We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Desk Manager”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Super 8 Sioux City South
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Sioux City
Reviewed 24 September 2012

This motel is close to the highway, but a little difficult to get to, even with a GPS. The desk manager was very friendly and helpful and knew some of the "regulars" by first name. The room was clean, and they had a fan in the hallway to keep the smoke smell away from the non-smoking rooms. It worked. We stayed here on our way to Montana and were impressed enough to stay here again on our way home.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bharati p, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Sioux City South, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2012

Thank you for the positive response. We try to make every effort to make every stay for every guest a positive experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (277)
There are newer reviews for Super 8 Sioux City South
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

267 - 273 of 277 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2012

We stayed here overnight for a stopover coming from the Black Hills of South Dakota. We had no complaints at all. Very clean rooms. My understanding they finished updating and painting at the facility. Although, the bad side is there is an extremely amount of construction going on at this exit and can be difficult going in and around the town. Otherwise, a very nice stay and the gal at the desk who checked us in was extremely friendly and nice.

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor do to our chocolate lab being with us.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marsha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

The room was large and they were able to get us in on a ground floor room - those were the positives and why it was an average rating.

Now for the bad news. Carpet was stained and dirty. We were in a non-smoking room - for all the good that does. The bedspread smelled like an ashtray - gross! The hallways reeked of smoke - probably because the smoking rooms are mixed in with the non-smoking rooms. Not real brilliant on the part of the hotel who came up with that brilliant layout. If I rated the overall experience on smoking vs non-smoking, would have rated this stay POOR!

Be careful too when booking online with places like Hotels.com for this place. We got the same rate with Hotels.com that we could have gotten direct with Super 8. Hotels.com charged us up front - so when our plans changed - we were out the money since the hotel would not let us change our reservation. We basically paid for two nights in the end and only stayed one night.

Fairly inexpensive I guess as hotels go - but if you have issues with smoke - keep driving. Next time we will look for a property that has all non-smoking rooms.

Room Tip: Keep driving if you have issues with smoke smell - NS and smoking rooms all mixed together.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thundrdawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

If you see my other reviews of hotels, my wife and I really dislike paying muchch to simply sleep. This Super 8 was quick with our check in and we spilled some water from a cooler and the front desk clerk Rochelle said "don't worry about it, I'll take care of it." We were tired and that was a great gesture. Rooms were clean, sleep was excellent and we were literally out the door 7 hours later. Only reason it didn't get a 5 was you could really smell the smoke on the lower level in the hallways. Other than that, quick, inexpensive night of rest just a few blocks off of I-29. If you want pools, doormen, valet parking, restaurant, workout equipment...go pay $200 a night somewhere else where you don't use any of that stuff anyways!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deliveryman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

No complaints. For $60 I got a clean quiet room. Everything worked. With the money I saved I went to Eldon's Steakhouse down the street. (Super 8 staff warned me it would be expensive but I went anyway.) My only wish would be that this place was closer to the center of town.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheTimMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

I'll start by saying that I have stayed at many Super 8s. Some have been awesome, some have been average, and some I wouldn't wish my worst enemy to stay at (There's one in Tulsa, OK that comes to mind!). I would rank this one right between average and excellent. The front desk clerk (can't remember his name) was very friendly, considering my late check-in. It's right off I-29. There's a Wendy's right next door if you need something quick to eat. The hotel also has a basic continental breakfast... with muffins, danishes, cereal, toast, and juice. The room/bathroom was clean. My only complaint (I hate to call it that... It's more a personal preference) is that the bed wasn't soft enough for me. I ended up tossing and turning quite a bit. However, if you need a quick overnight stay with no frills, this is a great choice.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MJ1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2011

Room was nice and clean, bed comfortable, breakfast good.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CKW65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sioux City hotels
0.5 mi away
Days Inn Sioux City
Days Inn Sioux City
#9 of 19 in Sioux City
300 reviews
0.6 mi away
New Victorian Inn & Suites Sioux City
4.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sioux City Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Sioux City South
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Sioux City
Comfort Inn Sioux City
#12 of 19 in Sioux City
96 reviews
4.3 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Sioux City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Sioux City South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Sioux City South

Address: 2530 Singing Hills Blvd, Sioux City, IA 51111-1044
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Sioux City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Sioux City
Price Range: £64 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Sioux City South 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Super 8 Sioux City South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Sioux City
Super Eight Sioux City
Sioux City Super Eight
Sioux City Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing