We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm & Welcoming”
Review of Black Horse Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Black Horse Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sherrill
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2014

My boyfriend and I love to stay in B&B's when we travel and this place was one of the best. Ken, the Inn Keeper, was friendly and so knowledgeable about not only the house, which has a great history and charm, but the entire area. He filled us in on some local attractions and gave us his card with his number if we had anything we needed while staying there. Not being from the area, it was so nice knowing we had someone nearby that we could count on. The house was beautiful and our room was very cozy and comfy, perfect after a long day. And in the morning, our breakfast was cooked just for us and was sooo good, especially when you can ask for it to be served out on as balcony. I will definitely be staying here again!

Room Tip: We have no trouble with stairs and so we stayed on the 3rd floor, but there is a small elevator to t...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
There are newer reviews for Black Horse Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014

Our family recently stayed at The Black Horse Inn for my brother in laws wedding. We rented the entire house to accommodate all of us out of towners and we were blown away by this hidden treasure! The inn keeper Ken was absolutely fabulous and treated us so kindly. The house is GORGEOUS and holds so much historical value. I had never stayed at a bed and breakfast prior to this trip but when the weekend ended I did not want to leave! Thank you Ken for such a memorable time! It is a trip my husband and I and our 3 children will forever cherish!
The Turners

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Turner0722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We just left Ken at the Black Horse Inn & wanted to write a review on what a wonderful host he is! My husband & I and 2 other couples were on a road trip checking out area wineries. Very very clean, comfortable rooms, feels like your staying at a good friends house!! We all would so recommend it & will definitely be back!!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank IllinoisMomfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

My wife and I traveled along the river road in September. Normally we stay along the Wisconsin side, but this time we ventured over to Iowa. The Black Horse Inn was a pleasant surprise. Ken was a great host. He made us feel welcome and made us a tremendous breakfast. The weather was nice and cool after a long summer which made the hot tub very appealing. This place is a true gem and should give everyone a reason to stay outside of the hustle and bustle of a city and experience something off the beaten path.

The inn is a true treasure and the innkeeper makes it one of the best places to stay. Thanks Ken.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We were delighted to find such a fabulous B&B .... beautifully decorated, cozy, and the host Ken was polite, sweet and made you feel comfortable. Each room has a private bath, very clean and food for breakfast was nice you pick time ...and it delicious. We cannot wait to go back :)

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rhonda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We cannot begin to say all the wonderful things about this amazing Inn and it's Inn keeper Ken! We have been here twice and both times we were greeted right away with kindness and class. Ken know this Inn well and shows you around to make us feel at home. Pure class and comfort the whole time here, we ride motorcycles and he was so accommodating it was going to rain at night and had us put all the motorcycles in beautiful barn. Rooms have been all beautifully remodeled and each has an awesome in suite bathroom. The breakfast he served us was gourmet, with a fire going it was hard to leave, we will be back again & again

Room Tip: All the rooms are great, it's a warm & cozy place, it's nice each room has it's own...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melodi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

A beautiful historic inn, restored and spacious, with all of the comforts of home and more. The innkeeper was extremely accommodating - it's obvious he takes great care in the providing a wonderful experience for his guests. Breakfast was tremendous - you choose from a menu and choose your time to dine in the huge front room. Our room had a huge and comfy king bed, a walk-in shower, and plenty of room. It's such a wonderful place that I hate to comment on anything at all that's not glowingly positive, but you should know that if you are a light sleeper, the walls are thin and the floors creaky. I was woke up by 1 a.m. bathroom breaks upstairs and even a snoring person in another room.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sherrill
9.7 mi away
Hotel Julien Dubuque
Hotel Julien Dubuque
#2 of 17 in Dubuque
2,278 reviews
6.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West
9.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center
8.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Dubuque
Hampton Inn Dubuque
#1 of 17 in Dubuque
664 reviews
21.5 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Horse Inn

Address: 5259 S Mound Rd, Sherrill, IA 52073-9696
Region: United States > Iowa > Sherrill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sherrill
Price Range: £78 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing