We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfort Inn” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Comfort Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Story City
Certificate of Excellence
Council Bluffs, Iowa
Level Contributor
213 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Comfort Inn”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

stayed here this past weekend while attending family weekend activities at Iowa State in Ames. Rooms were a little pricey for comfort inn - about 140.00 including taxes - had room with 2 queen bds and one with 1 king bed - arrived late about 11PM - desk clerk - thin it was susan - was very polite and efficient - check in took about 4 minutes - rooms were nice , and bath areas good - enjoyable trip - will stay here again

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grover74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Online_Relations12, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Hi Grover,

Thanks so much for leaving us this review. Many people read reviews on TripAdvisor, so seeing positive endorsements like this one is always appreciated!

We hope you *do* stay here again and that you had a safe trip home to Council Bluffs. Thanks again, Grover!

Best,
Sam, on behalf of Comfort Inn Story City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    28
    7
    5
    3
See reviews for
51
14
4
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Moline, Illinois
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for Cyclone Family Weekend. Check in was quick and easy. There was a case that said free cookies by the check I but no cookies were left. :-( The rooms were clean and spacious as well as the bathroom. We put left over pizza in the fridge but did not realize it was not plugged in until the next morning. There was a microwave as well. The breakfast was good and the breakfast staff was very friendly! Name brand items were offered. We were on the bottom floor near an alternate exit. My only complaint would be the noise. The door was very loud every time someone shut it. It sounded like it was slammed shut. We could also hear the tv from the adjoining room. Also we could hear the people above us. It sounded like someone was stomping around or running up and down the halls. It may have been so loud because the hotel was full.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank MolineFamily95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Online_Relations12, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Hi there MolineFamily95,

Thanks so much for visiting us and leaving this kind review; we really do appreciate it!

We're sorry for the noise, Cyclone Family Weekend tends to bring in a lot of excited fans and their families. We will work hard to make it quieter for everyone next time around -- please let us know if there are any individual things or people that need our attention.

Best,
Sam, on behalf of Comfort Inn Story City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
140 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

They offer a great place to stay at a reasonable rate. Their rooms offer adequate space and are clean. They offer excellent customer service and have a fair breakfast buffet. Their pool and hot tub area they is attractive and fun to use. They are located right off of I 35.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Reviewer567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Online_Relations12, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Hi Reviewer567,

Thanks so much for leaving us this kind review! We're happy to hear you found our customer service and amenities to your liking.

We hope you had a safe trip home and that we'll soon see you again!

Best,
Sam, on behalf of Comfort Inn Story City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wausau
Level Contributor
93 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

It was late and time to stop for the night, Story city was coming up so, I decided to find a place to stay. I passed up a couple hotel/motels close to the exit and drove a few extra blocks finding this property. The desk clerk was very pleasant and accomodating. The room was a typical hotel room but very comfortable & clean. After a sound nights sleep, I enjoyed the large selection of breakfast items (hot or cold) included with the room. I'll stay here again and recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank L L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Online_Relations12, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Hi there L L,

Thanks so much for your business and review - we truly appreciate it. We're glad we able to provide a rest stop for you, and we hope we'll see you again on your way home. :)

Best,
Sam, on behalf of Comfort Inn Story City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Story City, Iowa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

Very accommodating staff, friendly and professional . We have stayed in this hotel on three different occasions for an extended period. All three times in different rooms . Clean, spacious , quiet. Pet friendly.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
Thank ldydriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Online_Relations12, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Hi ldydriver,

Thanks so much for your repeated business! We're proud to have served you so well and hope to do so again in the future.

Best,
Sam, on behalf of Comfort Inn Story City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
140 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

This is a good place to stay located right off of I 35. The service is excellent and the rooms are clean. As an added extras the pool and free breakfast are great. It isolated near gas stations and area restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reviewer567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Online_Relations12, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Hi there Reviewer657,

Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us this kind review.

We like to think we have a perfect location: good service at a good location that's not too far from Ames and Des Moines.

We hope you had a safe trip home and that we'll see you again soon.

Best,
Sam, on behalf of Comfort Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
326 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

Comfort Inn isn't the Marriott, but it doesn't have to be. It needs to be clean, comfortable, and provide good service for passing through - and this Comfort Inn does just that. The room was clean and comfortable, breakfast was adequate, staff was friendly, the pool decently sized. WiFi worked well. Not a ritzy, elegant place, but just what we needed in the midst of a cross country trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Happyrocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Online_Relations12, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Hi Happyrocker,

Thanks for the kind words about our hotel and Comfort Inn. We're held to a high standard here, and I'm pleased to hear you believe we're holding up to it.

See you again soon!

Best,
Sam, on behalf of Comfort Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Story City
10.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ames
12.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Ames
Econo Lodge Ames
#14 of 20 in Ames
3.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.2 mi away
Viking Hotel
Viking Hotel
#3 of 3 in Story City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Ames
Red Roof Inn Ames
#10 of 20 in Ames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
12.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ames
12.2 mi away
AmericInn Ames
AmericInn Ames
#9 of 20 in Ames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Property: Comfort Inn
Address: 425 Timberland Dr, Story City, IA 50248-8773
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Story City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Story City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing