We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved my stay here! Will be back.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Sioux City
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Sioux City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 December 2013

I have stayed here about 2 weeks this last month. I normally stay at the Hilton Garden but the dates I needed they were booked. Lucky me:)
The staff is excellent and friendly. The hotel itself is decorated like a lodge. The beds are comfortable and the rooms are clean. Location is great.
If you are in a hurry during check out they offer you a little breakfast bag.
They cover everything.
I love this place and this is now where I will stay when I'm in town.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scheevers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (458)
There are newer reviews for Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Sioux City
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

262 - 268 of 458 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2013

The room was large and spacious. It is an adjustment to have the basin outside the bathroom itself.

The bed, pillows, towels and toiletries were all very good. The shower was okay.

There was a microwave, fridge, coffee, free internet and parking including with the room.

The decor is very rustic, log toilet rolls, tree lamps. It's quirky and fun.

A good base for discovering Sioux City.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThePackedBag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We were there on a long term trip this summer to adopt and:
a) the facility is clean, modern and attractive
b) the room was spacious; it had a microwave and mini-fridge
c) the cleaning staff was very, very nice; they were patient with our odd hours in the room and baby mess
d) it is a convenient location (love the farmers market within walking distance; downtown is close too)
e) there is a pay washer/dryer for doing laundry along with indoor/outdoor pool and workout room

Unfortunately, we were not able to get a suite with a kitchenette, so if you need one, book well in advance.

The only downsides:
a) it is close to train tracks that are active and can be heard (but not such that it is a real problem)
b) those same trains can cause you to get stuck coming or going from the hotel
c) there was lots of construction due to a Hard Rock Hotel and Casino being planned nearby.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robatbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

This is such a nice hotel with a comfortable lodge atmosphere. We enjoyed the lobby fireplace and sitting area. It was too windy to sit outside, but there is a beautiful patio and pond area that would be enjoyable earlier in the year. The breakfast is typical with cereals, breads, pastries & waffle-maker. They also had biscuits & gravy. GF in group was happy for hard boiled eggs. We had room on 3rd floor, overlooking the patio, with 2 queens. The beds were comfortable with plenty of pillows. The shower had good water pressure & we appreciated having good quality, full size towels. Room temperature was easy to control.
The construction makes it confusing for the GPS when arriving at night as the site is not well lit. Once we got there we didn't really notice it, but our stay was Friday evening to Sunday so you may experience construction noise during the week.
The spa Is huge, hot, and really great. The pool is very nice to look at but it was pretty chilly and not as clean as expected for such a nice place. Probably should be cleaned every night thru the busy weekend as there were a couple of teeneage party, or sports, groups in addition to several large families.
I would strongly suggest the hotel invest in a water purification system as room water tastes awful. I'm not a water snob but the chemical taste is so strong that if you want to make tea or coffee in your room you should bring bottled water! Hot water at breakfast is tap water so don't make tea because it will taste like swimming pool. They must have a filter for the juice and coffee water because that was fine.
Overall-a comfortable & plesant place to stay. We will stay there again.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
Thank k8tidyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Location: The hotel is located downtown Sioux City just north of the convention center. Getting into the hotel was a bit ambiguous/adventurous due to lack of appropriate signage and construction on Nebraska St. Access to and from I-29 is very quick + easy. There are several downtown coffee shops and restaurants within short walking distance with a Famous Daves that appeared to be attached to the hotel.

Rooms: The room was fairly typical for a hotel of this kind. We had a room with two queen beds. Mattresses were in good shape and we slept well. Each room is decorated with a few lodge-esque appointments. Nothing outstanding for this type of hotel, albeit nice. Our room had a microwave and refrigerator. Room cleanliness was above average. My only complaint would be the low-flow toilets.

Facilities: Parking is adequate and free. Hallways and stairways were clean and well maintained. The lobby and seating areas around the hotel are numerous and generously sized. Obviously the hotel has a lodge motif with all the obligatory "wall" animals and decor. There is an outdoor fish pond and seating area. The day we stayed there was a wedding that took place. There is a pool that extends outside the building as well as a large 20 seat hot tub. Exercise area was minimal and consisted of only treadmills and stair-steppers. There is a video game room as well that had a few of the old classics that I enjoyed.

Breakfast: One of the better breakfasts available when compared to other similar hotel chains though the employee that maintained the area was a bit of a "soup nazi" about certain issues.

Check-in/Check-out: The hotel staff were very helpful and friendly throughout our stay. No anomalies or abnormalities to report here. 5-stars to the staff.

Bottom line: This is a nice place and I would have no problem recommending it to anyone staying the Sioux City area. Overall the hotel is clean and well maintained. The staff is friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Good luck finding a room with a view. Not much of a "tip"...just fwiw.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rmd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Due to a death in the family, we needed to return to Sioux City only months after our first visit to the Stoney Creek. It was such a nice place, we decided to stay again this time.

We checked in late on our first night. We got the same kind of room we had on the previous visit - a double queen overlooking the parking lot. We slept fine and things were going fine. However, there was a lot of family coming in from out of town for the funeral with no place to meet up or get together to chat and have a few drinks. So we asked if we could be upgraded to one of their larger suite type rooms. Themed rooms, I guess is what they are referred to. The staff at the Stoney Creek was very nice and understanding of our situation and got us a room with a living room, bar, fireplace and a covered 3 season porch. Plenty of room for family to sit and talk. It was a very pretty room!

Since we stayed in the middle of the week, there were no wedding parties or reunions like there were in the summer on the weekend when we had stayed previously. This made for a relaxing, quiet stay. It was really windy and cold so no sitting out in the courtyard by the pond. It would have been nice if there was a fire pit out there.

Breakfast was good and well stocked. The boys always love the pool with the indoor and outdoor. Even with the cold temps, they swam out to the outdoor pool. Sleeping in might be a bit difficult as there is a new Hard Rock Cafe/Casino being built right across from the Stoney Creek. It won't be done till summer of 2014. So if you want to have a quiet morning and not hear heavy machinery and jack hammers, maybe ask to be in a room that faces the pool and courtyard.

This is a very lovely hotel - clean, well kept and comfortable. Staff is always friendly and professional. If we ever find ourselves in Sioux City again, we will definitely stay here. In fact we will check out the other Stoney Creek hotels in Iowa when visiting family. You won't regret staying at the Stoney Creek!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
Thank irisrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We had a nice one night stay at the Stoney Creek Inn in Sioux City. Check-in was easy and the front desk clerk was friendly. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. They had a cute little stuffed animal on the bed that you could take with you and they would charge your room for it. I thought that was a great idea and very cute touch to the room! We asked for a room by the train tracks so my son could see the train go by but there wasn't a single train our entire stay. I know for most that would be a very good thing! We swam in the pool and spent some time in the hot tub. My son enjoys indoor/outdoor swim through pools so this one was a hit. It was one of the largest hotel pools we have used and we enjoyed using it. There is a small game room with a few arcade games that my son spent some time in as well. This hotel also has a very nice courtyard and sitting area. Very relaxing and pretty. Also, there was a farmers market across the street (diagonally across the tracks) the morning we woke up and we really loved being able to walk on over there and browse and buy local honey. There was also a variety of fruits, veggies, flowers and even pizza cooking! We enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natasha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sioux City
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sioux City Riverfront
0.2 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Sioux City
Hard Rock Hotel Sioux City
#4 of 19 in Sioux City
240 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Sioux City South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Sioux City
Holiday Inn Sioux City
#13 of 19 in Sioux City
132 reviews
4.4 mi away
New Victorian Inn & Suites Sioux City
0.5 mi away
Marina Inn Hotel & Conference Center
Marina Inn Hotel & Conference Ce...
#1 of 6 in South Sioux City
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Sioux City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Sioux City

Address: 300 3rd St, Sioux City, IA 51101-1403
Region: United States > Iowa > Sioux City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sioux City
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sioux City
#2 Business Hotel in Sioux City
Price Range: £91 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Sioux City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Sioux City, the "heart" of Siouxland. Whether you're here to play at the Casino, visit students at Western Iowa Tech, Briar Cliff University, or Morningside College, or to watch some Musketeers hockey, Stoney Creek is the place to stay! Located a short walk from the historic Fourth Street downtown district and just behind the Tyson Events Center, our "Urban Lodge" will make you feel right at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Sioux City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoney Creek Inn - Sioux City Hotel Sioux City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing