We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No longer open”
Review of La Chiesa - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
La Chiesa
Price range: US$15 - US$20
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Spencer, Iowa
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“No longer open”
Reviewed 23 January 2014

This business is no longer open it is closed . Same building is now Gary's on the River. entirely different menu and ambience.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank nwiaguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    3
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Storm Lake, Iowa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Meal!”
Reviewed 30 November 2012

Husband and I went there for his birthday. He ordered the rigatoni and I ordered the red snapper entree. Both meals were great. The only complaint would be that not all of the pasta is homemade. The prices are higher and smaller portions are served, but walked away not feeling stuffed, felt just right. The waitress was nice and the head chef came out to ask us about our meal. Atmosphere is nice too.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heidi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent value for wonderful meal”
Reviewed 29 November 2012 via mobile

A few days later we ate at a couple of the best places in Iowa City comparable food but IC prices were double. We wiil be back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GregoryGW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pipestone, Minnesota
Level Contributor
130 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great food, less than average service”
Reviewed 19 September 2012

There was a group of a dozen of us that decided to try La Chiesa while in town for the fair. As far as our experience here is how it went:

The special for the night was sirloin, so most of us ordered that (7 of the 12 of us), about 15 minutes AFTER we placed our order the waitress came back and said they were out...15 Minutes?! Seriously?? There needs to be better communication between the kitchen and the wait staff...so she came back and we had to order different stuff...keep in mind us and two other tables were the only ones in the place, so 15 minutes seemed VERY Ridiculuous!

All of our food was good....once we got it (mine was great, I had a pork chop and the sweet corn mashed potatoes) but my dad ordered the Brisket and was VERY disappointed. It had a sauce on it that was overly spicy for brisket (he's not a picky eater by any means but he didn't like this at all).

The service was slow, the waitress never took an order for drinks, she brought water and then later came back to take our order...and to top it off I HATE when places put gratuity on the bill! Our service was terrible and the waitress made off with way more than she deserved. We are the type of people who tip VERY VERY well when service is good and there is no gratuity!

Like the other reviews, the joint is a bit pricy expecially for the portion size, I left a bit hungry still. The salad that comes w/an entree is barely a cup and the amount of mashed potatoes is about a half cup.

Needless to say we probably won't be back because of the poor service, price, and portion size.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington, Utah
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Small portions”
Reviewed 28 August 2012

I had the eggplant ravioli and it was really good but the other food we had was average and the portions were small for the price in a place like Spencer.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank LindaR R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Chiesa also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing