the Black Horse 9/28/2012. The rooms were beautiful. The host was knowlegable about the area. The breakfast was a hearty country breafast and we got to choose the time for breakfast which is great so we could be on our way to see the leaves. The price was very reasonable. I would recommend it to everyone and will stay there again.

Room Tip: All rooms have bathrooms. The elevator only goes to the 2nd floor. So if you don't want to climb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank POLLY O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spragueville
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 February 2012

We enjoyed every bit of our stay here!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrBguy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 September 2011

A wonderful experience. The hotel was amazing. I would have liked to spend a day just in the hotel! Beyond the charm of the historical landmark, the mattress, sheets, and towels were first rate. The people, not only gracious, but truly kind and caring, yet intelligent and sophisticated.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

The Black Horse Inn is located in an 1860s limestone building, a former stagecoach inn and dance hall, in the tiny town of Sherrill, Iowa. Near Dubuque and its Heritage bike trail, Sherrill is in the heart of northeastern Iowa's driftless region--a lovely area of rolling hills, with bucolic farmhouse, barn, and church steeple views.

The Black Horse Inn has five lovely rooms, nicely and tastefully decorated, without a single stuffed bear or doll in sight. It also features comfortable beds, a perennial garden, porches, and delicious breakfasts. It's off the beaten track a bit, but well worth the drive. Indeed, the drive is part of the pleasure of staying there.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lambeaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sherrill
9.7 mi away
Hotel Julien Dubuque
Hotel Julien Dubuque
#2 of 17 in Dubuque
2,228 reviews
8.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center
8.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Dubuque
Hampton Inn Dubuque
#1 of 17 in Dubuque
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown
6.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West
9.6 mi away
Days Inn Dubuque
Days Inn Dubuque
#14 of 17 in Dubuque
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Horse Inn

Property: Black Horse Inn
Address: 5259 S Mound Rd, Sherrill, IA 52073-9696
Region: United States > Iowa > Sherrill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sherrill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Black Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing