We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So so hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Buena Vista Inn and Suites Storm Lake
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Storm Lake
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“So so hotel”
Reviewed 9 December 2011

The staff are friendly, the rooms are clean, but every time we've stayed there we've had a plumbing issues. Toilets that won't flush and lack of hot water in the mornings are most common. Nice place for the price and the kids love the pool.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VirgoGirl1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    5
    9
    8
    22
See reviews for
13
4
4
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

I was here for a wedding and this was the overflow hotel as the other one was full. The desk clerk did not have one shred of affect or politeness while she processed my registration. In fact, she made it clear to me by her demeanor that I was interrupting her important business of, say, reading her texts. I understand having a bad day, but this hotel's ads tout its "hometown hospitality." You don't have to fawn over me, but at least fake some civility instead of acting like I disturbed you. The bed was good, I got a great night's sleep. The pool and the hot tub were lovely (although the hot tub reeked of chlorine).The breakfast was very average: coffee, milk, cold cereal, English muffins, toast, small pastries, waffles you fixed yourself. When I gave her my name to check in, she looked at me as if I was crazy--and maybe I was, for staying here. I thought, well, "maybe she gets hit on all the time at this desk and so has a hard crust on her", and to be fair, she was back again at 8 a.m., twelve hours after she'd been at the desk before--maybe she's just crabby from sleep deprivation. Still, for $80 it wasn't a great experience. I'll try my luck at the Super Numeral place next time. I gave it an average rating on account of the pool and the bed. Otherwise it would have been a poor.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank a_prairie_rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We needed to find accommodations for 2 nights in Storm Lake, IA after being disappointed in our original reservation at another property. There were not many choices in this tourist area but we were thankful that the Baymont had one room left. Our stay was comfortable. I liked the sink outside the bathroom and the comfortable beds. We did not experience any hall noise while in our room. The morning breakfast was nothing special. The price was right.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RansRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2011

This Baymont has be well taken care of and has some nice amenities that include a microwave and a mini frig in a standard room. While not fancy, it meets the needs of most travelers going through Iowa. It does have a nice sun room / pool area for rainy or cold days. At the time of my stay, the reservation system was not working properly so neither Travelocity nor Baymontinns.com showed a vacancy. If that happens - just call and see if they have a room.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T_and_M_travels2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Papillion, Nebraska
1 review
Reviewed 14 June 2011

The Baymont Inn staff was friendly and the place was clean. We loved our room, the family suite - it was spacious, clean, had a dining area and hot tub in the room. They even had some breakfast out at 0500 for marathon runners/families. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank huskey6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 16 November 2010

Room was clean and service was good. Bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandijans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forest City, Iowa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2008

I was very impressed with the friendliness of the staff at the front desk. Also, the hotel lobby and pool area looked nice.

However, I was disappointed when I got to my room. The room was poorly lit and a little dilapidated. The overhead light above the bed did not work, and the carpet was in poor condition...An iron had been left on the carpet, burning its imprint into the carpet. The fixtures, etc., looked dated. Though the room appeared dilapidated, on the plus side, it did appear fairly clean.

As another post indicated, there was some road noise outside.

The continental breakfast was okay...Bagels and donuts. For us non-coffee drinkers, juice to drink but no milk.

An "okay" place to stay (with the biggest "plus" being the friendly staff at the front desk), but for my next return to Storm Lake, I will likely explore other options.

  • Liked — Friendliness of front desk staff, nice front lobby
  • Disliked — Dilapidated rooms
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank LauraLBM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Storm Lake
19.2 mi away
Cherokee Inn
Cherokee Inn
#2 of 3 in Cherokee
32 reviews
19.3 mi away
Best Western La Grande Hacienda
0.9 mi away
Super 8 Storm Lake
Super 8 Storm Lake
#2 of 4 in Storm Lake
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
King's Pointe Waterpark Resort
0.2 mi away
Budget Inn Motel
Budget Inn Motel
#3 of 4 in Storm Lake
5 reviews
21.9 mi away
Boulders Inn & Suites Holstein
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buena Vista Inn and Suites Storm Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buena Vista Inn and Suites Storm Lake

Property: Buena Vista Inn and Suites Storm Lake
Address: 1726 Lake Avenue, Storm Lake, IA 50588-7647 (Formerly Baymont Inn and Suites)
Region: United States > Iowa > Storm Lake
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Storm Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Buena Vista Inn and Suites Storm Lake 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer many accommodations at our pleasant Inn. We offer a great facility in which to hold your event. Our rooms are ready for your rest and relaxation. Our breakfast is available to start your day! Book your room, Today! Buena Vista Inn & Suites in Storm Lake, IA is located a short drive from Historic Downtown Storm Lake and minutes from all Lake parks. At Buena Vista Inn & Suites start every day with a Free USA Today Newspaper and enjoy our complimentary breakfast corner with hot Belgian waffles. In your room, work on your spacious desk with Wireless Free High Speed Internet Access. For your enjoyment a sparkling Indoor Heated Pool is provided, plus access to our Fitness Center. The beautifully appointed Meeting Facility is perfect for all types of functions, accommodating up to 30 people. Everything that is Storm Lake is easily accessible from Buena Vista Inn & Suites, Your Home Away from Home. We offer full range comforts! Buena Vista Inn & Suites in Storm Lake offers accommodations approximately five miles from Storm Lake Municipal Airport. The property's amenities include a complimentary continental breakfast,and free parking. Standard room amenities include an alarm clock radio, cable TV, coffeemaker, dataports, hairdryer,iron, ironing board and telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Buena Vista Inn and Suites Storm Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baymont Inn Storm Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing