We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a wonderful stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Taylor Made Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Spillville B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 October 2012

I stayed here with my Mother and Aunt on a trip to visit some friends in Spillville. We had a great stay! Mom and Aunt stayed in the Summer Kitchen since they have difficulties with stairs and I stayed in room 3. The accomodations were perfect for us and the house and cabins are beautiful. The Summer Kitchen isn't completely handicapped accessible. There is a large clawfoot tub that would be difficult for some. There is a queen bed a daybed along with a large fridge and microwave. Room 3 has a queen bed and 1/2 bath with a full bath accessible on that same floor.

Breakfast was very good with lots of variety. Clarabelle is a wonderful hostess and I would highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vmillard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (13)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 13 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2011

Clarabelle and Howard Taylor raised a whole bunch of children (13) and when they were done with that, why not start a B & B. We have stayed there a number of times over the years when attending events at Luther College, Decorah. The food is always special and the hospitality is genuine. Find the time to see the great clock museum and visit the Czech Church in this quaint little slice of America.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jenn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

My daughters, 12 and 13, and I stayed in the "summer kitchen" cottage this past week. The girls called it "the doll house" as it's cozy and adorable. Corabelle is a very sweet hostess and a wonderful cook. I was bit leery taking the kids to a B & B as this was my first time, but we felt right at home, it was definitely a good experience and I would recommend Taylor Made to anyone passing through Spillville.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JewelsinAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2011

Corabelle is the best hostess, her husband Howard a delight. We spent the Memorial Holiday weekend here. We chose the Wood Shed cottage in the backyard. It is spotless and adorable. Refer to their website for photos. Corabelle prefers things neat and tidy, it shows in all that she does. Her breakfasts are all home made home cooked. There was raising french toast, scrambled eggs with ham and cheese mixed in, homemade applesauce, warm homemade maple syrup, rhubarb custard, homemade kolaches, light rye bread, german breakfast sausage, then good hot coffee, fresh orange juice and ice water. The eggs are organic and fresh. It's the best experience. We were drawn to Spillville for the Bily Clock Museum. But found ourselves enjoying the town and people, we have never had a more restful or peaceful stay at any B&B or hotel. Thank you Corabelle and Howard! We plan to return soon.

Room Tip: I would suggest the cottages for privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelinganjlofmrc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2010

Wow! Staying at Taylor-Made B&B was a very calm and easy going vacation. We had a great time and the food was fabulous! Everything was a homemade perfection! The Innkeepers, Howard & Clarabelle were so gracious, kind and genuine! We had a very relaxing and rejuvenating time.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Homnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2009

The Taylors are fine hosts, and Clarabelle's baking is famous all over Winneshiek County. Can't beat the breakfasts! We loved the peace and quiet of the Iowa summer nights.

Sally

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JeffersonSpokane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2004

Great place to stay! Innkeepers are so friendly (and even know Czech). The breakfast is mouth-watering and service over-all outstanding -- five stars all around.

5  Thank snyder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spillville
9.8 mi away
Country Inn By Carlson, Decorah
10.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Decorah
10.9 mi away
Hotel Winneshiek
Hotel Winneshiek
#2 of 5 in Decorah
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Dug Road Inn
Dug Road Inn
#1 of 4 in Decorah
61 reviews
10.9 mi away
Super 8 Decorah
Super 8 Decorah
#4 of 5 in Decorah
366 reviews
14.2 mi away
Super 8 Cresco IA
Super 8 Cresco IA
#1 of 2 in Cresco
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taylor Made Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taylor Made Bed and Breakfast

Address: 330 S Main St, Spillville, IA 52168-4404
Region: United States > Iowa > Spillville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Spillville
Hotel Class:3 star — Taylor Made Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience exceptional hospitality at Spillville’s premier bed and breakfast! Welcoming guests since 1993, the Taylor Made Bed and Breakfast is renowned for extraordinary service and great attention to detail. Beautifully decorated Victorian home featuring three upstairs guest rooms with private bathrooms; a suite on the main floor and two outside cabins with complete kitchens and baths. Our home provides an intimate, and cozy setting with feeling of being a guest in a lavish home whether your at a day long meeting, or an overnight guest. Awaken each morning to the aroma of mouth watering fresh baked bread and a generous breakfast served family style in the dining room. Our menu includes; Kolaches, sweet breads, fresh local produce and breakfast meats from the Spillville Locker. We also offer an gluten free menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Taylor Made Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing