We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“gdoug”
Review of Super 8 Storm Lake

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 Storm Lake
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Storm Lake
Reviewed 3 May 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Gary D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
John R, General Manager at Super 8 Storm Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (326)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

219 - 225 of 326 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Greg W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
John R, General Manager at Super 8 Storm Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 27 April 2014

When we travel, all we need and want is a place to sleep, a shower, and a cup of coffee in the morning. We don't need anything fancy and we didn't get anything fancy here. Upon pulling in the driveway, there wasn't anywhere to park to register and ended up pulling into a handicap space. The young man at the Front Desk was very nice, but had to go down the hall and come back to tell me where our room was located and that I could park anywhere along the front of the hotel. I don't know how many rooms are in the hotel but there were less than 20 parking spaces in the lot and I'm not sure that I even parked in one for the night. I was able to drive in, but to leaving in the morning, I was glad there were no other cars parked in the 3 spaces to my left or I would not have been able to get out. Our room was ok, the TV was a nice relic from 90's, the bed was not the most comfortable but I did get a couple hours of good sleep before being waken up every so often to shouting, banging and door knocking from rooms close to us. No need for an alarm clock, the commotion in the hallway will wake you up in the mornings, you can hear everything going outside your door just fine. One thing I like about the Wyndham chain is the cinnamon rolls in the morning. Granit we were late (8:00 am) getting down for breakfast and the only things left were a couple of blueberry cake donuts and a couple of rolls and waffles, but at least the donuts were fresh. I have stayed in worse Super 8's, at least this room was clean, but if we are in Storm Lake again, I will stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: If you get here early to get a parking space don't leave, you may not have it when you return.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MALaehn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John R, General Manager at Super 8 Storm Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

I sincerely apologize for the problems you incurred during your visit; certainly it was not up to our standards. I see both you and your wife shared the same concerns on separate reviews.

Unfortunately, you were inconvenienced from the beginning by a fairly new desk clerk who was not scheduled to be alone that evening, and should not have been We do have parking and entrances on all sides of the building, in addition to where you were directed, and I regret that he did not make you aware of that. You were also inconvenienced by a large group that we had in house that night, and it is our failure to control them. I do hope if you return to Storm Lake you will give us another chance to prove our service standards, and I encourage you to contact me directly if your plans bring you our direction.

Sincerely,


John Reed
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Clean lobby, friendly staff, excellent breakfast, comfortable room, 4th stay at this hotel due to estate business. Treated us like family!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John R, General Manager at Super 8 Storm Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

It is wonderful to hear from you. I am certainly pleased to hear we made you feel at home. It gives all of us a great pleasure to know we made someone’s experience special, and I will be certain to share your comments with the entire staff.

Hopefully we will see you again,

John Reed
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

My husband and I stayed here on Tuesday night, April 22. My first impression as we pulled in, was "Where do we park?" As a previous front desk supervisor for the SAME chain, but a different location, I was instantly put on guard because of this apparent lack of planning. While my husband went in to do the check-in process, I was taking note of the exterior and business surroundings. Being on the main drag of town, it was almost like this motel was "squeezed" into the location! Be that as it may, we proceeded up to our room. A small room by standards with an old tv - Wyndham properties went to flat screens several years ago - or atleast in MOST locations, they did. Being very weary from our day's travels, all we wanted was a comfortable bed and coffee! Coffee, yes...comfortable bed, not so much! If one likes sleeping on a hard surface, the carpeted floor would have been softer! Not sure when this particular motel was built, but when we could hear slamming doors and people talking several rooms away, it did not make for a good night's sleep. On a good ending note - the cinnamon rolls and blueberry donuts in the morning were very good!!!!

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms on the highway side. It is too noisy and parking is difficult.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TLaehn2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John R, General Manager at Super 8 Storm Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

I sincerely apologize for the problems you incurred during your visit; certainly it was not up to our standards. I see both you and your husband shared the same concerns on separate reviews.

Unfortunately, you were inconvenienced from the beginning by a fairly new desk clerk who was not scheduled to be alone that evening, and should not have been We do have parking and entrances on all sides of the building, in addition to where you were directed, and I regret that he did not make you aware of that. You were also inconvenienced by a large group that we had in house that night, and it is our failure to control them. I do hope if you return to Storm Lake you will give us another chance to prove our service standards, and I encourage you to contact me directly if your plans bring you our direction.

Sincerely,


John Reed
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We traveled to Grandparent's Day and wanted to stay for program in evening. Stayed at Super 8. Great

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Joan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John R, General Manager at Super 8 Storm Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. I am pleased you found everything "great."

John Reed
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
John R, General Manager at Super 8 Storm Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Storm Lake
19.6 mi away
Cherokee Inn
Cherokee Inn
#2 of 3 in Cherokee
34 reviews
19.7 mi away
Best Western La Grande Hacienda
21.4 mi away
Boulders Inn & Suites Holstein
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
King's Pointe Waterpark Resort
0.7 mi away
Budget Inn Motel
Budget Inn Motel
#3 of 4 in Storm Lake
6 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lighthouse Inn
Lighthouse Inn
#2 of 2 in Storm Lake
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Storm Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Storm Lake

Address: 101 W Milwaukee Ave, Jct 7 & 71 on W. Milwaukee Ave, Storm Lake, IA 50588-1863
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Storm Lake
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Storm Lake
Price Range: £66 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Storm Lake 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Storm Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Storm Lake Super 8
Storm Lake Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing