We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If only all B&B's were like this!”
Review of The Old Bakery

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pulham Market
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Bakery
Certificate of Excellence
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
196 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“If only all B&B's were like this!”
Reviewed 10 May 2011

Just Excellent - Cannot think of anything that was not right.
Owners the right balance of friendly and professional.
Room (Granary) and whole building perfect.
Breakfast excellent.
Only sorry we stayed just the one night!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CliffordM8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
96
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2010

We stayed at The Old Bakery for three nights from the 7th October 2010. We cannot recommend this excellent B&B highly enough. When we arrived, we were greeted by our host, Maryl, who welcomed us into her home, even though we were late against our expected arrival time. From the moment we arrived she could not have been more helpful, unobtrusive but always there when needed. We were shown to our room, Granary, which was spotlessly clean as well as being spacious. The bed was comfortable, the facilities (tea etc) were good and there was a sofa to sit on while watching the flat screen television. The breakfast was plentiful, fully cooked if you wanted that, and taken in a very nice room with dining tables. Also there were plenty of leaflets about local attractions. There was a nice lounge area available for guest to use and the temperature throughout the house was good. We really enjoyed our stay and will be returning, hopefully with some friends, in the not too distant future. Thank you Meryl and Steve

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryandRobbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2010

the old bakery has lovely rooms with a few extras like bathrobes. the rooms are spotless and the bathrooms a good size. it is a quiet place nice to relax in. the hosts meryl and steven were friendly and professional were only to please to bring extra biscuits or drinks to you and would get anything they could for you i am sure. the breakfast was lovely ,the tables you were seated on were spacious, and the breakfast room large. the rooms were furnished to a very good standard and the beds were very comfortable and had good linen provided, all in all well deserving of the 5star status that the old bakery has been awarded.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flowerpowermike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bedford
1 review
Reviewed 15 June 2010

A must for anyone wanting a relaxing break or enjoyable walks.Meryl and steven are two of the nicest people you could ever wish to meet, Meryl made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived by the time we left we felt like we had known them for ever.
The rooms were spotless, attention to detail was unbeliveable.
Steven even got up to cook us breakfast at 6.30 on our last morning, now thats what you call good service, nothing was too much trouble for them.
Well deserving of Gold award.
Wishing them every sucess for the future.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliaBedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevef1968, Owner at The Old Bakery, responded to this review, 19 June 2010
Thank you so much for adding a review of your stay at The Old Bakery. It's really great to know you enjoyed your stay with us so much. We hope to see you again in the future.
Regards, Meryl & Steve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south wales
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2010

When we arrived, we were greeted by our host, who welcomed us into their home, they introduced themselves, and made every effort to help us feel welcomed. The room (Granary) was clean and spacious, and the bathroom, with a walk in shower was generous in size. The breakfast was hot, and plentiful and provided an opportunity to taste local sauces which accompanied our meal.Nothing was too much bother either, on returning one day from a trip, I enquired about local tours, and was pleasantly surprised by our hosts commitment to her guests, by searching the internet on our behalf, and providing the printouts. Well worth a visit, you won't regret it

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrewe44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevef1968, Owner at The Old Bakery, responded to this review, 2 June 2010
Many thanks indeed for taking the time to submit a review of your stay, also for the kind comments. It's really nice to know that you enjoyed your stay with us so much.

All the best.

Meryl & Steve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2010

This is not my first stay at The Old Bakery, been before on business. However if I was travelling for pleasure this would certainly be on my list.
Meryl is a very welcoming host, if there is anything she can do to make your stay more comfortable all you have to do is ask.
My colleagues (we are all of a certain age) went out for supper with another work colleague, we went out in the daylight. Meryl went into each of our rooms and put the lights on for our return which was much later that night in the dark, how thoughtful?
Nice quiet weekend in the country or within easy reach of Norwich for sightseeing? then this is your best bet. Enjoy

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan_KKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevef1968, Owner at The Old Bakery, responded to this review, 8 June 2010
Thanks for the lovely comments Janice. Hope all's good with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishop's Stortford
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2010

Meryl and Steve made us and our friends very welcome. A cup of tea and biscuits EVERY afternoon of the stay, not just when we first arrived as is all too common. The breakfasts were excellent. The guests lounge has a log fire which was very welcome this cold Easter. Nothing was too much trouble and I would definitely recommend this place to anyone who wants a quiet weekend with good food available only a couple of minutes walk away at the Crown Inn.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank strikingclocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulham Market
5.5 mi away
Scole Inn
Scole Inn
#1 of 1 in Scole
3.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
3.5 mi away
J.D.Young
J.D.Young
#1 of 1 in Harleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
7.2 mi away
Best Western Brome Grange Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
The Park hotel
The Park hotel
#1 of 4 in Diss
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Old Ram Coaching Inn
The Old Ram Coaching Inn
#1 of 2 in Tivetshall St. Mary
3.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
1.9 mi away
Red House Farm Bed & Breakfast
Red House Farm Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 2 in Tivetshall St. Mary
5.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Bakery

Property: The Old Bakery
Address: Old Bakery Church Walk, Pulham Market IP21 4SL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Pulham Market
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Pulham Market
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find The Old Bakery in Pulham Market, a small, quintessentially Norfolk village, with traditional Village Green, charming period cottages, thatched roofs, two village pubs and stunning scenery. The Old Bakery is a delightful listed building, with wattle and daub walls and a timber frame, exposed internal beams and bags of character. We have five spacious bedrooms (1 with ground floor access), a comfortable lounge, private parking for guests, and a beautiful garden complete with Garden Room. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing