We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of The Old Bakery

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pulham Market
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Bakery
Reviewed 21 June 2009

Our stay of 3 nights were perfect. Meryl and Steven are great host, very friendly and attentive. They provided us very useful advices and information of the area.
Our room, the granary room is large, cozy and brand new. The bed is very confortable.
The breakfast is very good, the best sausages we have ever tasted.
The value is excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tenayawalkabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (136)
There are newer reviews for The Old Bakery
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

133 - 136 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2009

Return stay for my sister, a first for me. Felt like a home from home and wished we were staying for longer. Full of olde worlde charm and yet high specification everything - quality furnishings, decor, furniture, toiletries, facilities, large cosy communal lounge in which to relax, bright breakfast room, pretty environs. Spotlessly clean, fresh and airy, with great attention to detail. Plenty of refreshment supplies and useful information in the rooms. Meryl and Steven are very welcoming and chatty without being intrusive. The breakfasts were super (delicious fruit salad, Steven, and the fry ups were spot on too, Meryl). Congratulations on your 5-star award - you've worked hard for it and it shows - thoroughly deserved !! Thank you for the care you take over your guests. See you again.

  • Stayed: March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TK-AD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2009

Myself and my husband had only a single night at The Old Bakery, but Meryl & Steve nonetheless made us incredably welcome. The B&B itself, set in a picture-perfect village, is beautifully cared for accommodation, attractively decorated and immaculately clean.
The room we were in (The Granary) was spacious, light and incredably comfortable. The room was very 'user friendly', containing a sofa, TV, coffee & tea making facilities, some magazines and a useful guide to The Old Bakery (as they offer picnics and evening drinks, and more, at an extra price) and the surrounding area. It's definitely worth a look if you stay here and the information was very up to date and useful. Our en-suite facilities were, again, immaculately clean with lovely toiletaries and a good shower, and not forgetting the beautifully soft white towels!
Our breakfast was gorgeous! Perfectly cooked, extremely tasty and, we were told, all locally sourced produce. We couldn't fault it. Meryl told us that it can be varied depending on guests tastes, but you wouldn't want to miss out on this delicious meal! Fantastic!
I've told all my friends and family about The Old Bakery, as this was the best night in a B&B my hubby & I have ever experienced. Thank you Meryl & Steve!

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KirstyFyfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2008

A beautiful B&B, our stay made even more enjoyable by the hosts (Meryl & Steve) who were so welcoming and keen to ensure we had everything we needed. Our room (The Granary) had recently been refurbished and was large, airy and beautifully decorated. The whole of the B&B was spotlessly clean with lots of space to sit & 'chill'. Breakfasts were wonderful (consisting of locally sourced produce) and nothing was too much trouble if you needed something a little different. - We did not need to eat lunch following this feast!
The village is located in an ideal spot to go out & see the rest of Norfolk and the Broads are easily accessible. The pub across the Green cooks everything from fresh (so don't go if you're in a hurry!) & the food was excellent.
Mollie (the B&B's large black labrador) demanded attention (but was only 'released' on guests who indicated a love of dogs, otherwise she was kept away). How could anyone resist her though?!
We would recommend this as one of the best B&B's we have stayed in (and we have stayed in many) and hope to return.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antonsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulham Market
8.8 mi away
The Castle Inn
The Castle Inn
#1 of 1 in Bungay
135 reviews
5.5 mi away
Scole Inn
Scole Inn
#1 of 1 in Scole
323 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Park hotel
The Park hotel
#1 of 4 in Diss
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Old Ram Coaching Inn
The Old Ram Coaching Inn
#1 of 2 in Tivetshall St. Mary
357 reviews
5.3 mi away
Wortwell Hall Barn
Wortwell Hall Barn
#1 of 6 in Harleston
164 reviews
2.6 mi away
South Norfolk Guest House
South Norfolk Guest House
#1 of 1 in Great Moulton
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Bakery

Address: Old Bakery Church Walk, Pulham Market IP21 4SL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Pulham Market
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Pulham Market
Price Range: £44 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find The Old Bakery in Pulham Market, a small, quintessentially Norfolk village, with traditional Village Green, charming period cottages, thatched roofs, two village pubs and stunning scenery. The Old Bakery is a delightful listed building, with wattle and daub walls and a timber frame, exposed internal beams and bags of character. We have five spacious bedrooms (1 with ground floor access), a comfortable lounge, private parking for guests, and a beautiful garden complete with Garden Room. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing