We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean lobby, friendly staff, excellent breakfast...”
Review of Super 8 Storm Lake

Super 8 Storm Lake
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Super 8 Storm Lake
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Storm Lake
Dubuque, Iowa
1 review
“Clean lobby, friendly staff, excellent breakfast...”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Clean lobby, friendly staff, excellent breakfast, comfortable room, 4th stay at this hotel due to estate business. Treated us like family!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John R, General Manager at Super 8 Storm Lake, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
It is wonderful to hear from you. I am certainly pleased to hear we made you feel at home. It gives all of us a great pleasure to know we made someone’s experience special, and I will be certain to share your comments with the entire staff.

Hopefully we will see you again,

John Reed
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    114
    65
    18
    4
See reviews for
136
32
26
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newton, Iowa
Level Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

My husband and I stayed here on Tuesday night, April 22. My first impression as we pulled in, was "Where do we park?" As a previous front desk supervisor for the SAME chain, but a different location, I was instantly put on guard because of this apparent lack of planning. While my husband went in to do the check-in process, I was taking note of the exterior and business surroundings. Being on the main drag of town, it was almost like this motel was "squeezed" into the location! Be that as it may, we proceeded up to our room. A small room by standards with an old tv - Wyndham properties went to flat screens several years ago - or atleast in MOST locations, they did. Being very weary from our day's travels, all we wanted was a comfortable bed and coffee! Coffee, yes...comfortable bed, not so much! If one likes sleeping on a hard surface, the carpeted floor would have been softer! Not sure when this particular motel was built, but when we could hear slamming doors and people talking several rooms away, it did not make for a good night's sleep. On a good ending note - the cinnamon rolls and blueberry donuts in the morning were very good!!!!

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms on the highway side. It is too noisy and parking is difficult.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TLaehn2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John R, General Manager at Super 8 Storm Lake, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
I sincerely apologize for the problems you incurred during your visit; certainly it was not up to our standards. I see both you and your husband shared the same concerns on separate reviews.

Unfortunately, you were inconvenienced from the beginning by a fairly new desk clerk who was not scheduled to be alone that evening, and should not have been We do have parking and entrances on all sides of the building, in addition to where you were directed, and I regret that he did not make you aware of that. You were also inconvenienced by a large group that we had in house that night, and it is our failure to control them. I do hope if you return to Storm Lake you will give us another chance to prove our service standards, and I encourage you to contact me directly if your plans bring you our direction.

Sincerely,


John Reed
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ute
Level Contributor
60 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We traveled to Grandparent's Day and wanted to stay for program in evening. Stayed at Super 8. Great

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank Joan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John R, General Manager at Super 8 Storm Lake, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. I am pleased you found everything "great."

John Reed
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We arrived late evening after a long and windy highway drive and were welcomed with a friendly manager who gave us drink tickets and recommended a great local restaurant. After arriving to the first room we realized the smoke detector was chirping and it had dirty mirrorsso the manager came down and helped carry our luggage to a second room. Upon arriving to that room , the manager and us discovered we didn't have a working refrigerator. Then we had to move again and he escorted us to a suite. The room was great and of course and he apologized to us.
I appreciated the nice, wonderful service given to us.
Breakfast sparse as someone else indicated and water pressure not the greatest but very nice hotel for the price.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John R, General Manager at Super 8 Storm Lake, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
It was my pleasure to meet you and your daughter, and I am certainly pleased we were able to settle you into a great room. I am glad you enjoyed the restaurant recommendation; we get many positive responses from guests we send to our selected businesses. Next time you are back in town you can enjoy our new shower heads that compensate for the fluctuating water pressure in Storm Lake.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience,

John Reed
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Clean, quiet room, good breakfast, friendly staff, discount voucher for drinks at local restaurant; Great value for the price. Great location, restaurants and downtown shopping only three blocks, Buena Vista University nearby.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John R, General Manager at Super 8 Storm Lake, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Jim: Glad to hear you found our property to be a great value. We look forward to welcoming you back; next time you can try one of the other restaurants at which we offer drink coupons.

John Reed
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Storm Lake
19.6 mi away
Cherokee Inn
Cherokee Inn
#1 of 3 in Cherokee
32 reviews
24.7 mi away
Super 8 Ida Grove
Super 8 Ida Grove
#1 of 2 in Ida Grove
120 reviews
19.7 mi away
Best Western La Grande Hacienda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
King's Pointe Waterpark Resort
0.7 mi away
Budget Inn Motel
Budget Inn Motel
#3 of 4 in Storm Lake
4 reviews
21.4 mi away
Boulders Inn & Suites Holstein
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Storm Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Storm Lake

Property: Super 8 Storm Lake
Address: 101 W Milwaukee Ave, Jct 7 & 71 on W. Milwaukee Ave, Storm Lake, IA 50588-1863
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Storm Lake
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Storm Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Storm Lake 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Super 8 Storm Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Storm Lake Super 8
Storm Lake Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing