We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing B & B in Gorgeous Village”
Review of The Old Bakery

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pulham Market
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Bakery
Reviewed 7 May 2013

The Old Bakery is a gorgeous B & B in an amazing, quiet and peaceful village with a green, a local pub serving quality home cooked food and a small village shop selling all the necessities. Excellent location, the rooms are beautifully decorated and well equipped and extremely spacious. Breakfast was fantastic and the majority was locally produced - even down to the jams and sauces! Meryl was more than happy to help with anything and made us feel at home and welcomed straight away. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would recommend to everyone! Thank you Meryl.
Jodie & Chris.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jodie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2013

This hotel is situated in a small peaceful village almost on the village green where there are two pubs.
The whole house is immaculately furnished, we received a lovely welcome from the owner and taken up a very small, windy staircase to our room which was stunning and furnished to the highest standards. My only wish was that there had been a bath to soothe my aching muscles after walking almost 10 miles, normally I wouldn't care about there being no bath because I haven't done a walking holiday before but the shower was very good and the lovely Pecksniff toiletries were a nice addition. Towels were good but only 1 bath and hand towel each for the 2 day stay.
In the morning the breakfast room was a delight to sit in, beautifully set table with immaculate tablecloth and everything set out very smartly.
The fruit salad was delicious and made with very fresh fruit including mango which I love.
Cooked breakfast was excellent but unfortunately didn't enjoy next days which was smoked salmon and scrambled eggs on a muffin. There was way too much egg and the muffins were dry and hard.
The owners are lovely people and we got on well with them.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Happytravellers94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

If you are visiting norfolk you must stay at this delightful 5 star b&b. we have just spent 3 nights and truly could have stayed longer and will definately be returning.It had been recommended to our friends who we met up with there.we stayed in the harvest room which had everything you could ask for.im sure if steve and meryl could arrange beautiful weather for you they would do that for you as nothing seems too much trouble for this couple.first class breakfasts to set you on your way for the day.they will even do you a packed lunch if required.a lovely lounge welcomes you home in the evenings where you can relax and have a nightcap.Also thanks to elaine who serves you with a lovely smile at breakfast.we felt so relaxed here and cant wait to sample the lovely garden room in warmer weather.there was nothing we could find fault with at the old bakery.top class.dont miss out.

Room Tip: if you are less able to climb stairs there is a lovely ground floor room which was highly praised by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevef1968, Owner at The Old Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review of your recent stay. It was lovely meeting you all and it's great to know you enjoyed your stay so much - and yes if we could do something about the weather for our guests we certainly would! We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Steve, Meryl & Elaine.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013

I spent a total of two nights at this truly superb B&B. It has everything you could wish for to make a wonderful stay. I had a HUGE room and bathroom which was spotlessly clean, comfortable and warm, quiet and beautifully furnished; the lounge/breakfast area was also comfortable and welcoming and the breakfast of fresh produce was delicious; but most of all the hosts, Meryl and Steven are really delightful, friendly and wonderfully hospitable people. And while you are there wander across the village green to the Crown Inn for a great meal in a friendly and welcoming atmosphere. All in all the Old Bakery is not to be missed.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deefadog10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevef1968, Owner at The Old Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2013

Thank you so much for your very kind comments and review of your recent stay with us - it was enought to make us blush! It was lovely meeting you, our very best wishes for your future travels, regards, Meryl & Steven.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2013

We stayed at the Old Bakery on the 20th February. It was bitterly cold weather, but the Old Bakery was beautifully warm and welcoming. Our room was spacious, very comfortable and worth the climb up a very narrow staircase. There a comfortable lounge with an open fire, just right to enjoy a night-cap. Great attention was paid to detail and nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was very good, plenty to eat and well presented. We shall certainly return.

Room Tip: The Oak room was very good.
See more room tips
Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank piazza_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevef1968, Owner at The Old Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2013

Many thanks for your review of your recent stay with us. It's always lovely to receive such positive feedback and to know guests enjoy the experience we offer. Hopefully we'll be able to welcome you to The Old Bakery again sometime soon. Regards, Meryl & Steve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Myself & my husband have just spent a wonderful 2 nights at this gem of a B&B. The Old Bakery has been renovated to a very high standard, whilst still retaining original features throughout. As mentioned in other reviews Meryl & Steven are at the heart of this establishment and their hospitality is second to none. Friendly and welcoming without being too intrusive (the perfect balance, in my opinion) providing advice on day trips, which was much appreciated. We stayed in the Oak room which provided seating, TV, DAB radio, lovely fluffy towels & bathrobe and a huge bed, (cant remember the last time we slept so well away from home) well stocked beverage tray with fresh milk in flasks, Meryl even provided my husband with soya milk. We felt very relaxed and at home from the moment we walked in. Breakfast was superb and very tasty. The bonus for us was being able to 'chill' out in the very comfortable guests lounge, the warming log burner was just what we needed after a day out in the surrounding area. We ate a good, hot meal at the Crown across the green which had a varied menu at very reasonable prices. We hope to return at some point and would defiantly recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vanillamax40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevef1968, Owner at The Old Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2013

How wonderful to receive such an enthusiastic and encouraging review of your stay at The Old Bakery - Thank You.

It's always lovely to hear from guests that they have enjoyed their stay and it's particularly nice to hear that you felt completely relaxed and at home. When we started out on this adventure we were asked to sum up in a few words what we wanted to offer our guests - our response was that we wanted guests to feel at ease during their stay and to leave feeling their batteries had been recharged - it sounds as if we achieved this for you.

Thank you again for our kind comments - we hope to see you again and wish you luck with your adventure.

Steve & Meryl.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2012

Stayed for four nights and found everything; room, food, temperature and service faultless. Nice pub with average, but wholesome, food just across the village green. I was house hunting / viewing and was given plenty of helpful tips on the area and and local attractions. Breakfast was fresh and first class with fresh local produce. Snacks and evening drink served in the very nice lounge if you don't fancy walking over to the pub.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vernon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulham Market
5.5 mi away
Scole Inn
Scole Inn
#1 of 1 in Scole
324 reviews
10.0 mi away
Dunston Hall
Dunston Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Holy Cross
2,727 reviews
7.2 mi away
Best Western Brome Grange Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
The Park hotel
The Park hotel
#1 of 4 in Diss
235 reviews
8.8 mi away
The Castle Inn
The Castle Inn
#1 of 1 in Bungay
136 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Old Ram Coaching Inn
The Old Ram Coaching Inn
#1 of 2 in Tivetshall St. Mary
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Bakery

Address: Old Bakery Church Walk, Pulham Market IP21 4SL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Pulham Market
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Pulham Market
Price Range: £46 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find The Old Bakery in Pulham Market, a small, quintessentially Norfolk village, with traditional Village Green, charming period cottages, thatched roofs, two village pubs and stunning scenery. The Old Bakery is a delightful listed building, with wattle and daub walls and a timber frame, exposed internal beams and bags of character. We have five spacious bedrooms (1 with ground floor access), a comfortable lounge, private parking for guests, and a beautiful garden complete with Garden Room. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing